We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Discovery”
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Discovery”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have stayed in Wengen over New Year for several years, latterly in the same hotel. Whilst that has become tired and predictable it was wonderful to discover the Hotel Baren which provided a charming alternative. There were so many positives to our stay. The rooms were clean with fantastic views, the hosts and staff were attentive and helpful and the food superb. Indeed, the number of non residents using the restaurant was proof of this.
We would strongly recommend the hotel to future Wengen visitors but only after we have booked for next year!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for mountain views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    42
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
197
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have not stayed at this hotel, but I have eaten dinner there several times. The food and service have always been outstanding, and the price is very reasonable given the high quality. Usually I take one of the two complete meals (appetizer and dessert included), either the more or less expensive option, and I have been delighted each time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromma, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed five nights at Hotel Bären in Wengen and anjoyed every second. Nice and clean rooms, especially the renovated ones. Wonderful view and balcony! Nice food and pleasant staff. Perfect possibility to store skis etc. at Central Sport. Wengen ski resort is a friendly one with lots of slopes for all skiers.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pequannock, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I spent the last 8 days at the Hotel Baeren in Wengen. From the moment my wife called with a question about the hotel she knew everything was going to be fine. Therese and Willy Brunner know how to run a family business. The rooms are modern, clean ( and I mean clean) and comfortable. The balcony in the room was nice on the sunny afternoons where we sat and relaxed while enjoying the view.
We found that the Hotel Baeren is known locally for it's restaurant. The meals are very Swiss. Each four course dinner was prepared with great attention. Not one dinner was repeated during our eight nights stay. My wife is not a red meat eater. The Brunner family was happy to accomodate her wishes with wonderful substitutions of chicken, vegetarian and pasta dishes when needed. Each meal was full of flavor and very delicious. There are also wine parings for each dinner if you prefer. Breakfast is also traditional. Fresh breads, musli and other cereals, boiled eggs,cheeses and meats, yogurts, juice and great coffee.
We are already planning our next ski trip with our older son to the Hotel Baeren. We were very pleased with the hospitality provided and cannot wait to return to ski again in Wengen. Thank you very much to Therese, Willy and all of your staff for a pleasant stay at the Hotel Baeren.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look toward the mountains. *Have your ski equipment sent by train straight from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chriski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunnerWengen, Inhaber at Hotel Baeren, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Bären guest

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your review!

We're so glad to hear that you and your wife had a very pleased first visit at the Bären from beginning to end. We're very happy to see the room was modern and that it provided you with a clean and comfortable stay. We do believe that the little touches make a difference, so it's great to hear that these amenities made a difference in your stay. And we're very happy to see you enjoyed our four course dinners as well as our traditional Breakfastbuffet in the morinings, and our staff.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you, your husband and your older son again for your next visit in Wengen at the Bären. Please feel free to contact us directly so we can make your stay even more enjoyable!

Warm regards from
Willy and Therese Brunner
and the entire Bären Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed at the Baeren Hotel for a week while on a skiing trip. The room was large and comfortable, and had a balcony with a beautiful view of the mountains. All the staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Four course dinners were included as we paid the halfboard rate. I am vegetarian so could not eat the normal set menu, but let the hotel know in advance and they were happy to vary it for me, and the food I received was delicious. I would definitely stay at the Baeren if I visited Wengen again, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

A very friendly family run hotel where my wife and I have stayed three times.Theresa and Willy are hands on proprietors who direct the hotel personally and nothing is too much trouble. Willy is a fine chef. The staff are all helpful and well trained. Excellent modern rooms with balconies looking straight at the mountains. Four course evening meals which come as part of the half board tariff are among the best value I have had. This is refined cuisine at a reasonable price. Imaginative wine list.

Room Tip: Ask for a double facing towards down hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Baren Hotel. Since I was there last they have renovated the rooms and that has made a big difference to the size of the rooms and the amenities. The new rooms are well organised and the majority now have a balcony. I look forward to seeing the remainder renovated.

The restaurant is as ever, wonderful. The menu's are changed daily and the guests are treated to many fine meals with a variety of cuisines from both the local area and international meals. The staff are always pleasant and courtious. Nothing is a bother for any of them and are prompt to solve small issues. The wine selection is fantastic.

I would recommend the Baren Hotel to all who visit Wengen, if not to be a guest but to at least partake in an evening meal at least once during there stay.

Room Tip: Book early as the rooms fill quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 20 in Wengen
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Property: Hotel Baeren
Address: Am Acher 1363B, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#4 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Baren Wengen
Zum Baren Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing