We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveler rating
474
127
22
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
127
22
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free mini bar cable car duplex room large swimming pool raclette evening pillow menu valley view train station excellent holiday reception staff the main street friendly hotel his wife steam room ski school mannlichen lift home from home
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 636 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our first time in Switzerland and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The staff were REALLY friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The food was all excellent. The room was lovely and plenty of room and very well serviced. We would have no hesitation in staying there again when we go back to Switzerland, which will definitively be to go to Wengen and definitely to the Sunstar. The pool was a real bonus, you re bound to get wet days in the mountains, and so to be able to relax and swim, sauna and jacuzzi too, was a real bonus.

Can't fault it.

Mike and Jan
Bristol
England
August 2013

Room tip: We were in an even numbered room and thus we got evening sun from our balcony and a quiet aspect.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Sunstar is located on the main street in Wengen, just a couple of minutes away from the railway station which makes it really easy to get around. The beds are comfortable and the shower is powerful - two things which are important to me when I stay anywhere. On the negative side, the hotel is quite noisy, as the elevators start trundling up and down as early as 6am which woke me up on some mornings. Our room faced the main street and there was a fair bit of noise from the electric buggies used by most of the hotels, and other service vehicles. Although Wengen is a car free town, there is still a lot of street noise from electric vehicles which starts early in the morning. So my room tip would be for a room as far away from the elevator as possible, facing the rear of the hotel on a high floor. This way the noise we experienced could probably be avoided. Other reviewers have noted that this hotel have a lot of Japanese tour groups staying with them, which means that the breakfast buffet is limited until the group has left for the day. This was also our experience, and we soon learned not to enter the breakfast room until after 8am, when the larger part of the breakfast buffet would be brought out. It seems quite mean to us that the management feel they need to behave this way, as I am sure the Japanese guests are paying a similar amount to everyone else in order to stay there. There were four separate groups arriving and departing during our week's stay, which made the hotel feel quite chaotic in the morning and evening as these large parties came and went - the hotel is small and the reception area very crowded during these times. All in all, we enjoyed our holiday at the Sunstar and it is a nice hotel, but like other reviewers have mentioned, there are many good hotels in Wengen, and so if we visit again we will probably choose a hotel which does not cater so much for the large groups and which is situated in a quieter area (hopefully with quieter elevators too!).

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastAngliaBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Wengen, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you very much to rate us on Tripadvisor and thank you for your comment about the elevator. Our guest satifaction in the Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen is very important to
us and we are trying to improve our guest services on a daily basis. We are very
glad to inform you that we will refurbish both elevators this October and November when the Hotel is closed to avoid that guests get disturbed by the noise. There will be 2 brand new "Schindler" elevators installed in the Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen. Actually it is a very big investment, but they will be much more quiet than the excisting ones. If you have any comments or questions please contact me on direktion.wengen@sunstar.ch. Thank you very much & best regards from sunny Wengen Oliver Kienzler / Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We returned to our usual hotel and had an excellent holiday in lovely Wengen. The hotel was excellent (as it always has been) The staff were friendly and very helpful, the food delicious and well presented and the room comfortable and very well serviced. Travel was straightforward thanks to the efficient Swiss train and bus services and the boat trips on the lakes are recommended. The mountains are magnificent and there are plenty of walks to suit all abilities. (at our age were prefer the down hill walks but the stunning views are still the same!) Thanks to all the Sunstar team for making our holiday so delightful.

Room tip: The more expensive valley view rooms get the morning sunshine but the village view rooms are more interesting if you like people watching.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Sunstar many times in the winter but this was my first summer trip to Wengen. Unfortunately I have to say I was not impressed. My superior single room with balcony was very ordinary and the bathroom cramped for a 4 star hotel. My Californian friends on their first ever trip to Switzerland were equally unimpressed. I had requested that we eat in the main restaurant but was told in no uncertain terms that we would be in the annexe which reminded me of a school canteen, hence we went out for dinner. The bar was empty to the extent that there was a notice saying if you wanted a drink to ask reception! I think the time has come for a change and I will not be going back until there have been major improvements overall.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ogordonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Once again we stayed at the wonderful Sunstar Hotel in Wegen where our hosts Oliver and Katja and their staff made us feel at home. We have stayed here for the past 12 years.
The breakfast was very good with an excellent choice of cereals,fruit,hams,cheeses,breads and pastries. The 5 course evening meal was also very varied with a good choice of dishes.
The hotel is situated in the main car free street which is very quiet and is also close to the train station and the cable car station.There are lots of wonderful walks around the area and the scenery is stunning.

Room tip: Rooms facing the valley
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews