We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view”
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 3, 2006

We didn't expect much after arriving at Hotel Silberhorn.
The front desk was very helpful and friendly to check us in. After we arrived in our room on the fifth floor via an escelator, it took our breath away. The room was much, much larger as expected, a nice little balcony overviewing the Lauterbrunnen Valley (an exceptional view from our balcony), clean and nice size bathroom with everything you would expect. Our other window on the side of our room was very large. A very quiet room. Breakfast was also outstanding. Very helpful waiters never missed a beat to serve you more coffee or tea. The buffet had different kinds of breads, meats, cheeses, etc. Would definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank oschli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 414 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2006

We stayed at the Silberhorn with our children and were originally given a large suite with two bedrooms on the main floor which opened onto the terrace. The room was a bit dated in color scheme (gold). It was a nice room, however we did not feel comfortable leaving the windows wide open where anyone could walk in from the terrace (windows only opened out and were huge, almost the size of a door), so, we asked for a different room. The hotel gave us a fabulous room on the fifth floor with a private balcony (ask for south facing for a view). It had a large bathroom,a huge living room with loveseat which folded out into a bed, a large dresser, television and kitchenette with refrigerator . oven, and sink. There was a separate bedroom with kingsize bed and a huge wardrobe. As we were on the top floor the windows opened to view the stars and the Jungfrau from our bed, fantastic. It had a private balcony (many rooms dont) which gave a marvelous view of the valley. The hotel restaurant was fabulous for dinner, 5 courses, food was excellent, service was a bit slow, but very apologetic and acommodating. Breakfast was also excellent with meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, cereal, etc. Basically anything you could want. The hotel is across from the train station, but we could not hear any noise from our room, even with the windows open. A short walk up the hill, to a nearby church, leads to a fantastic view of the valley, waterfalls and the Jungfrau, so beautiful it almost seemed surreal. I would definately stay at the Silberhorn again and can't wait to return to Wengen.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ljwSugarLand_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

Although the rooms were a little dated, they were clean and well laid out. The lighting in our room was rather low due to low wattage bulbs. I'm sure this is to reduce energy consumption, but it also makes for difficult reading. We had a family room with living/dining area with 2 beds, full kitchen (that didn't work), and a seperate bedroom for 2 more people. The view we had was facing the valley and was very nice. The family traveling with us also had a family room, but it faced the back of the hotel. They were both the same price.

The breakfast was abundant and good, but the wait staff were rather slow in replenishing food and supplies. I asked for more cereal to be brought out, and after waiting 5 minutes the guy brought out more bread instead. I reminded him that the cereal needed replacing and eventually he brought it out. Then they brought out more cereal bowls piping HOT from the dishwasher - not a nice combination if you want cold milk on your cereal.

It was a breeze to walk from the train station to the hotel - just across the little street. There was also a COOP located just beside the hotel for convenient cheap snacks.

I would recommend this hotel to people visiting Wengen. However, to those people who are trying to decide between Wengen and Muerren, I must tell you that Muerren has MUCH more appeal as a small Alpine village. Also, the views are much better from Muerren. Wengen is more glitz and shopping, while Muerren is more enchantingly Swiss Alpine and rustic.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tmynatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2006

When we arrived in Wengen, we were greeted by the hotel staff at the train station (the only way to access Wengen!) who courteously escorted us to the hotel, just a 100m walk away.

Even though we had arrived at 10am (4 hours before check-in time) the staff were quick to clean the room after the previous residents, and we were in our room by 11am.

We were on a half-board basis, and the food provided at breakfast was more than adequate. If anything had run out, all you had to do was get the attention of one of the servers and they dealt with it immediately. Dinner was also very good, although you had to choose your dinner at breakfast, the food was always high quality (and hot!)

The hotel was superbly located for access to the trains (to take you to Kleine-Sheidegg, 1 of 2 major skiing areas) and only a 200m walk to the tele-cable car (to take you to Mannlichen, the 2nd of 2 ski-areas) so ideal, even with loads of ski equipment!

The hotel itself was very comfortable, beds were nice, rooms were spacious, bathroom was clean and towels were replaced every day. The funniest part about the room service was two swiss ladies knocking on the door every evening to 'turn the bed' which consisted of a quick flip of the duvet and a nice floor mat being laid next to the bed.

Overall, the service at the hotel was superb. The location was ideal as it was close to the key transport links, but far enough away from the night-life so that it didn't disrupt our sleep! Even a room located on the front of the hotel had a beautiful view down the valley, the sunrises were truly spectacular.

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, we really enjoyed seeing in 2006 at the Hotel Silberhorn!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rhuk02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2006

I am now going back to this hotel for the third time orgional going with my father and truly enjoying the place. The food is fantastic catering for all tastes with breakfast being especially exceptional. The staff are very helpful one night the bar staff stayed on two hours after she had finished work to continue serving us. The sking in wengen is great and if you don't like carrying skis this hotel is ideal with the train stopping practically outside.

Stayed: March 2005
5  Thank Francesca893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Silberhorn in July/August 2002 for one week on a half-board basis

The room was comfortable and had a view of Mannlichen ridge (it was not an Eiger view room, but pleasant all the same).
The room had a good sized balcony where we could sit it in the evenings and listen to the Alphorns reverberating around the valley (honestly). We stayed around Swiss National Day (1st August I believe) so t here were many events, including a childrens torchlight procession which was beatiful.

Food at the hotel was good, as was service.

The main reason I am writing this review is to correct the impression given by the reviewer from San Antonio, TX who gave the hotel one star. I believe they were actually writing about the Hotel Silberhorn in Lauterbrunnen (They mention Lauterbrunnen in their review, and there are no car parks to overlook in Wengen as there are no cars !)

  • Stayed: July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SteveP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2006

Not long since returning from a family holiday at the Silberhorn. The rooms were fine and spacious with great views from the central location just yards from the station and newspaper kiosk.
The food was great with an extensive choice in the evening that also catered for the few vegetarians in our party.
We would love to return.

A few minor complaints:
1. The pillows provided had hardly any content but more were available on request.
2. There were no coffee/tea making facilities in the room although I understand these could be provided on request.
3. There was a computer in the reception area for the use of guests BUT it cost CHF 2.00 for just a few minutes. In the vicinity of the hotel was a cafe/bar where 30 minutes use of a computer was free - plenty long enough to check emails and the coffee/beer was great too (and they showed UK soccer games live on several TVs scattered around the rooms).

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caspiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#4 of 20 in Wengen
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wengener Hof
Hotel Wengener Hof
#9 of 20 in Wengen
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Address: Dorfplatz, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Green Hotel in Wengen
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#10 Family Hotel in Wengen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $238 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silberhorn 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Silberhorn is found in car-free Wengen, surrounded by impressive mountains in the Bernese Oberland at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is located right in the center of the village and is the perfect starting point for various excursions around the Jungfrau region. The hotel is in the opposite of the Jungfrau railway station Wengen - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! As per our device ,,everything under one roof" the Silberhorn offers all amenities to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable. At the hotel you find our new spa and wellness area, the Swiss ski school, the sports shop Alpia, a jewelry shop as well as our a la carte restaurant ,,Silberhornstube". Due to the big advantage of its location, right in the heart of the village, you are able to create your holiday perfectly: next to the hotel Silberhorn you find in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car, right next to our hotel, you reach within 5 minutes walk the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the breathtaking view of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Silberhorn
Best Western Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing