We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holiday review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Having stayed at the Sunstar in Wengen on 3 occasions, i can highly recommend this hotel. The food is fantastic, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The facilities are brilliant, especially the pool and steam bath, which i loved. There is a lovely atmosphere at this hotel. It is very comfortable, the bar is cosy and welcoming. Is perfectly situated to train station and Mannlichen cable car for transport the the many walking possibilites in this area. Congatulations to Oliver and Katya for being superb hosts.
Mrs Gillian Lothian

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    105
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
196
208
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I visited Wengen for the first time and found the Sunstar to be an excellent base for a walking holiday. Location next to the Mannlichen cable car and near to the railway station meant that access to the many lovely walks in the area couldn't have been easier. Our room was clean and comfortable, the balcony was worth the supplement and the free mini bar was a bonus. Food was good and the management and staff were friendly and most helpful. Swimming pool was immaculately maintained and quiet in June. The hotel had a relaxed and informal feel to it and we certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: Go for a valley view and enjoy a seat on your balcony with a good book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMcK395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at the Sunstar. I initially chose it as I could have a single room without a supplement. They gave my friend and I good comfortable rooms with a terrace. It is a quiet and peacful location just what was needed with caring staff and a helpful Manager.
One thing I would comment on is that they take in brief stays from package tours passing through. This puts some pressure on staff to deal with large numbers.
I would use the Sunstar again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia123Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is the seventh year that my wife and I have gone to the Sunstar for our summer holiday. We again experienced everything that we expected - a warm welcome the director, his family and staff, good food, a comfortable room, (the 3rd floor one we had asked for). Even the weather cooperated, and we were able to enjoy the valley view in the afternoon sun, relaxing on the balcony with our beer from the free minibar. I enjoyed swimming in the 17 metre pool morning and evening (clocking up over 10 kilometres during our 11 night stay). New this year was the sauna - an inviting way to relax tired limbs.

Room Tip: To get the afternoon sun pay extra for the valley view, and forego the view of the Jungfrau and Mann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knarft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

While not having the ritzy new 5 star appearance my wife and I were pleasantly surprised with our stay.
Oliver and his staff went out of their way to make sure that our stay was very enjoyable.
The bedrooms were very clean and you are sure of a good nights sleep. The service was top quality and dinner was looked forward to each evening. We were lucky to be there during the start of the Euro football and the craic in the bar was good fun.
The location of the Hotel to the railway station is vey helpful and if you are lucky enough to get good weather this Hotel will more than satisfy the most critical visitor

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and like to sleep with the window open as for a front elevation window th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed there while hiking with another couple. Oliver greeted us and was very friendly and explained the hotel and the area to us. The rooms were very clean and the beds were great. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcsmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just returned from our fourth visit to the Sunstar and it was wonderful. We found that the hotel continues to maintain it's high standards in every aspect. The staff are very friendly and professional which makes your stay very enjoyable. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean,the restaurant offers a varied selection of well cooked foods and you have the use of the swimming pool with it's stunning views of the mountains.The hotel is in a good location with the cable car opposite and just a short walk away you have a frequent train service. We would highly recommend this hotel to everyone who requires that extra special holiday experience.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor valley view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saniangem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#6 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#10 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#9 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing