We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunstar Wengen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

An excellent welcome and brilliant start to our Swiss tour.
As soon as we arrived at the Sunstar we felt at home, we were welcomed by the receptionist and the hotel manager, Oliver, who could not do enough for us. They kept the restaurant open after hours and the food was amazing and service excellent!
We had a room upgrade, which was a real surprise with a lovely seating area and a wonderful balcony with beautiful views. The free mini bar was also an added bonus!!
We only stayed 2 days, which flew by, especially as there were so many places around to visit. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 571 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

What an excellent hotel!. I have just stayed there for seven nights with a small group and we all thought what a wonderful place to stay, both the hotel and the village. We were welcomed at the station and our cases were taken the very short distance to the hotel for us. The village is traffic free. At the hotel we were greeted with a welcoming drink and a review of the hotel facilities including the swimming pool. The hotel is run by Oliver and Katja Kienzler and a fantastic staff who could not do enough for us. The rooms were very comfortable and the mini-bar, including beer, was restocked each day without extra charge. The hotel has its own professional chef who served excellent food, varying the menu through the week.
The hotel is some 45 mins by train from Interlaken but all our party were agreed that it was worth the extra journey because of the quality of the hotel and the scenic nature of that journey. Without doubt one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.
Chris Lewis

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the main route through Wengen. However, as it is traffic free, nothing dis...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrislewiscll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Ideal situation close to rail station and cable car. All staff friendly and helpful, good food, pleasant room. Extremely good value for Switzerland, no charges for extras (free mini bar, free wi-fi, drinks in restaurant not over priced). I have stayed here the last 2 years and certainly plan to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have been to Wengen many times and always stay at the Sunstar hotel which we regard as our second home. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we always feel very comfortable there. Wengen on a sunny day is just the most beautiful place to be!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms overlooking the valley have great views
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our first time in Switzerland and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The staff were REALLY friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The food was all excellent. The room was lovely and plenty of room and very well serviced. We would have no hesitation in staying there again when we go back to Switzerland, which will definitively be to go to Wengen and definitely to the Sunstar. The pool was a real bonus, you re bound to get wet days in the mountains, and so to be able to relax and swim, sauna and jacuzzi too, was a real bonus.

Can't fault it.

Mike and Jan
Bristol
England
August 2013

Room Tip: We were in an even numbered room and thus we got evening sun from our balcony and a quiet aspect.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Sunstar is located on the main street in Wengen, just a couple of minutes away from the railway station which makes it really easy to get around. The beds are comfortable and the shower is powerful - two things which are important to me when I stay anywhere. On the negative side, the hotel is quite noisy, as the elevators start trundling up and down as early as 6am which woke me up on some mornings. Our room faced the main street and there was a fair bit of noise from the electric buggies used by most of the hotels, and other service vehicles. Although Wengen is a car free town, there is still a lot of street noise from electric vehicles which starts early in the morning. So my room tip would be for a room as far away from the elevator as possible, facing the rear of the hotel on a high floor. This way the noise we experienced could probably be avoided. Other reviewers have noted that this hotel have a lot of Japanese tour groups staying with them, which means that the breakfast buffet is limited until the group has left for the day. This was also our experience, and we soon learned not to enter the breakfast room until after 8am, when the larger part of the breakfast buffet would be brought out. It seems quite mean to us that the management feel they need to behave this way, as I am sure the Japanese guests are paying a similar amount to everyone else in order to stay there. There were four separate groups arriving and departing during our week's stay, which made the hotel feel quite chaotic in the morning and evening as these large parties came and went - the hotel is small and the reception area very crowded during these times. All in all, we enjoyed our holiday at the Sunstar and it is a nice hotel, but like other reviewers have mentioned, there are many good hotels in Wengen, and so if we visit again we will probably choose a hotel which does not cater so much for the large groups and which is situated in a quieter area (hopefully with quieter elevators too!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastAngliaBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you very much to rate us on Tripadvisor and thank you for your comment about the elevator. Our guest satifaction in the Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen is very important to
us and we are trying to improve our guest services on a daily basis. We are very
glad to inform you that we will refurbish both elevators this October and November when the Hotel is closed to avoid that guests get disturbed by the noise. There will be 2 brand new "Schindler" elevators installed in the Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen. Actually it is a very big investment, but they will be much more quiet than the excisting ones. If you have any comments or questions please contact me on direktion.wengen@sunstar.ch. Thank you very much & best regards from sunny Wengen Oliver Kienzler / Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We returned to our usual hotel and had an excellent holiday in lovely Wengen. The hotel was excellent (as it always has been) The staff were friendly and very helpful, the food delicious and well presented and the room comfortable and very well serviced. Travel was straightforward thanks to the efficient Swiss train and bus services and the boat trips on the lakes are recommended. The mountains are magnificent and there are plenty of walks to suit all abilities. (at our age were prefer the down hill walks but the stunning views are still the same!) Thanks to all the Sunstar team for making our holiday so delightful.

Room Tip: The more expensive valley view rooms get the morning sunshine but the village view rooms are more in...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
639 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#9 of 20 in Wengen
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $184 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing