We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic New Year stay”
Review of Hotel Baeren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Baeren
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic New Year stay”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I spent a week here over New Year with my family and cannot fault the quality of this hotel. We had a family room, which was modern and well presented, with a separate room for the children. The big window and balcony gave a fantastic view of the mountains.
As for the food...words fail me. The presentation and quality of the dining room and food every evening was perfect. New Year's Eve was extra special with a superb menu and atmosphere. The restaurant was full every night and everyone around the village commented on the food when we told them where we were staying.
Therese and Willie and all the staff were friendly and happy to help with any requests.
Would definitely return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others.
Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeyshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    42
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
100
197
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Looking through the reviews, I had a hard time deciding where I wanna stay in Wengen for 3 nights. Chose Hotel Baeren or Baren and that was the best decision I made for my stay in Switzerland. Being our first time in Switzerland, we had so many questions but our many questions were answered promptly and patiently (by email) by Therese and Willy Brunner, owners of this lovely hotel.
Upon our arrival, as it was our honeymoon, our rooms were upgraded and we were awestruck by the view of the mountains at our balcony.

Please go for the half board. We opt for that 1st night and was thinking of eating out or trying other places the other two night. However the food was so marvelous at only additional 20 Swiss francs per person night, was a fantastic deal! We decided to have our dinner there for the next two nights to!

Therese was there and she was lovely answering our questions, giving us advice on where to go. We felt very warm and loved the hospitable feeling from her and the rest of the Baren staff.

When we left, Therese even offered to drive us to the station even though it's a mere 5-8 mins walks as we had huge luggages haha!

The hotel is a short walk from the station. Just turn right, go through the tunnel and you will see the hotel on the right side.

I would go back there again in a heartbeat. And will def stay there again.

Thanks Therese and willy Brunner!

Julia and Eric, Singapore

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chowjulia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The owners Teresa and Willie where there to great us with smiles. Always excited to hear about our day on the town and slopes. The food is out of this world amazing. I highly recomend getting the package that includes dinner. We stayed for four nights and dinner was always a highlight. The staff is all smiles all the time, they bend over backwards to make you happy... Paying a lot for a hotel never garuntee the service and experiance you know you'll get here !!! Love the Baeren !!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason_boogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The best part of this hotel was the view. Absolutely breathtaking. I would suggest only stay in this property if you can face the snow capped mountains. The room was very clean and modern. However, having stayed in hotels and B&Bs in many countries, the 3 negatives at this hotel were 1) the breakfast was not what is expected at a B&B. Cold cereal, bread, an orange or banana or making your own soft boiled egg was a disappointment 2) When you dont order a liquor drink at dinner, they charge $3 for water. Ive never experienced that before in any country. 3) The front desk was not manned the entire 3 days we were there. Usually at a B&B you have the advantage of asking questions of the owners and getting some advice as to what to do and how to get around. I would suggest paying for the dinners in advance as food in Switzerland is very expensive. The dining room staff was very friendly (I had an asthma attack and they were very helpful). I never met the owners. Having stated 3 negatives, I would still stay at this property because of the view. I could sit on the balcony for hours!! The tinkling of the cow bells made me feel like I was in an old movie called "Heidi". I LOVED Wengen!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I would only stay in a room with a balcony overlooking the mountains. BREATHTAKING!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gailretske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunnerWengen, Inhaber at Hotel Baeren, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Bären guest

Thank you so much for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Wengen
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, the view from the balcony, and that you got the felling like to be in a Heidi movie. We are also glad to hear you found our rooms clean and modern.
We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Breakfast buffet. We apologize that we were unable to provide you with that service which you expected. Our front desk is not always occupied. But our service staff are very happy and helpful is well to answer questions and help to plan the day for our Guests. As you mentioned the Swiss Franc is very strong and therefore our prices seem very high. In fact, our half board menu (4 course dinner, ordered 24 hours in advance or just with the room reservation) cost sfr. 20.-- for our hotel quests. We think thats a very good value. There are no costs for the water if only a small beverage like a coffee, tea or beer are ordered with the dinner together.
During your stay in our hotel, we were on a family vacation. An unusual time to leave, but as our children had to start school again by middle of October, it was the only time we could leave all together. Our staff certainly tried to do the best job possible, but of course in a family managed hotel, the presence of the owner family is important.
Thank you again for your review. Our team always try's to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible and nothing is to much trouble for us. We really hope to welcome you back with us. When you are planning your next trip to Wengen, please contact us directly over Facebook or Homepage so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable!

Warm regards from
Willy and Therese Brunner
and the entire Bären Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Baeren in September, 2012 .The owners and staff at the hotel are all very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.. The view from our window of the snow capped mountains was breathtaking! We often sat on the balcony and just looked at the beautiful mountains, the green hills and the pretty buildings below us. Occasionally you can hear the tinkling of cowbells from the cows wandering around the hills. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, boiled eggs, cereal, fresh fruit, pastries and yummy homemade nut bread. Our room was lovely and bright, and very clean with a modern bathroom and plenty of hot water. The hotel was a short walk from the station.
We paid for half board so dinner was included. There was always a soup, followed by a salad, then a main course, then dessert. Something different every night and everything really delicious! They have some nice wines cocktails and beer also. There are many lovely walks nearby to the hotel and a few nice little cafes , also a couple of good shops where you can buy sandwiches, cakes, quiche etc to take away and some good supermarkets where you can buy anything you may need. Highly recommend the Hotel and would love to stay there again one day. Just perfect!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony which looks out to the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2gnomesinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunnerWengen, Inhaber at Hotel Baeren, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We're very glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Bären.

We're very happy you found the staff friendly and helpful, the room spacious and you could
enjoy the view from the balcony to the snow capped mountains.

We're also glad to hear you took advantage of our very convenient location ( quiet part of wengen, but anywhay only 3 – 5 minutes to walk to the village center) and enjoyed our kitchen and special the breakfast with local fresh ingredients from the alps in Wengen like milk, butter and cheese.

Thank you again for your wonderful review. When you are planning your next trip to Wengen, please contact us directly over Facebook or Homepage so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable!

Warm regards from
Willy and Therese Brunner
and the entire Bären Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a perfect place at which to be based to spend six nights exploring the Jungfrau region. The room was pleasant and comfortable, and we had a magnificent view of the Jungfrau from our balcony - it's definitely worth getting a room on that side. The staff were friendly and especially the lovely ???? (sorry, you deserve to be remembered but our memory for names is bad) whose boyfriend is one of the chefs in the kitchen. The half-board deal was excellent value - we very much enjoyed our four course dinners here every night. Will definitely return here again next time we're visiting Switzerland.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

In September I stayed at Hotel Baeren for my fourth time. The owners are so accommodating and helpful. Every morning I woke up to a view of snow capped mountains. Then down to a breakfast that would please anyone. My favorite is the homemade nut bread. Large variety of foods including eggs that you cook from soft boiled to hard in an egg cooker. Rooms are VERY clean and just re-modeled. The water pressure in the shower is the best I have had at any hotel.
Their restaurant has fabulous food! Perfect! Can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the mountains, but you can also request a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkieabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#5 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 20 in Wengen
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baeren

Property: Hotel Baeren
Address: Am Acher 1363B, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#4 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baeren 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Baeren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Baren Wengen
Zum Baren Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing