We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
pacific palisades, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed for 3 days in early July in one of the duplex rooms. The sofa bed downstairs turns into bunk beds (first time I've ever seen that!) which were a little small for our teenagers, but they were comfortable. Upstairs was a nice large bed (king size), closet, TV and small desk area. Deck was large and had comfortable lounge chairs overlooking the Lauterbrunnen valley. Staff were excellent, loaning us an extra converter for our electronics and giving us great advice on things to do in the area. You really got the feeling that you could ask for anything and get it with a smile. They provide luggage transport to and from the trainstaion, but given we travel light and the hotel is at most a half block up for the station, we did not use that service.
We took advantage of the free mini-bar with orange juice in the AM and a cold beer after a wonderful day of hiking. It also rained one afternoon and we swam in the (large!) pool, which is very nice with walls of windows looking out onto the grounds. We did not use the sauna, but it looked nice. I imagine that after a hard day skiing, both the pool and suana would be very welcome.
We had breakfast, but not dinner, at the hotel and it was excellent with both cold and hot dishes on the buffet. The cheese platter had a nice description of the cows that had produced the various cheeses and the sliced meat selection was varied. Wonderful breads, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms, sausage, bacon and eggs => highly recommend. DInner looked nice, but we prefer to dine a little more casually in the evenings.
On one of our days, we took the gondola up to Mannlichen and hiked to Kleine Sheidegg and then back down Wengen for a nice round trip. Mannlichen is gorgeous with forever views, a nice restaurant and playground. Wonderful wildflowers on the mountain slopes - my kids had to run out and do the whole "sound of music" scene (ok, I know this isn't Austria, but still...) Sitting out in front of the train station at Kleine Sheidegg, we had a really nice traditional swiss lunch of sausage and cheese salad. The trains leave from here for the "top of europe" and the view of the North face of the Eiger is right there. On the walk back down to Wengen, we passed bucolic farms with cow bells ringing across the hills. A great day.
Wengen itself is charming, with a few nice shops, two groceries and a large chess set, sand volleyball and soccer field in the town center. We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your family vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    105
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
196
209
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was our first stay in the Sunstar Wengen. We travelled as a family of four and stayed in a family (duplex) room which provided perfect family accommodation as a mezzanine with bunk beds on lower level for kids and double bed on half-floor above. The room was very clean and comfortable and overlooked the garden area (great for keeping an eye on the kids below on trampoline or table tennis from lazy comfort of balcony above.) The free minibar was restocked daily. Food in the restaurant was of superb quality, usually locally sourced, and varied. The staff in the hotel could not have been more helpful or welcoming and went to great lengths to cater for somewhat fussy eleven year old, always with great humour. We were made to feel that nothing was ever too much trouble and all the hotel team were extremely attentive. The swimming pool was a great feature and was usually quiet. Would thoroughly recommend this wonderful hotel and would hope to be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the rear of the hotel have better views and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anon671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thanks a lot for your review. We are happy that you had a great family holiday.
It is our intention, that all family members can relax and be entertained during their holiday at the Sunstar Wengen, especially fussy eleven year olds ;-)
We have kids ourselves, so we know...
Thanks again for taking your time to write a review, would be great to welcome all of you again at the Sunstar Wengen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Sunstar. The staff without exception were first class - nothing was too much trouble for them and they really made our stay special. The restaurant staff were very efficient, professional and possessed a sense of humour - even to the extent of providing us with a recipe for the breakfast meusili - which we now enjoy at home! The menus provided were very good indeed. The buffets both at dinner (starters) and breakfast were extensive - and there was a wide range of different fresh breads available. I do like good coffee I the morning and was not disappointed. The room was large - 412 - and had a very comfortable bed - we slept really well - there was a remarkable choice of pillows on offer. The room was serviced and cleaned everyday extremely well. Towels ect., were changed on request. We did really appreciate the complimentary mini bar after a days hiking - what a pleasure to sit on the large balcony enjoying the view of the Lautrrbrunnen Valley and Murren, whilst having a refreshing drink. Reception staff were extremely efficient, pleasant and very helpful. We shall return again - not just because of the excellent location but because here is a hotel who really care about guests. We did appreciate the free wifi.

Room Tip: Chose a room overlooking the Lauterbrunnen Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobe561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate that you were taking your time to leave your comments. Normally the recipe of the Bircher Müsli is a secret. So what do we do now? Either we have to send a hitman, or you have to come back to us to enjoy the Müsli at our place ;-)
Warm regards and keep the recipe as a secret. ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

This continues to be an excellent hotel providing first class service in a friendly and welcoming style. Great hospitality, great food and very comfortable rooms in a wonderful location. This was our 13th visit! We shall return!

Room Tip: Valley view rooms with balcony are worth the extra; suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
It was a pleasure having you both at the Sunstar Wengen again and we look forward seeing you next summer. Thanks very much for your great review and your loyality to the Sunstar Alpine hotel Wengen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Another glorious week at the Sunstar. As usual the food was superb, the staff friendly and helpful. As a single traveller my single room was beautifully appointed and the views of course fabulous. It was lovely to meet old friends and to be treated by the manager and staff as a special friend. I can't wait for my next visit!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pehjol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and are looking forward to welcome you again. Take care & see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Warm caring, friendly staff throughout the hotel especially so in the restaurant.Good size rooms with comfortable beds.Food at breakfast and dinner very good.Our ten day stay there was very enjoyable and we would like to return for a future visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianE871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We will forward your compliments to our restaurant team, they will be very happy about it :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just returned from another great week at the Sunstar. Wengen is a splendid base to explore the Jungfrau area and the Sunstar is an excellent hotel centrally located in the village. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed; we had a junior suite which gave us more room and had a super view out over the Lauterbrunnen valley. Oliver and Katya are lovely hosts and the whole team are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The food is of a very high standard, and there are always alternatives if you do not fancy anything on the menu. Breakfast is also a very satisfying buffet which sets you up for the day.

The hotel has a swimming pool with a sauna and steam room, good for relaxing after a day in the hills.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have better views and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RL_and_ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice review and for your loyality to the Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#10 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing