We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, cozy and friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2008

After reading several reviews of this hotel we were quite curious to see with our eyes the good things about it.
Wengen itself must be the most beautiful place in the Bernese Oberland, absolutely marvellous. The Hotel location right on the main street allows fantastic views all around Wengen, especially Mannlichen and the Lauterbrunnen Valley, which is breathtaking. You have to see it to believe!
The Sunstar mixes modern facilities with traditional alpine style. Our room was all in light wood, spacious and very clean. The balcony with two chairs overlooked the street and the Mannlichen cable car, therefore Mountain view. On the other side of the Hotel you get Valley view. It's very relaxing and at night we could hardly hear any noise. After dinner people tend to do a bit of street walking, maybe have a drink in one of the bars and that's it. The room has several curious items like stationery in wood, a yellow plastic duck in the bathroom (the Sunstar mascote), nice robes, slippers and towels to take to the indoor swimming pool, box of chocolats with photos of all the Sunstar hotels chain, etc
Staff was very friendly and helpful. For example, our main suitcase got damaged (one of the wheels) when we got off the train and my partner asked at the reception for a tool to fix it. The tool was given straight away and the wheel fixed.
The bar/lounge is quite spacious and airy. Very confortable. There was some evening entertainment with traditional music and players. Very interactive and funny.
Restaurant is equally spacious and very pleasant. Staff from different nationalities, including Portugal, Germany, Bosnia and even a fantastic guy from Scotland. We were on Half-Board and had our table allocated in the middle of the room. We asked to be moved to somewhere more discrete and they accomodated that without any fuss. The majority of guests were german and english. Regarding the food: good quality but not that many choice apart from the Buffet day where they lay a good number of fish, meat, salads and desserts dishes (and are dressed in funny costumes!). Normally dinner consisted of starter, main course and dessert (only one option of each). When we finished we weren't hungry but if they had a Buffet everyday that would be much more appreciated and more value for money. As it was I think it's too expensive for what we actually get in terms of food (quantity/variety). The presentation of the food was beautiful though, very "nouvelle cuisine" style which means: less quantity more display!
Something curious: they display the next day menu in the lifts, so when we go upstairs to the room we can have an idea of what we're going to eat for dinner next day.
The indoor Swimming pool is wonderful, huge and has a fantastic view. The weather outside wasn't that great so the glassed doors were closed even so, we could admire parts of the Lauterbrunnen Valley, as the swimming pool faces the Valley.
Another excellent idea is the TV screen in reception area with the local weather forecast and info, coming from the several webcams that exist all over the region. Very useful. They have a specific channel which we could watch on our room TV as well.
We spent 5 days there and covered the main attractions. I definatelly recommend: going up on the Mannlichen cable car and do the walking to Kleine Scheidegg (where you can admire the famous trio Eiger, Munch and Jungfrau), it;s a very easy and breathtaking walk; also the Schilthorn starting in fairy tale village Murren, absolutely a must; a walk on the actual Lauterbrunnen Valley is quite spectacular; the Jungfraujoch as it's completely out of this world; a walk around Wengen itself so you can have a sense of perspective plus it's a photographer's paradise etc
There's endless options to occupy your time there. Next time ... maybe Grindelwald, as we got so much in love with the Bernese Oberland.
As for Sunstar Hotel, although I would recommend it, probably I would choose a different one next time. In these small mountain villages even the most far away hotel is central, and we always like to try different hotels.
I have posted 3 photo albums on [--] about this trip to Switzerland, which started in Weggis (Lake Luzern). Feel free to have a look.
Here's the link
[--]

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 577 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2008

I stayed at the Sunstar Wengen for 6 nights in January 2008 with my parents and partner.

Overall, I would say that the Sunstar is a pleasant, comfortable hotel in a great location.

On the plus side – the majority of staff were very friendly and efficient and the maid service was faultless. The refurbished pool area, with steam room and showers, is definitely what makes this hotel stand out. The rooms were quiet, warm and with great views over the valley (in our case) from the balcony. Breakfasts were good (although the choice is limited).

However a few things let the Sunstar down...

The showers in the bathrooms are not great – often in the morning they would run cold and when we mentioned this to the manager he was quite unsympathetic. Also, there were very few English TV channels available in-room... not really that important when you have such beautiful scenery around you!

Where this hotel really lacks is with evening meals. Throughout our stay, there was a set menu every night (which was quite pricey) with one or two choices for each course, all of which weren't to my taste. Luckily we found a great restaurant nearby (further up the road and up the slope) which I can thoroughly recommend – Da Sina – with a huge (mostly Italian) menu. We ate there every night!

Other gripes were the ridiculously smoky bar, which unfortunately deterred us from joining in any evening entertainment. Also, if you visit during a quieter period like us, beware that many of the publicised activities require a minimum number of people. We were very disappointed that sledging was cancelled but hired our own sledges and made our way up to the sledge run in Wengenalp – so much fun!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

Overall an unsatisfactory experience. We decided to splurge a bit and book a suite, but was instead given a so-called 'duplex room' which is essentially a family room with lots of beds in lieu of other amenities - of dubious value since it was only my wife and myself. The front desk said they were full and could not relocate us. And the bathroom was very small, with an inward swinging door, which made it impossible to enter the bathroom while someone else was in it without banging their toes against the bottom of the door. Who needs this sort of aggravation while on vacation?

Also we found the food unsatisfactory, and certainly a couple or four notches below the food served across town at the Regina, where we stayed previously. For instance, our evening appetizer selection was usually a choice of Orange Juice - I'm not kidding - or Apple Soup - which was just hideous. We found ourselves eating dinner in other hotels at an extra cost, even though we booked half board at the SunStar.

Next time in Wengen we will either stay again at the Regina, which truly had a four star menu, or might try the Schonegg, where we had an excellent dinner and the owner took great pride in his hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank JohnnyCLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2007

We stayed at the Sunstar in Wengen for 1 week in March. We booked with Kuoni which rates this as a 4 star hotel - while very comfortable it is not a luxury hotel. With Kuoni we booked flyrail which was excellent. We checked our luggage in at London Gatwick and did not see it again until the hotel. We needed to catch 3 trains however this wasn’t a problem as everything was very clear on the instructions from Kuoni although if you are booking with them check out the Swiss rail website for yourself with regard to times – we caught a train nearly 2 hours earlier than Kuoni suggested.

We were upgraded to a junior suite which was very nice with a balcony overlooking the village. The room has a free mini bar, consisting of beer, sprite, coke, water and juice which is re-stocked every day – however there is no tea and coffee making facilities. As noted by other reviews the bathroom was small but very clean. Other reviewers mentioned the noise at the front of the hotel however during our stay it was very quiet.

The breakfast at the hotel was quite basic, that is if you prefer a variety of cooked breakfast. However the evening meals were varied and of a very good quality. The dining room is non smoking. Entertainment at the hotel was limited to a keyboard instrumental in the bar area which was a smoking area.

Wengen itself is a very pretty village with easy access to all the surrounding area. Although it snowed for 3 days out of the 7, and we were not skiing, it did not spoil our enjoyment of the area and did not stop us walking and visiting this beautiful part of Switzerland.

To conclude the hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff very friendly, really could find no fault with the hotel apart from a few small details noted above.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pattyh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

Very cosy & friendly hotel. Came here for a weekend for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Unknown to us our children upgraded us to a larger room. Very comfortable, spacious & clean, every night we had a chocolate on our pillows. Bathroom was neat & clean. Overlooked the valley & slight views over the Jungfrau. We were unlucky with the weather but in some respects was fascinating cos we had mist/clouds that would come up from the valley and envelope the whole of Wengen, you couldn't even see the gondolas, then would disappear only to reappear.

The breakfasts had a very good selection, ranging from juices to cerials to fruit to sausages, bacon & eggs etc., in fact all that you could want. Self service & 2nds or more if you are that way inclined. The waitresses were very polite and helpful. Evening meal was also satisfactory with a piano player, very nice.
The hotel manager was seen around the hotel and very pleasant. He even helped serve on the evening it was a buffet meal. Not afraid to get his hands dirty. He was also on site when we arrived and offered us a welcome juice drink whilst booking in. Overall a thoroughly nice stay & wouldn't hesitate in recommending or returning here

  • Stayed: September 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shirleyknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2006

We went to Wengen for a ski week.Wengen is a car free village and the Sunstar is conveniently located near the station and across from the Gondola.We had a room overlooking the main street. Not a problem in winter but might be noisy in summer. The more expensive rooms overlook the valley.Like many European hotels the room was small but nicely furnished. Bathroom was only for one person at a time. Food was generally good with a choice of a vegetarian entree every dinner.The hotel is very child friendly.It even has special family rooms on the fourth floor with a loft sleeping area.
As expected in Switzerland the staff were very professional. With a little prodding they provided good service.For instance they had no schedule for the trains to the Jungfrau but when asked looked it up on the internet. One gripe the internet acess in the hotel is a rip off. Don't use it. Go to the bar next to the post office where the price of a drink will get you free internet connection.

9  Thank toffeenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, California
215
Reviewed October 3, 2005

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights at the Sunstar a couple of weeks ago and were very pleased with our stay.

On the first night, our room faced the village, and we found that it was incredibly noisy starting at about 5 a.m. when the town started to come alive. We asked for a different room, and the hotel graciously accommodated our request and placed us in a beautiful room that wasn't on the village side and had an amazing mountain view.

The breakfast was superb, and the staff were extremely helpful. I would highly recommend the hotel because of its convenience to the train station and location within the town (though the town is small enough that just about anywhere is a close walk!).

I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#11 of 20 in Wengen
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#4 of 20 in Wengen
391 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#9 of 20 in Wengen
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $183 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing