We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edelweiss(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$158
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caprice(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$185
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$360
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Baeren(Wengen)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Wengener Hof(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belvedere(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$187
$158
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$250
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Falken Wengen(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$146
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn(Wengen)(Great Value!)
$207
$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
323
55
11
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
55
11
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardlauterbrunnen valleytrain stationoldest hotelswiss familycourse dinnersouth facing rooma family run hotelmulti courseowners and stafffive coursesevery nightdining roomfamily atmospheresalad barbeautiful roombernese oberland
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 398 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here for three nights. It was by far the most amazing place we stayed in the two weeks we were in Europe. I have never experienced such friendly staff and amazing service, by every single employee.

The room we stayed in was clean and had sufficient storage and room for us to be comfortable. They have lots of different lounge areas to relax after dinner, as well as a little bar area.

They have free wi-fi and a computer to use if you needed one.

The food was amazing. We did the half board one night - it was absolutely delicious and well worth the money. Keep in mind Switzerland is an expensive place, so compared to the other restaurants in town the half board is quite inexpensive (I think it was 25 Euro a person). Breakfast was great, lots of selection (the best selection we had for a breakfast in all of Europe).

Wengen is a small tourist town in the mountains. We took the gondola up to the mountains one day and hiked back down (took about 6 hours to hike down). We rented mountain bikes one day and road to Interlaken (and took the train back up).

If we ever make it back to Switzerland, we will stay here again (I couldn’t imagine any other hotel being as amazing as this one)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was probably the highlight of our 12-day trip through Switzerland. We stayed in more luxurious places elsewhere but nowwhere else has such atmosphere and such lovely views. Took the advice of other reviewers and booked south-facing rooms with balconies, and were not disappointed--beautiful and breathtaking views over the Lauterbrunnen valley and of the mountains on clear days. Cows and sheep on hills nearby graze and add to the atmosphere. The room itself was very fresh, comfortable and immaculately clean, and the staff is so friendly and will take such great care of you, from the pickup at the train station, through breakfast and dinner, and to the return to the train. Food was outstanding--dinner (half board is included in the rate) always included an appetizer like smoked salmon, a cream or broth-based soup, a delicious salad, main dish and dessert. The restaurant also has an excellent and reasonably-priced wine list, with Ticino merlots, and the bar has a wide selection of very reasonably priced drinks such as ports and other after dinner drinks. Wengen was winding down for the season when we were there in October, but we took great hikes and had fun in the Pickel Bar in town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank July101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

There are so few places I have been where I am still thinking about how to get back there, rather than where I'd like to go next! I can only imagin the Alpenrose when there is snow.

I found this hotel based on reviews on TripAdvisor, and what a find it was! The half board was outstanding, with delicious breakfast (oh the breads) and 5 course meals every night (one night was buffet, but the choices included were plentiful and fresh including raclette while you watch). The hotel itself was charming - we actually stayed at their chalet Erica next door with views of the snowcovered mountains from our balcony, and mellow cowbells the only sound. The staff was friendly and welcoming. I wouldn't even think of trying anywhere else.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank j24j24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

OMG!!!! I can't believe I never reviewed this adorable and charming getaway. We stayed at the Alpenrose on 3 separate occasion (2010 and 2011) and requested the same room on the 2nd floor each time.
This hotel remains one of our favorite in Switzerland (The Cervo in Zermatt takes 1st place). The rooms are very cozy and lots of attention is paid to details. When you enter the room after a long day in the outdoor, it feels as if you are home rather than a hotel room. Great feeling.....
What a super place to spend a few relaxing days in the heart of the Alps with some of the best hiking trails at your feet.
Breakfast is a wonderful spread of local flavors.....Loved loved loved it

We can go back again, again and again.....and we will.

There is one downside to the Alpenrose. Sitting assignment at breakfast and dinner and they are very firm about it and will not discuss it. Shame, we never had dinner at the Alpenrose because of it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Expat-in-Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This hotel was more like a B&B, staff friendly and helpful in giving advice on things to do. Their location was great and the views spectacular. I agree with others that the half board is well worth it when you find out how expensive the rest of Switzerland restaurants are. The room was very comfortable and the bar and lounge areas very inviting and cozy. Absolutely nothing bad to say, loved everything about it.

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony with mountain views. Spectacular and only way to go in my opinion.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank powerhouseScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulavonAllmen, Owner at Hotel Alpenrose Wengen, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Alpenrose guest
Thank you very much for your kind comment on tripadvisor! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have taken your time to write such nice things about us! Thank you very much!
We hope to welcome you back in near future and remain in the meantime with our very best wishes.
Yours sincerely
Family von Allmen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews