We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service, good food, great pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good service, good food, great pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed at the Sunstar at the end of March for a week. The location of the Hotel is perfect just 50 m from the cable car, < 5min walk to train station and the door to Hotel's Ski/bbot room is opposite the InterSport Ski rental Shop. The hotel has very good food, buffet breakfast along with buffet salads and starters for dinner with a choice of three soups, main courses and desserts served at the table. The waiters were extremely efficient and friendly. The pool is very big for a hotel, the sauna and steam bath excellent and all included in the room price. The rooms were well cleaned every day. The only downside for us was that the room was a bit narrow paricularly once the sofa in the downstairs part of the room was unfolded into a bunk bed for the children. Otherwise an extremely nice hotel and Wengen is a lovely ski village.

Room Tip: Room 403 was quite narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martynpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for writing your experiences at our Sunstar Wengen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    105
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
196
209
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed at the Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen for a week and had a very good skiing holiday. This is our third Sunstar hotel (previously we stayed at Davos and Saas Fee).

The location on the main high street is very convenient for both the train station and cable car. Our luggage was collected from the station which was very thoughtful and the initial welcome informative. Oliver the manager is a 'larger than life' character and both the ski tour (Monday afternoon) and the mountain hut raclette event (Tues evening) are to be recommended. Tip: take your ski poles for the walk through the forest it helps with the decent too. The breakfast and dinner buffets are extensive. The overall menu and wine list good, with a heavy emphasis on local and traditional Swiss fare.

The eco friendly nature and ethos of the Sunstar group is to be commended but just be aware to means the swimming pool at 28C can be a little bracing and the wicker chairs (presumably renewable energy) in the rooms and public areas are quite uncomfortable. Maybe there is another more comfortable wooden version ? The rooms are more 3 Star in terms of décor but the views; if a balcony is requested; are stunning.

The downside is the thoroughfare to the children's playroom through the bar and sitting room. Other reviewers have commented as well about this, as it makes for a very noisy and 'non-relaxing' after dinner experience. Clearly the responsibility for children's behaviour rests with the parents and not the hotel staff (who were also frustrated by the disturbances) but for the management please can you consider changing the route of access?

We are unlikely to return to this particular hotel without assurances that changes have been made but will probably try Grindelwald next year as the whole Jungfrau region is fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
First of all thank you very much for your honest and positive response. Yes, it is true, that over New Year and in February during school holidays many families stay at our family friendly Sunstar Wengen. A small tipp, if you prefer it a bit more quiet we would recommend to visit us in January or March ;-) if this would suit to you. Thanks again & all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nice swimming pool. Marvelous and luxurious dinner. Good breakfast. The rooms are simple, but have a very good view. The beds are comfortable. Furniture is simple. No "wow" factor in rooms, and the most "wow" is during the dinner :-)

Room Tip: Rooms with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Massao. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much, we appreciate your opinion. To have a good deal it is always worth to check out website for special offers and we have a Sunstar loyality programme which could give you further discounts. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would be happy to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have just returned from the Sunstar. The first time we stayed there was in 1993. Over the years we have stayed ay four other hotels in Wengen. This is the first time that we have been there since Oliver arrived. We were blessed with glorious weather, fine snow conditions and excellent service. In our opinion the hotel is the best located hotel in the village. The food and service was first class. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean and the views across the valley were fabulous. It is a shame we had to come home.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Graham
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your nice comments. Hope to meet you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have now just returned from our 15th stay in Wengen 15 which included 6 other hotels from the Falken to The Park Beausite. Our nine visits to The Sunstar confirms our absolute love and confidence that we have here in the Sunstar where on each occasion the service, comfort and lovely staff have been absolutely 1st class. It is clearly apparent that their enthusiasm for their smiles and enthusiasm exudes from the hosts Oliver and Katja. It was lovely that our request for our favourite valley view room was saved for us, and a lovely bubbly surprise on ice awaited our arrival. The food with multi choice menus is excellent, and the central position on the main street opposite the Mannlichen, and within easy reach of the station couldn't be bettered. Can't wait till next year.

Room Tip: Choose a valley room if you prefer a quiet evening and an excellent view. Not that there is much noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Robert
Many thanks for taking your time for this review, we appreciate your loyality to the Sunstar Wengen for so many years and are looking forward to your next visit!
Best regards from Wengen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We spent a week holidays with family at the Sunstar.
Being warmly welcomed by Oliver is a real pleasure.
Along the week, the service has been absolutely flawless! The staff is very kind and efficient.

The different proposed activities have been a real pleasure (especially the Raclette Evening :-))

I would definitely recommend the Sunstar in Wengen, Oliver and his team are truly great hosts !

Room Tip: South side rooms have better view even though North side are very pleasant too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis-Picard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
and thank you and your family for a funny evening with you all at the hut ;-)
thank you very much for your nice comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have just stayed at the Sunstar for five nights, my second visit, my husband's fifth. A beautifully run hotel, nothing is too much trouble and the staff are very pleasant. The hotel is an excellent location right in the centre of the village, just near the children's ski area and handy for all the lifts, trains etc.
The hotel is very comfortable and the rooms are of a very high standard. Those overlooking the valley are lovely and sitting on the balcony is a good experience if the weather is suitable. We enjoyed the food very much especially the 'Big Dessert' buffet on the Saturday night. The hotel would be excellent for families with children with its lovely big pool and the playroom.

Room Tip: Choose a valley side room as they are quieter and have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us
thank you very much for your nice comments!
But the 'Big Dessert' buffet on the Friday ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#10 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing