We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific view from the terrace, great food, wonderful staff and very friendly hotel dog”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrific view from the terrace, great food, wonderful staff and very friendly hotel dog”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have stayed at this family owned hotel three times. They provide you rides to/from the train station. The hotel provides excellent nightly meals at great value, thus it is worth taking nightly board with your lodging as the cost of food in Swiss restaurants is high. The menu changes nightly, and vegetarian and other meat subsitutes for the entree is available. One of the meals was a buffet which included ten types of wonderful cheeses, salmon, shrimp, and many wonderful other dishes. Some of the waiters have been there for years - it is nice to see familiar faces in addition to the family. The hotel has a flat coated retreiver (Mara) who loves to play fetch. The hotel overlooks the Lauterbrunnen valley and the Jungfrau. It is quiet and away from the town centre where the large hotels/noise are. The rooms are tastefully furnished. The lounge is large and comfortable. The best part is sitting on the outdoor terrace overlooking the valley. The hotel is next to a wonderful hiking trail that is partially lighted at night for romantic strolls to a small forested waterfall. This hotel is wonderful if you love a family run hotel that is historic and has a great location. The family sends regular guests Christmas cards. We've met many British people who have stayed there many times over the years, including some we met who have been there the last eight years. The family comes to say goodbye when you leave, and sends Christmas cards to regular guests. They have a free internet computer. There are walking sticks and umbrellas to use. We love this hotel. They have a deal on their website if you stay 7 days you get a Jungfraubahn pass which allows you to use all the cablecars and trains in the area and half price on the Jungfrau trip. This pass alone costs about 250 Swiss Francs per person. For a couple that alone covers the cost of two nights with an evening meal at this hotel. We would stay seven nights. This hotel is wonderful, nostalgic. It feels like coming home when we go to Switzerland. We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in a back room to save money. The rooms that face the mountain are wonderful and worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulavonAllmen, Owner at Hotel Alpenrose Wengen, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Alpenrose guest
Thank you very much for your kind comment on tripadvisor together with all the compliments! We shall glady pass them on to our staff, who will be equally pleased to hear! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us at the Hotel Alpenrose in Wengen and that you have taken your time to review us.
We look forward very much to welcoming you back and remain in the meantime with our very best wishes.
Yours sincerely
Family von Allmen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    53
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
84
211
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Legue City, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is the most amazing hotel and place we've ever been! Wengen is at about 4,000 feet elevation in the Swiss Alps. You have to take a train up to it from Interlakken or Lauterbrunnen. From Interlakken it's about 45 minutes, and from Lauterbrunnen about 15 minutes. This is the most beautiful place I've ever seen. The hotel is down the hill from the train station. Most people walk, but don't worry, the hotel will give you rides up and down the hill in their small cars. You can ring them from a large board at the train station when you arrive with luggage, and they will get you. The hotel is spotless. It's family owned for generations. Our room was for three, me, my husband, and out 17 year old daughter. There was plenty of space for two twin beds pushed together plus a third bed for our daughter. There was a closet, large bathroom, and amazing, amazing balcony looking out toward the Alps and across the valley. Breakfast comes with the room, and it's tons of food - eggs, bacon, yogurt, fruit, bread, etc. You can also get half board (dinner) which you have to do. The dinners are five courses - appetizer, soup, salad bar, main course, and dessert. They serve what I suppose is traditional Swiss food. For example, we had fondue one night, which you cook at your table - lot's of fun! One night we had an amazing pasta dish - pasta with melted cheese, carmelized onions, and applesauce. There are some restaurants in Wengen, but didn't try any since we got two meals per day at Alpenrose and were out and about during the day so ate lunch elsewhere.
I can't recommend this hotel too highly. They are very service-oriented, friendly, and helpful. The owner even gave our daughter a box of Swiss chocolates on our departure and stayed outside while our bags were loaded in the car and saw us off. There were people there were apparently come every year - some were already making reservations for next summer!

Room Tip: You absolutely have to get a south facing room to have the Lauterbrunnen Valley out your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank starickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulavonAllmen, Owner at Hotel Alpenrose Wengen, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Alpenrose guest
Thank you very much for your kind comments on tripadvisor! What a compliment! We are very happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Alpenrose in Wengen and that you have taken your time to review us.
We hope to welcome you back in near future and remain in the meantime with our very best wishes.
Yours sincerely
Family von Allmen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Nice owners/staff, great location, and wonderful service. I stayed in a single room recently while spending 4 days/nights in Wengen. It's a perfect hotel in a perfect town. I didn't eat dinner at the hotel any of those nights but I had breakfast each day and it was very well served, varied, and tasty. Wengen is a very compact town and it is easy to walk to the rest of the town from the hotel. There are sheep on the field behind the hotel and the gentle clanging of their bells as I fell asleep at night and as I awoke in the morning is one of my most pleasant memories of my Swiss trip. I would return to this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: I don't know that I would worry too much about getting a room with a view of the mountains as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sretsbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulavonAllmen, Owner at Hotel Alpenrose Wengen, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Alpenrose guest
Thank you very much for your kind compliments on tripadvisor! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Alpenrose in Wengen and that you have taken your time to review us.
We hope to welcome you back in near future and remain in the meantime with our very best wishes.
Yours sincerely
Family von Allmen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We hadn't been back to Wengen in over 35 years (Teens) and brought my wife and 15 year old daughter. It was a perfect and enjoyable stay with wonderful "demi pension" fare. Quite frankly a perfect stay and perfect Alp experience. Bathrooms had great water pressure and beds were comfortable. We are used to staying in 5 star hotels and this was just as good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picardnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulavonAllmen, Owner at Hotel Alpenrose Wengen, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Alpenrose guest
Thank you very much for your compliments on tripadvisor! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Alpenrose in Wengen and that you have taken your time to review us.
We hope to welcome you back in near future and remain in the meantime with our very best wishes.
Yours sincerely
Family von Allmen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

What can I say? This hotel does everything, and I mean everything, right. The Alpenrose is a beautiful little property that is impeccably maintained. Beautiful, spacious common rooms and a lovely dining room make it easy to mingle with other guests and enjoy your time. The service at this hotel is phenomenal. I just cannot say enough good things about it.

We stayed in the Chalet Erica as the hotel was full the week we were there. The apartment was newly renovated with new bathroom, new balcony and mostly new furniture and carpeting. The walls are paneled in knotty pine with a chalet look. The views from the apartment were stunning, better than from the hotel itself. We took breakfast and dinner in the hotel (dinner was 25 CHF extra per person). Breakfast was a hot buffet offering eggs, cereal, fruit, beautiful breads and croissants, and wonderful, locally produced milk products. The wait staff is professional old-school service. Formal, but friendly. Dinner was 5 courses (usually two appetizers, salad bar, main dish (two choices) and dessert). Portions are good size, but are not ridiculous American style portions. The food is rich, sometimes too rich for my taste (can you say heavy cream?), but it was very good. Dinner is a relaxing affair...there's something nice about not having to find a place to eat. Here you are assigned to your table for the week and you get to know those at the tables near you.

The owners really set the tone at this hotel. Ursula and her father are in the dining room/ kitchen and at the front desk every day. They correspond directly with you when you make your reservations and are SO patient with questions. When you arrive they treat you like royalty. In terms of the staff they have acquired a fantastic staff, all who know exactly what kind of service the von Allman family expects. This is a family hotel that has been in business for over 150 years and they are not resting on their laurels! What's more is that their guests are voting with their feet. Most seemed to be return guests, many who have been coming for over a decade. The clientele seems to mostly be older, empty-nesters. In the time we were there I only saw one small child.

What else can we say? This is a beautiful place to come if you love hiking and the mountains. The mountains are stunning and the little villlages are absolutely charming. We stayed in Murren for 5 days and then Wengen for another 5. We bought a Berner Oberland train pass and delighted in jumping on trains, busses, boats, cable cars, and funiculars all over the area. Having the pass meant that we could be spontaneous and make our plans according to the weather and our whims. On rainy days we went to explore the small towns on Lake Thun and Lake Brienz and walked in the Lauterbrunnen Valley. The rest of the time we hiked all over the place. The vistas change as the weather changes and it is stunning. It's impossible to have a bad time in this area. The Alpenrose is a great place to park yourself for a week to explore the area and to relax. You can't go wrong!

Room Tip: They will take care of you! No worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulavonAllmen, Owner at Hotel Alpenrose Wengen, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Alpenrose guest
Thank you very much for your very nice comment on tripadvisor! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Alpenrose in Wengen and that you have taken your time to review us.
We hope to welcome you back in near future and remain in the meantime with our very best wishes.
Yours sincerely
Family von Allmen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Our family of four stayed at Hotel Alpenrose for six nights in mid-August of last year. We stayed in four hotels on our trip to Switzerland and Italy and it was by far our favorite. Where do I begin? The hotel is situated on the side of a mountain and the view from the southside balconies are stunning. We would sit outside on the balcony in the evenings and listen to the peaceful sounds of cowbells and waterfalls. It is a non-smoking hotel, which was a relief after staying at a hotel outside of Zurich that reeked of cigarette smoke.

The interior of the hotel is even prettier than the photos on the website. The staff is friendly and accommodating, kindly offering a kid-friendly meal for our two children. The breakfasts and dinners were delicious. There are plenty of spaces on the main floor to relax and it was fun to play chess with our children in the evenings. The room was clean and comfortable. Our boys loved playing with and patting the resident flat coated retriever.

The location of the hotel is ideal--Wengen is a car-free village in the Bernese Alps and a perfect location from which to tour the region.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanielmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulavonAllmen, Owner at Hotel Alpenrose Wengen, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Alpenrose guest
Thank you very much for your kind comment on tripadvisor! We are very happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Alpenrose in Wengen and that you have taken your time to review us.
We hope to welcome you back in near future and remain in the meantime with our very best wishes.
Yours sincerely
Family von Allmen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I spent five nights in the Hotel Alpenrose. It's a wonderful, charming, family-owned place with first rate service. The owners were extremely helpful and patient with us as we made our reservations, and the service was excellent. We wanted to stay in a normal hotel room but the rooms were full so they put us in the Chalet Erica, small apartments across the street - more space, same price. Then, when we arrived, they upgraded us to a better apartment because there was no one else in it.

There is an option of either breakfast only or breakfast and dinner, and you can even decide day-by-day if you want to be there for dinner. Dinner is wonderful - five courses, nice setting, perfect service, excellent price. Most of the clientele is older; we saw a couple of teenagers but no small children. If I were to go back I'd bring one nice shirt to wear for dinner every night, though I didn't get the feeling that anyone looked askance at the very casual shirts I wore at meals. Breakfast was very casual and serve-yourself, but wonderful food and the kind of situation where you really don't want to rush yourself.

Vengen, Murren and Lauterbrunnen are the places to stay in this region. Gimmelwald would also be nice as long as you don't mind having nothing but farmers for neighbors. But Interlaken is boring and far from the real scenery, and Grindelwald is sprawling and much less charming. We stayed in Murren and Wengen and loved both of them.

It's the mountains so the weather changes frequently and you never know when it will be clear. We stayed for 10 days and we saw every kind of weather. The good thing about staying for several days is that you are more likely to get at least some sun and some mountain views. One interesting thing is that the place is beautiful in any kind of weather; in fact it's most beautiful when there are a lot of clouds and the mountains peak out occasionally. But had we only been there a few days and seen nothing but clouds and rain we would have been very disappointed. By staying so long we were never in a hurry and never concerned about what kind of day it was outside. (Bring rain gear, of course.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andnobodyknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UrsulavonAllmen, Owner at Hotel Alpenrose Wengen, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Alpenrose guest
Thank you very much for your kind comment on tripadvisor! We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in the apartment in our Chalet Erika, which is part of the Hotel Alpenrose in Wengen and that you have taken your time to review us.
We hope to welcome you back in near future and remain in the meantime with our very best wishes.
Yours sincerely
Family von Allmen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#7 of 20 in Wengen
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenrose Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenrose Wengen

Property: Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Address: Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
#12 Family Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenrose Wengen 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our alpine hotel with its long family tradition ! The Hotel Alpenrose is the oldest hotel in Wengen and has been owned and run by the same family for well over a hundred years. The 40 rooms and the lounges have been recently renovated in alpine chalet style using lots of wood and the hotel’s own antique furniture. A log fire in our lounge adds to the welcoming atmosphere after a day in the mountains. In our dining room a hearty breakfast is served from our buffet and a fine half board set menu is served in the evenings. The Hotel Alpenrose is situated about 10 walking minutes below the train station and the village centre in a quiet and pleasant location with stunning views into the beautiful valley of Lauterbrunnen and the surrounding snowcapped mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Alpenrose Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenrose Hotel Wengen
Alpenrose Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing