We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food and service in an ideal location for walkers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Silberhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Silberhorn
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Superb food and service in an ideal location for walkers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel overlooks the station and has spectacular views up and over the valley. We had an upper floor room with south facing balcony - well worth the extra cost. The room was spacious and light. It was well serviced by the housekeeping staff. All our excellent meals were included in the package deal (Inghams) and they were the real highlight of this hotel. The dining room manager was exceptionally attentive to detail, his manner efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Upper floor and south facing balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    114
    31
    10
    7
See reviews for
120
130
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have visited the Hotel Silberhorn on 2 previous occasions but this year was by far the best experience we have had. The hotel appears to be under new management since last time we stayed and the whole package was much improved.

From our arrival the staff at the hotel were courteous and knowledgeable. Every request we had was dealt with promptly and efficiently.

The rooms at the Silberhorn were nice and comfortable, typically alpine rather than showroom, but charming, homely and clean. The communal areas of the hotel were also very good.

The restaurant area was lovely and light with spotlessly clean linens and food areas. The staff in the restaurant were commendable, so polite and helpful and the food was exceptional. There was a plentiful, wide range of food and I can honestly say there was something for everyone. The service for vegetarians which can be a lottery in alpine resorts was superb, every meat course matched by a similar vegetarian alternative.

The spa area had been enhanced by an outdoor jacuzzi area and was nice after a days walking but I imagine is even better as an apres ski treat!

All in all a great holiday, the Silberhorn is certainly not a budget break but is lovely if you want something extra special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grannysquaresgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees UK.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Location, comfort, cleanliness, food all excellent and contributed to a very good 12 days there.
The Staff - from answering emails beforehand to our final leaving were way above what we would normaly dare to expect. Without being at all invasive they all did everything they could to help us. We plan to return.

Room Tip: The South side rooms are extra cost and have the Jungfrau in view but we actually prefer the North s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilipatIngleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed from 18th -25th Feb with Crystal Ski (who were also excellent)
This is an excellent hotel, with fantastic service, attentive staff, great central location, free wi-fi, fabulous food (buffet breakfast, 5 course dinner with a gala dinner one evening)
The room was comfortable and warm, with the option to open the door onto the balcony to marvel at the stunning views over the valley.
The spa area was very luxurious and relaxing, just what was required after a hard day skiing!
The boot & ski room was superb, and great to get into warm ski-boots in the morning.
Each morning there is a 'Morning Post' leaflet at each breakfast table giving details of weather, what's on in the area and other interesting snippets of information.
Can thoroughly recommend this hotel and would love to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CazzBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Silberhorn from 18-25 February 2012. It was a really nice hotel and we had a very large pleasant room with a comfortable bed and a large sitting area. The food was excellent with a buffet breakfast that had a good choice of menu from various breads, croissants, cereal, fruit, yoghurts, fish, cheese and meats to, if required, a cooked breakfast. The evening meals too were excellent with 5 courses that included a main course of meat, fish or vegetarian menu. The cosmopolitan hotel staff were very helpful and very attentative. We would certainly return to the Hotel Silberhorn if we ski in Wengen in the future. As mentioned in previous reviews the Hotel is very central and probably less than a 2 minute walk from the Wengen railway station and approx 5 minutes from the Mannlichen cable car.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Wengen is a great place, car free, and when you arrive by train from Lauterbrunnen the hotel is right there, minutes away. The welcome was warm, rooms were comfortable - breakfast great. We went B & B and ate in 2 evenings a la carte: that was fine. We loved the hot tub outside and found a library tucked away too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here from 25/2/2012 until 03/03/2012
Off the bat the scenery in Wengen is some of the most beautiful I've ever seen. Look North and it offers vast valleys with a mountainous backdrop, look south and you have looming mountains you have to strain your neck to see the top of.

Location:
The first thing you notice about Silberhorn is the location which is the best in Wengen by far.
20 seconds walk from the Train station which is the only way in and out of Wengen without walking or skiing. All shops, bars and restaurants are within a stones throw by default as Wengen is a compact village.

Staff:
All the staff at Silberhorn are exceptional. The second our feet were through the front door we were taken care of in a polite and caring way. Our ski equipment and suitcases were whisked away for us, we were given a brief orientation of facilities then shown to our room.
If there is anything you want or need they will go out of their way to provide it for you.

Room:
We had 2 rooms as we moved because a family had let their two girls have a room of their own and they made a lot of noise! This was no trouble for the staff who organised it all and our luggage in a jiffy. Both rooms were modern with an amazing view off the balcony. They had a safe, hairdryer, TV (only 2 English channels... CNN and BBC Entertainment), Key card access, fridge, wardrobes, toiletries, dressing gowns, slippers and towels.

Facilities:
Wellness centre - Indoor and outdoor jacuzzi, Loads of places relax, fantastic views because of the huge windows and with a non-reservation policy (Take that towel monkeys).
The Naked zone (16+) - You don't have to be naked but people have the choice so expect it! Ultra-modern, two huge saunas one really hot and one not so hot with a herbal smell. A menthol steam room with a star like LED lit ceiling, foot spas, an awesome shower experience and a granite sink I'm jealous of!
You can book a massage at an extra cost also.

Free WiFi!!! Just get a card from the lobby for log in for high speed access!

Ski storage room is secured by keycard access and has heated boot storage so no dampness the next day.

Laundry service for a small charge.

Restaurant:
The restaurant is immaculate. It almost looks like a wedding venue. You get your own table which you keep for the duration of your stay. The food is outstanding on the whole with a huge choice at breakfast. Evening meal is always 5 course, candlelit and is served to you by excellently trained staff who like the other staff at the Silberhorn are perfectly mannered yet still informal enough for a chat about your day. My only negative about the food is that, like with many places, some of the Vegi options are not up to the same high standards of the meat options.

So all that considered, and in the setting of the Jungfrau area this is a place I would love to go back to in any season.

TIPS: Swiss plug sockets, like UK ones, are unique. Luckily the hotel provides adaptors on 20CHF deposit so don't panic and for us tea hungry Brits they will provide a kettle on request.
If you don't like naked people go in the Naked Zone early when they are out skiing/walking or just get with the Euro vibe and liberate your genitalia to the open air. And men, don't worry its very warm in there ;)

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better the views will be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaeMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wengener Hof
Hotel Wengener Hof
#8 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberhorn

Property: Hotel Silberhorn
Address: Dorfplatz, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wengen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#10 Family Hotel in Wengen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silberhorn 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star hotel Silberhorn is found in car-free Wengen, surrounded by impressive mountains in the Bernese Oberland at the foot of the Jungfrau. It is located right in the center of the village and is the perfect starting point for various excursions around the Jungfrau region. The hotel is in the opposite of the Jungfrau railway station Wengen - from there you start the amazing journey up to the Jungfraujoch - Top of Europe - at 3454 meters altitude which is Europe's highest railway station and the highlight of every visit to Switzerland! As per our device ,,everything under one roof" the Silberhorn offers all amenities to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable. At the hotel you find our new spa and wellness area, the Swiss ski school, the sports shop Alpia, a jewelry shop as well as our a la carte restaurant ,,Silberhornstube". Due to the big advantage of its location, right in the heart of the village, you are able to create your holiday perfectly: next to the hotel Silberhorn you find in summer the tennis courts and in winter the ski school office and its meeting place as well as the beginners' slope and the ice-rink. With the Mannlichen cable car, right next to our hotel, you reach within 5 minutes walk the Mannlichen mountain which is the perfect starting point for skiing and hiking - always with the breathtaking view of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Silberhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Silberhorn
Best Western Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing