We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have been to Wengen many times and always stay at the Sunstar hotel which we regard as our second home. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we always feel very comfortable there. Wengen on a sunny day is just the most beautiful place to be!

Room Tip: The balcony rooms overlooking the valley have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 587 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was our first time in Switzerland and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The staff were REALLY friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The food was all excellent. The room was lovely and plenty of room and very well serviced. We would have no hesitation in staying there again when we go back to Switzerland, which will definitively be to go to Wengen and definitely to the Sunstar. The pool was a real bonus, you re bound to get wet days in the mountains, and so to be able to relax and swim, sauna and jacuzzi too, was a real bonus.

Can't fault it.

Mike and Jan
Bristol
England
August 2013

Room Tip: We were in an even numbered room and thus we got evening sun from our balcony and a quiet aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Sunstar is located on the main street in Wengen, just a couple of minutes away from the railway station which makes it really easy to get around. The beds are comfortable and the shower is powerful - two things which are important to me when I stay anywhere. On the negative side, the hotel is quite noisy, as the elevators start trundling up and down as early as 6am which woke me up on some mornings. Our room faced the main street and there was a fair bit of noise from the electric buggies used by most of the hotels, and other service vehicles. Although Wengen is a car free town, there is still a lot of street noise from electric vehicles which starts early in the morning. So my room tip would be for a room as far away from the elevator as possible, facing the rear of the hotel on a high floor. This way the noise we experienced could probably be avoided. Other reviewers have noted that this hotel have a lot of Japanese tour groups staying with them, which means that the breakfast buffet is limited until the group has left for the day. This was also our experience, and we soon learned not to enter the breakfast room until after 8am, when the larger part of the breakfast buffet would be brought out. It seems quite mean to us that the management feel they need to behave this way, as I am sure the Japanese guests are paying a similar amount to everyone else in order to stay there. There were four separate groups arriving and departing during our week's stay, which made the hotel feel quite chaotic in the morning and evening as these large parties came and went - the hotel is small and the reception area very crowded during these times. All in all, we enjoyed our holiday at the Sunstar and it is a nice hotel, but like other reviewers have mentioned, there are many good hotels in Wengen, and so if we visit again we will probably choose a hotel which does not cater so much for the large groups and which is situated in a quieter area (hopefully with quieter elevators too!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastAngliaBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver K, General Manager at Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you very much to rate us on Tripadvisor and thank you for your comment about the elevator. Our guest satifaction in the Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen is very important to
us and we are trying to improve our guest services on a daily basis. We are very
glad to inform you that we will refurbish both elevators this October and November when the Hotel is closed to avoid that guests get disturbed by the noise. There will be 2 brand new "Schindler" elevators installed in the Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen. Actually it is a very big investment, but they will be much more quiet than the excisting ones. If you have any comments or questions please contact me on direktion.wengen@sunstar.ch. Thank you very much & best regards from sunny Wengen Oliver Kienzler / Host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We returned to our usual hotel and had an excellent holiday in lovely Wengen. The hotel was excellent (as it always has been) The staff were friendly and very helpful, the food delicious and well presented and the room comfortable and very well serviced. Travel was straightforward thanks to the efficient Swiss train and bus services and the boat trips on the lakes are recommended. The mountains are magnificent and there are plenty of walks to suit all abilities. (at our age were prefer the down hill walks but the stunning views are still the same!) Thanks to all the Sunstar team for making our holiday so delightful.

Room Tip: The more expensive valley view rooms get the morning sunshine but the village view rooms are more in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Sunstar many times in the winter but this was my first summer trip to Wengen. Unfortunately I have to say I was not impressed. My superior single room with balcony was very ordinary and the bathroom cramped for a 4 star hotel. My Californian friends on their first ever trip to Switzerland were equally unimpressed. I had requested that we eat in the main restaurant but was told in no uncertain terms that we would be in the annexe which reminded me of a school canteen, hence we went out for dinner. The bar was empty to the extent that there was a notice saying if you wanted a drink to ask reception! I think the time has come for a change and I will not be going back until there have been major improvements overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ogordonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Once again we stayed at the wonderful Sunstar Hotel in Wegen where our hosts Oliver and Katja and their staff made us feel at home. We have stayed here for the past 12 years.
The breakfast was very good with an excellent choice of cereals,fruit,hams,cheeses,breads and pastries. The 5 course evening meal was also very varied with a good choice of dishes.
The hotel is situated in the main car free street which is very quiet and is also close to the train station and the cable car station.There are lots of wonderful walks around the area and the scenery is stunning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our family stayed at the Sunstar for 5 days. We wish we would have stayed longer! You can see by my other reviews that we usually stay at big name chain hotels. Four Seasons, Park Hyatt, Westin etc. We loved this hotel. It is small and simple but such a special place. As others have said, the staff is great and they can not do enough for you. They even took my daughter back to the kitchen to meet the chef when she liked her hamburger! We booked two rooms for our family of four because we wanted a little extra room. They had our rooms ready and right next door to each other. The rooms are very simple but very clean which is important to me.

The staff can not do enough for you from the moment you wake up until you go to sleep!

Go on Swiss National Day. The hotel set up so many fun activities and really made us feel like we were part of the celebration. Wengen itself is also very fun on Swiss National Day.

Just book it. It is the best location in town and I can not imagine you would get treated better at any other hotel!

If I could pick to go to the Sunstar in Wengen or the Fairmont in Hawaii on my next vacation, I would pick Sunstar and Wengen!

Room Tip: We asked for a fan in our room as we are Americans who like Air Condition:) They immediately brough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1213Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#5 of 20 in Wengen
490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
395 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Schoenegg
Hotel Schoenegg
#6 of 20 in Wengen
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $211 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing