We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our family stayed at the Sunstar for 5 days. We wish we would have stayed longer! You can see by my other reviews that we usually stay at big name chain hotels. Four Seasons, Park Hyatt, Westin etc. We loved this hotel. It is small and simple but such a special place. As others have said, the staff is great and they can not do enough for you. They even took my daughter back to the kitchen to meet the chef when she liked her hamburger! We booked two rooms for our family of four because we wanted a little extra room. They had our rooms ready and right next door to each other. The rooms are very simple but very clean which is important to me.

The staff can not do enough for you from the moment you wake up until you go to sleep!

Go on Swiss National Day. The hotel set up so many fun activities and really made us feel like we were part of the celebration. Wengen itself is also very fun on Swiss National Day.

Just book it. It is the best location in town and I can not imagine you would get treated better at any other hotel!

If I could pick to go to the Sunstar in Wengen or the Fairmont in Hawaii on my next vacation, I would pick Sunstar and Wengen!

Room Tip: We asked for a fan in our room as we are Americans who like Air Condition:) They immediately brough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1213Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 578 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Apparently we had the exact same experience at this exceptional hotel as the reviewer SND 138, right down to the tour group descending on the lobby when we were checking in. We must have been there the same days. I can not say enough about how accomodating, friendly and sincerly eager to please the entire staff was, and clearly they took their lead from Oliver who felt like a friend after 5 minutes. We stayed in some really nice hotels during our trip throughout Europe but this hotel truly stood out and made us feel right at home. We highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the valley. You can gaze at the mountains and watch the sun begin to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

As a family of four we stayed at the Sunstar in mid-August and had the most fantastic week. The hotel was excellent. Staff were helpful and friendly. Its location (only 2 mins from Wengen station) makes it an ideal location for exploring the area. Food both at breakfast and evening meal was of a high standard with plenty of choice. We stayed in a duplex room with the children (13+10) sleeping in the downstairs section on bunk beds whilst we occupied the upper floor. Our balcony had a great view of the Lauterbrunnen valley and the snow capped mountains. As well as exploring the beautiful area we also made use of the hotel pool which was larger than average for hotels, was spotlessly clean and always had a large supply of clean towels. The children also enjoyed visiting the hotel kitchen on an "chef's aperitif tour" and learning to fold napkins into all sorts of shapes with the head waiter. It's often the little extras that make a hotel great - the free minibar stocked with water, sprite, coke and beer each day, the beds turned down whilst we enjoyed dinner and a pillow chocolate to welcome you back to the room.

Breakfast consisted of cereals, fruit juices, yogurts, cheeses, meats, fresh fruit, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, baked beans, tomatoes, chocolate croissants, bread, tea/coffee/hot chocolate and ensured we always had a good feed to start the day.

Evening meal consisted of a salad/starter buffet with new items each day, a daily soup choice (or tomato/beef soup if you don't fancy the daily soup), 4 choices of main course and either the daily dessert or ice cream/fruit salad or cheese. We found the food delicious.

Throughout our stay in Wengen we made great use of the "Bernese Oberland" rail pass along with junior cards for the children. Monika in the tourist information office was very helpful. We visited Männlichen (the cable car being a stones throw from the hotel), Jungfraujoch, Schilthorn as well as walks around the village and from Männlichen to Kleine Scheidegg and the local Folklore evening hosted by one of the members of "Trio Lauberhorn" who played one evening in the hotel bar.

We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Duplex rooms are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamB_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a very friendly hotel offering excellent service: the manager spent a good twenty minutes with us on our arrival advising us of walks and things to do. We had half board and the four course evening meals were very good with some choice for main courses. The breakfast buffet was also very good. The free mini-bar (soft drinks and beer) was a nice touch too and we did appreciate a kettle in the room (as well as two complimentary glasses of prosecco for my wife's birthday). Although Wengen is a small village this hotel is in the heart of it and very convenient for the railway station and cable car. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinBlackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We visited the Sunstar in mid-August and stayed in one of the Deluxe rooms w/ a view. Can't speak more highly about our stay and, as many posters have noted previously, it's almost entirely because of the exceptional level of service. Room was perfect. Well-sized for a family of four. Bunk beds for the kids. Wife and I stayed upstairs in a cozy, but ample loft. Picturesque view toward the Lauterbrunnen Valley on a terrace large enough for two chairs and a small table. Clean room. We also got the dinner option. I would *probably* do it again b/c of the lack of restaurant choices in little Wengen, but the dinners were only *good*, not outstanding. Always plenty of choice plus a salad bar with a wide selection. Not complaining, just wasn't floored by the food. Again, not sure we would have done any better outside the hotel. Pool was a hit w/ the kids, as was the outdoor trampoline. But the service and attention to every detail was as outstanding as any hotel I've ever visited. The manager, Oliver, makes an honest attempt to connect to every guest. He was friendly and helpful and enthusiastic, all without trying too hard. And that ethic channels through every hotel employee. Probably the best example was our experience at check in. After taking the easy train up from Lauterbrunnen and walking the quick block to the hotel (great location), we started into the lobby to check in but were overrun by a tour group also checking in. It felt like 1,000 tourists had descended on the lobby, although it was probably closer to 25. We were overwhelmed and disconnected and starting to get frustrated, when out of nowhere Oliver appeared, welcomed us, ushered us to our own corner of the lobby desk so that we could check in with a receptionist. After welcoming the tour group in Mandarin (not his native language) he saw to it to return to us, ask us our plans and then offer advice on what to do, given the rain and cloud cover. He probably spent twenty minutes with us. We took him up on his advice and had probably the best day of our Switzerland trip. Each subsequent day he saw to it to check in on us and inquire how our day was. And, a rarity it seems, he was actually listening. Great property, great location, great service.

Room Tip: Not inexpensive, but the rooms w/ a view of the valley are tremendous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SND138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed at the sun star in Wengen several times and its a really good hotel. As soon as you arrive you are greeted by the staff we were greeted by the General manager how was always around. The hotel is located in the middle of the Main Street which is perfect with views of the mountains on either side and opposite the cable car station and only a short walk for the train station (2 mins) we only had a small room but the 3 of us all fitted with use of the sofa bed for our son. The food is very good as you would expect and you can drink a bottle of wine over several nights of you wish. There is always activities going on to take part in if you want to. The pool is a good size and looks out over the mountains but was a little cold when we were there but hey so is swimming in lake thun !!!! We would always use the hotel is staying in Wengen

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russell n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Loved the small village of Wengen and loved the centrally-located Sunstar Hotel. The staff was helpful, the faciliities spotless, the food excellent. We had beautiful weather which just added to our delight. I recommend a Swiss rail pass as it is the best way to get around Switzerlandfrom Wengen.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms by the stairwell. They are smaller and tend to be noisier. The corner rooms are la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEMFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#9 of 20 in Wengen
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#4 of 20 in Wengen
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $183 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing