We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor management”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor management”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2007

Wengen iZanzibar International Hoteltself is a very pretty, family orientated village 4000m above sea level and this could not be faulted in any way. We felt very safe there and everyone was friendly.

However we have just come back from one of the worst holidays I have ever had thanks to a poorly run 4* Hotel.
We stayed between 27/12/06 - 03/01/07.

The Silberhorn is under new management and their customer service has gone down hill in the last 6 months.

Apparently a few months ago a consortium purchased 3 of the hotels in Wengen and changed most the staff to people from neighbouring countries who do not speak any language very well, get poorly paid, and do not understand how to put the customer first....resulting in lots of complaints from the guests.

I will try to be as constructive as possible :

3/4 of the guests were English when we stayed.

Good points :

Wengen is very pretty, family orientated, and you feel safe.
Wengen has good transport connections.
The hotel is very central.
The Hotel is generally kept clean.
The decor is dated, but in keeping with the area.
The staff do listen to your complaints (without interupting, but do little to correct them)

Bad points :

My main gripe is with the restaurant service and food, which I feel is a big part of the holiday. We were staging Half board.

Overall there was a good selection of food at breakfast, however ; there was only sausage,bacon and scrambled eggs from the hot servery every day. Every single day we had to ask for this to be replenished when empty, and when it came it was under cooked - almost raw bacon !

All the rest of the food was cold servery, cheeses, rolls, cereals, yogurts etc, all tasted nice ; but run out quick and every single day we had to ask for this to be replenished when empty.

Tea and coffee pots with no lids on, so they went cold quickly....and no normal tea....only herb teas or Earl Grey. No normal breakfast tea.

At breakfast you were given the evening meal menu and had to decide what you wanted that evening. This is a first for me.... I don't want to think about the evening meal when I am eating breakfast !

We were in a party of 8 and all sat on one table. Now bearing in mind we had ordered the evening meal 9 hours before they managed to cock it up every single night without fail.

We waited 40 minutes between some courses. The food came up cold....and when sent back it was re-heated...not freshly cooked. We sent our re-heated chicken back (re-heating chicken can make you very ill) and waited another 20 minues.

Alot of the food was raw and had to be re-cooked. So when we asked to change it to something else we were told by the waiter that it was not possible as the chef only spoke Polish and could not understand him.

It turns out that ALL the food is bought in that morning in packets and heated up by the so called chefs ( microwave operatives more like !!! ) before serving, and thats why we had to order it in the morning .

When we complained , which was at least twice everynight, we were offered one drink complimantary by the director, which we accepted , but it was hardly going to sort matters out.

Our waiter was very rude and said to us 'This is not McDonalds Sir'. To which we replied - I wish is was - at least the foods hot !

To sum up the food was cold, undercooked, mirowaved junk - not something you would expect in a 4* Hotel with a so-called good reputation.

------------------

I went to change some English up into Swiss Francs to be told by the reception staff that they only had a little amount of Swiss money and had to save it for the guests. When I pointed out I was a guest they refused to change any money up !

Every night the reception was busy with people making complaints. The director openly told us that most people were complaining , and that he could not be everywhere at once.

I hope this review makes sense, and my advise to you is - don't waste your money on this hotel - go somewhere else.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Dark rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go here !
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank fjtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    114
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
120
130
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South East England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2006

Have just returned from my fourth visit to Wengen, and my first stay at Hotel Silberhorn. Travelling with my three young children. First given room on first floor overlooking terrace. Room very old fashioned; peeling paint, shared balcony. Windows only opened wide into room and full length, very heavy net curtains got in way. Disappointed as had paid hefty supplement for superior room. First night slept well as tired after very early start. Second night woken at 2 am by thumping disco music and bright lights from entrance walkway. Third night thumping disco music started up again. Couldn't sleep so phoned reception. Music turned down but still audible thumping and very bright lights. Went down to reception and was offered opportunity of changing rooms the following day.

Next day given lovely room on 2nd floor; far superior decor and amenities and private balcony. Most of all, very quiet and peaceful. No disco noise/lights at all. This room was far nicer than original room given and therefore I am puzzled as to how the original room could be described as the superior room.

Restaurant very nice; efficient, friendly service. Great children's menu. Food mostly very pleasant but some choices a little unusual/rich. There were not many children staying while we were there, and none as young as my 2 year old, and I felt slightly awkward as he was quite noisy/messy. However, no complaints from any other guests and he became very fond of our waitress who was great with him.

Fantastic location next to railway station.

Travelling with three children we found the hotel a little quiet with not much for them to do actually in the hotel - small playroom was okay, but very cramped and located in what seemed like a large cupboard. Playground outside consisted of an ancient slide very near to a sheer drop (with very small fence) and broken-down, practically unsuable (due to broken seat) see-saw.

I probably wouldn't stay at the Silberhorn myself again, at least not while my children are young. In order for parents' to relax the children need to be occupied, and I would try to find a hotel with more amenities specifically for children next time.

Wengen itself though is great: they loved the mountain railways and cable-cars, and it was very easy to get around, even with a pushchair. There is a nice park in Wengen itself, and another even better one just a short cable-car ride up the mountain, which also has fantastic views of the whole area.

  • Liked — Second room given, very spacious, comfortable, lovely views. Food very nice and plentiful. Restaurant staff very friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked — First room given, on first floor, old fashioned and basic.
  • Tips/Secrets — Not really suitable for very young children as not enough to keep them occupied for parents to relax.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2006

Silberhorn is a wonderful hotel in the lovely village of Wengen. We (2 adults, one 3-year old) stayed there at the end of july 2006. (don’t mix it with Silberhorn in Lauterbrunnen which didn’t look half as nice.)

Wengen is car-free and it has a small cosy railway station. Because there are no cars and buses, it has a very relaxed atmosphere compared to for example Grindelwald which has quite a lot of traffic. We left our car in the parking garage in Lauterbrunnen (about EUR 40 for a week)

Because it has a good system of little mountain trains and lifts, the area is relatively easy to access, even with a three year old. It has beautiful options for hiking (we only tried the relatively easy ones) and Wengen is well positioned for visiting the entire area (Grindelwald has a slightly better location to visit all the attractions).

We definitely recommend the Jungfrau pass to all that stay in Wengen for a couple of days and want to cover a good part of the area. It is CHF 190 (EUR 125) for 6 days of unlimited travel which seemed to us like a lot of money in the beginning but it is good value compared to buying a ticket every day. And to get around, you really need it.

Because we used the train extensively, we really liked the location of the hotel opposite to the station which saves you the hassle of uphill walking at the end of a tiring day. (don’t be afraid of noise: the trains are small and slow and therefore silent and don’t run at night).

The reception at the hotel was very friendly during our entire visit. We got a 2-room apartment which was very nice (cosy, don’t expect anything really modern). The breakfast was fine, the 5-course dinner was sometimes experimental and not always to our liking. However, the way we were treated by the staff definitely made up for that. We didn’t see any other little children in the hotel during our stay but they really took good care of our daughter. There is a small playground, that needs some updating.

During our walks in the evening we came across a number of the other hotels in Wengen mentionned in Tripadvisor. Compared to what we saw, Silberhorn was very nice and when we go back in a few years time when our daughter will be able to do some hiking herselves, we will definitely stay in hotel Silberhorn again!

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Expiremental diners
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy it! Go up in the mountains by train!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2006

We didn't expect much after arriving at Hotel Silberhorn.
The front desk was very helpful and friendly to check us in. After we arrived in our room on the fifth floor via an escelator, it took our breath away. The room was much, much larger as expected, a nice little balcony overviewing the Lauterbrunnen Valley (an exceptional view from our balcony), clean and nice size bathroom with everything you would expect. Our other window on the side of our room was very large. A very quiet room. Breakfast was also outstanding. Very helpful waiters never missed a beat to serve you more coffee or tea. The buffet had different kinds of breads, meats, cheeses, etc. Would definetely stay there again.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank oschli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2006

We stayed at the Silberhorn with our children and were originally given a large suite with two bedrooms on the main floor which opened onto the terrace. The room was a bit dated in color scheme (gold). It was a nice room, however we did not feel comfortable leaving the windows wide open where anyone could walk in from the terrace (windows only opened out and were huge, almost the size of a door), so, we asked for a different room. The hotel gave us a fabulous room on the fifth floor with a private balcony (ask for south facing for a view). It had a large bathroom,a huge living room with loveseat which folded out into a bed, a large dresser, television and kitchenette with refrigerator . oven, and sink. There was a separate bedroom with kingsize bed and a huge wardrobe. As we were on the top floor the windows opened to view the stars and the Jungfrau from our bed, fantastic. It had a private balcony (many rooms dont) which gave a marvelous view of the valley. The hotel restaurant was fabulous for dinner, 5 courses, food was excellent, service was a bit slow, but very apologetic and acommodating. Breakfast was also excellent with meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, cereal, etc. Basically anything you could want. The hotel is across from the train station, but we could not hear any noise from our room, even with the windows open. A short walk up the hill, to a nearby church, leads to a fantastic view of the valley, waterfalls and the Jungfrau, so beautiful it almost seemed surreal. I would definately stay at the Silberhorn again and can't wait to return to Wengen.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljwSugarLand_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
297 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 751 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2006

Although the rooms were a little dated, they were clean and well laid out. The lighting in our room was rather low due to low wattage bulbs. I'm sure this is to reduce energy consumption, but it also makes for difficult reading. We had a family room with living/dining area with 2 beds, full kitchen (that didn't work), and a seperate bedroom for 2 more people. The view we had was facing the valley and was very nice. The family traveling with us also had a family room, but it faced the back of the hotel. They were both the same price.

The breakfast was abundant and good, but the wait staff were rather slow in replenishing food and supplies. I asked for more cereal to be brought out, and after waiting 5 minutes the guy brought out more bread instead. I reminded him that the cereal needed replacing and eventually he brought it out. Then they brought out more cereal bowls piping HOT from the dishwasher - not a nice combination if you want cold milk on your cereal.

It was a breeze to walk from the train station to the hotel - just across the little street. There was also a COOP located just beside the hotel for convenient cheap snacks.

I would recommend this hotel to people visiting Wengen. However, to those people who are trying to decide between Wengen and Muerren, I must tell you that Muerren has MUCH more appeal as a small Alpine village. Also, the views are much better from Muerren. Wengen is more glitz and shopping, while Muerren is more enchantingly Swiss Alpine and rustic.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2006

When we arrived in Wengen, we were greeted by the hotel staff at the train station (the only way to access Wengen!) who courteously escorted us to the hotel, just a 100m walk away.

Even though we had arrived at 10am (4 hours before check-in time) the staff were quick to clean the room after the previous residents, and we were in our room by 11am.

We were on a half-board basis, and the food provided at breakfast was more than adequate. If anything had run out, all you had to do was get the attention of one of the servers and they dealt with it immediately. Dinner was also very good, although you had to choose your dinner at breakfast, the food was always high quality (and hot!)

The hotel was superbly located for access to the trains (to take you to Kleine-Sheidegg, 1 of 2 major skiing areas) and only a 200m walk to the tele-cable car (to take you to Mannlichen, the 2nd of 2 ski-areas) so ideal, even with loads of ski equipment!

The hotel itself was very comfortable, beds were nice, rooms were spacious, bathroom was clean and towels were replaced every day. The funniest part about the room service was two swiss ladies knocking on the door every evening to 'turn the bed' which consisted of a quick flip of the duvet and a nice floor mat being laid next to the bed.

Overall, the service at the hotel was superb. The location was ideal as it was close to the key transport links, but far enough away from the night-life so that it didn't disrupt our sleep! Even a room located on the front of the hotel had a beautiful view down the valley, the sunrises were truly spectacular.

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, we really enjoyed seeing in 2006 at the Hotel Silberhorn!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rhuk02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#8 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wengener Hof
Hotel Wengener Hof
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Property: Hotel Silberhorn
Address: Dorfplatz, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wengen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#10 Family Hotel in Wengen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silberhorn 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Silberhorn is found in car-free Wengen, surrounded by impressive mountains in the Bernese Oberland at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is located right in the center of the village and is the perfect starting point for various excursions around the Jungfrau region. The hotel is in the opposite of the Jungfrau railway station Wengen - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! As per our device ,,everything under one roof" the Silberhorn offers all amenities to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable. At the hotel you find our new spa and wellness area, the Swiss ski school, the sports shop Alpia, a jewelry shop as well as our a la carte restaurant ,,Silberhornstube". Due to the big advantage of its location, right in the heart of the village, you are able to create your holiday perfectly: next to the hotel Silberhorn you find in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car, right next to our hotel, you reach within 5 minutes walk the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the breathtaking view of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Silberhorn
Best Western Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing