We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great position”
Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in great position”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here on a ski holiday & location was ideal for the trains & cable car, No more than 3 minutes walk at most. Very friendly attentive staff, nice room & fantastic views. Very impressed with the food, good choice & to a high standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    114
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
120
130
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just back from spending Christmas in Wengen at the Hotel Silberhorn for the second year running. Lovely room with a tremendous view of Jungfrua. Really nice breakfast and evening meal. Staff very friendly and helpful. First class location with loads of alpine charm.

Room Tip: Our room was 531 and had amazing views of the mountains and valley below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KETCHIKAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location pretty much outside train station. Very wooden Nordic sauna style room suited the mood perfectly and was warm and comfy. Nice breakfast. Nice gym and a crazy ice covered slightly dangerous hot tub area

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick_the_Wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Fantastic location with views of the Jungfrau, directly opposite the train station. Nice rooms and good facilities. Lovely breakfast and dinner were included in our room rate. Great value in late September. Would highly recommend Wengen as a base for exploring the region.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njthetortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengenHotels, Manager at Hotel Silberhorn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Therefore, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again!

The Management and Hotel Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Within walking distance to the train station, restaurants, cable car to Mannlichen, hiking trails. Very nice size rooms, large breakfast buffet, and helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again. When you stay here, you can easily access the Jungfrau train (3 minutes from lobby) or take a train down to Lauterbrunnen and on to Interlaken. They also have a computer in the lobby with very fast internet if you forgot your iPad. And for a long trip, they have inexpensive laundry facility within the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces south to see Jungfrau. At night you can also see Stallbach Falls illumina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueRidgeTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have just returned from our stay in Wengen at the Silberhorn Hotel,and we were not disappointed.We originally booked its parent hotel,Hotel Belvedere,but they decided to close early for the season and we were moved to thhe Silberhorn Hotel instead which was a 4 star rated hotel and its location is just 20 yards away from the railway lines in Wengen which was perfect.
The South Facing room which we had on the fourth floor (room 432) had an amazing view of the Lauterbrunnen valley down below Wengen and the room was spacious with tea/coffee facilities which were replenished regularly along with the duvet,towels etc. and we had a safe deposit box,mini fridge amongst other extras.
The dining room on the first floor was well laid out and our waiter,Geri,was always there to greet us with his customery smile and along with the other members of staff,made our stay very enjoyable.The breakfast was a choice of cereals,cold meats,fruit,hot dishes including omlettes,bacon,scrambled eggs etc which was plenty to enjoy before our daily excusions and then the evening meals were a 5 course waiter service of superbly presented plates with varying fish,meat and vegetarian dishes and sumptious deserts to finish it off.
If you had a problem or query,the the reception staff were always there to help you.
Its location was also just 2 minutes from the Wengen/mannlichen cable car station which was handy aswel.
So after our first visit to Hotel Silberhorn,we would definately be visiting it again in the Peaceful town of Wengen .

Room Tip: The South Facing rooms on the third or fourth floors, were well worth spending a bit extra so that y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

great staff, superb Continental and American style breakfast, lovely dinner, fantastic and well equipped rooms, and service always with a smile. Very good location direct to the railway station (no noise or inconvenience because of this). Nothing more to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pharmtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#8 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wengener Hof
Hotel Wengener Hof
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Property: Hotel Silberhorn
Address: Dorfplatz, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wengen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#10 Family Hotel in Wengen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silberhorn 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Silberhorn is found in car-free Wengen, surrounded by impressive mountains in the Bernese Oberland at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is located right in the center of the village and is the perfect starting point for various excursions around the Jungfrau region. The hotel is in the opposite of the Jungfrau railway station Wengen - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! As per our device ,,everything under one roof" the Silberhorn offers all amenities to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable. At the hotel you find our new spa and wellness area, the Swiss ski school, the sports shop Alpia, a jewelry shop as well as our a la carte restaurant ,,Silberhornstube". Due to the big advantage of its location, right in the heart of the village, you are able to create your holiday perfectly: next to the hotel Silberhorn you find in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car, right next to our hotel, you reach within 5 minutes walk the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the breathtaking view of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Silberhorn
Best Western Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing