We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Christmas holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Christmas holiday”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My family and I (including our 15 month old grandson) enjoyed a lovely Christmas holiday in Wengen. The hotel was friendly and welcoming as well as offering an excellent level of service and facilities.

Room Tip: South side rooms have lovely views down the valley and are sunny in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    110
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
200
218
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have just returned home after spending Christmas 2012 at the Sunstar Wengen. We had a wonderful holiday thanks to Oliver,Katya & their staff who were all so friendly & helpful. The breakfast & dinner were always good & varied. It is a very family friendly hotel & we have stayed there for several years but this was our first Christmas & hopefully we shall be able to visit again at Christmas time. Cable car & nursery slopes a two minute walk & mountain railway five minutes walk.y

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at the hotel after spending 3 nights in Paris. My girlfriend and I came out to Switzerland for some skiing. From the moment the porter greeted us at the train station, I knew it was going to be a good stay. We had a busy itinerary for this trip and would only spend 2.5 days there, however by the end of our trip all the staff members knew our names. You read all the reviews and people comment on the staff, that's because it's true. From the manager, Oliver, down to the wait staff, they all go above and beyond to make you feel welcome.

The hotel itself is what you would expect in a ski town. The internet works well, the water gets hot fast, the rooms are clean and quiet, and it's easy to get rest for another day of skiing. Yeah, the elevator/lift is old, and the carpet has seen better days....but what do you expect for an older hotel in ski country?

I didn't get a chance to use all of the amenities as my main focus was on skiing. However, the hotel has some sort of activity going every night whether it be curling, musicians in the bar, or something "Swiss." The pool and sauna are downstairs, and there is never a worry about your equipment in the ski room downstairs.

The food is good. I had the breakfast included in my room rate and it was nice to get up, get breakfast starting at 7AM and be on the first lift. For most of the places in this ski town, you eat dinner at your hotel's restaurant. It was different for me, as an American, to eat so many meals at the hotel. But they have a lot of variety and cater towards vegetarians.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel. If nothing else, remember, it's a short walk to the lifts, they stock the mini bar for free (and replenish it every day), and you will get a good nights rest for another day of skiing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay in the sunstar wengen over Christmas 2012. Whilst we have stayed at the hotel for 6 or 7 years now, this was the first time we had stayed over Christmas.

One of the real plus points of the hotel is its friendly, family atmosphere. All members of staff without exception place the customer first, from the manager down to the porter.

The hotel is extremely clean, with good size bedrooms. The food was excellent.

The facilities are great, although the children's room could probably do with a bit of a revamp.

The hotel is in a great position too, only a stones throw from the cable car literally, and overlooking the central learners/children's slopes.

With two youngish children, we were mindful of being away from home for christmas. What is refreshing is that christmas isn't overly commercialised in Switzerland. There are decorations, but not too many generally. Things really came in to their own on Christmas Eve, when the hotel head chef led a children's biscuit making, followed by a bonfire in the snow in the hotel gardens, with toasted marshmallows, chestnuts, biscuits and mulled wine just as the sun set and darkness descended. To cap it all, Santa Claus visited with nice presents for all children without exception!

Well done sunstar - we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just spent the Christmas week at the Sunstar hotel, it was beyond our expectations. The team is incredibly nice and helpful. Food is excellent and equipments are perfect. We loved the family atmosphere, quiet and warm. We will definitely come back.
Also, very well located (you cross the street and you are at the main cable car).

Room Tip: Duplex rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

As an enthusiastic skier I have stayed in many resorts, hotels and chalets. The Sunstar in Wengen is the most comfortable, welcoming and friendly hotel I have been to. As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were given a great welcome and a warm drink. Throughout the week that we stayed every member of staff was cheerful, friendly and many took the time to learn our names so that they could give us a personal greeting. The hosts Katja and Oliver Kiennzler regularly talked to us and made us feel as though we were their personal guests.

All parts of the hotel were warm and very clean, the food was to a consistently high standard, the organised activities were enjoyable and timed to be start after skiing was finished (I went on the meal in a woodland hut and a guided tour of the kitchens given by the Head Chef). An added plus of staying at the Sunstar Wengen is the "Pillow Menu" which lets you choose from 10 different pillows to ensure a perfect night's sleep.

If I had to give a one line summary I would say Heaven is a week at the Sunstar Wengen.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was our third stay at the Sunstar and we were welcomed like old friends. The hotel is in an excellent location right in the middle of the main street and a short level walk from the station. The rooms are well appointed clean, comfortable and the views spectacular. Drinks are free from the mini bar which is restocked daily- a nice touch that we really appreciated at the end of a day's walking. Staff are friendly and efficient and really helpful. We stayed half board; the breakfast buffet is great and the evening meals always a treat to look forward to. We were lucky enough to have good weather on our stay and were treated to a magnificant BBQ where we sat outside at linen covered tables and candle light. The manager arrived with blankets for our knees as soon as the sun went down! We can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for a room on the mountain rather than town side and having a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 20 in Wengen
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing