We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun in Wengen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun in Wengen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and  have been staying at the Sunstar for the last 25 years and have always found it a very comfortable hotel to stay in. It's well positioned right in the centre of the picturesque village of Wengen. It's a short walk from the train station and the cable car is just across the street.
The food and the service is excellent and nothing is too much for the staff .The manager Oliver makes sure that everything runs smoothly, which is not an easy task in a busy hotel.
In the evenings sitting in the lounge where there's relaxing music played by a wonderful musician.  We've spent many special times in that lounge.
The swimming pool has terrific views of the mountains and after a sauna or a steam bath or both if you choose you'll feel pretty good!!
We always enjoy our stay at the Sunstar.

Room Tip: Only stayed at the back of the hote& it's very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyB186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    105
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
197
210
44
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Just got back from a week in Wengen, we went with friends who had stayed at the Sunstar before. As everyone says it's brilliantly located, the food is excellent and the service is smart, friendly, informal and highly organised.

Oliver runs a very happy team who just can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable. The overall effect is the quality and service that you would expect in a 5 star full service hotel.

Well done - most enjoyable. The skiing was quite good too (absolute beginner).

Dee

Room Tip: For a room with a mountain view you need to pay the extra, worth it for the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flackwell Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful family ski holiday in Wengen. This was my 6th visit to the Sunstar and again I was NOT disappointed. The location is ideal, in the centre of the town, close to all shops and restaurants. The childrens slopes are a few minutes walk and the ski lifts and train station are also minutes away. The staff were as ever very polite, the room was immaculate and the food was superb. I will definitely be booking our family ski holiday for the Sunstar again next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAustin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We just returned from a week skiing in Wengen and stayed at the Sunstar. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, the location in the centre of the village is perfect for the ski hire, Manlichen lift and the meeting points for all the kids ski schools. In addition the hotel itself manages to create a smart and high class service without being at all pretentious. We travelled with our young children who were made to feel very welcome buy all the professional and attentive staff.

The only issue we have with recommending the Sunstar is that we dont want anyone else to find out how good it is so we can keep it for ourselves!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We have been to the Sunstar for the last six years - five years during Feb half term and one year at New Year's. We have children who are now 14 and 11 and the swimming pool, the sauna and steam room and the location right by the Mannlichen lift make this hotel hard to beat.
We stay in one of the duplex rooms - it has a balcony, a sleeping area for the adults up a short flight of stairs and the main room sofa is turned into bunk beds for the kids for them to sleep on at night. As another reviewer noted, our room had also been refurbished with a new sofa and new carpet.
With a large breakfast and four course dinner, we only need a small snack at lunch time to keep us going. As the Swiss Ski School only teaches until 1pm it is very important to have the pool etc to lounge about if the kids aren't up to skiing all afternoon for the whole week.
We have always found the staff to be very accommodating and Oliver and Katja (the hosts) do everything they can to make a wonderful atmosphere. (Their second child is expected soon so the children's play room will continue to be well staffed!) They put on good activities that you can take up if you want (skiing with Oliver, cross bow, curling, kitchen tour, wine tasting, tobogganing...) or just do your own thing if you want - no pressure to join in.
We find the food to be very good and our younger child still enjoys the children's meals which can either be eaten as high tea or with the adults.
Many other people return year after year, despite the strength of the Swiss franc - so they must be doing something right!

Room Tip: Rooms on the valley side are quieter. If going at New Year, the town stays lively until 4am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2beesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

The Sunstar is an excellent choice of hotel for a family skiing holiday. This is our second visit in as many years. The hotel is perfectly situated on the main street in Wengen close to the ski hire shops,Ski School meeting places, cable car and railway station. The hotel is modern and yet retains a traditonal rustic feel about it.
Oliver the Hotel manager personally greets arriving guests with a glass of Gluhwein and a welcoming chat about the Hotel.
The staff are all relatively young and eager to please with a smile.
The family room was refurbished from our visit last year and was bright and very clean.
Breakfast is a pre-ski treat with everything from healthy option fruit, yoghurt and muesli to eggs (cooked to order just as you like),bacon and sausage.
The evening meal offers a choice plus a vegetarian option as well as a children's buffet. The food was excellent all week with the highlight being the Farmer's Buffet which was a treat for any carnivore- the Venison Goulash mit Rosti was historic! They also carry a good selection of Swiss wines which are well worth trying along with a fine selection of local cheeses.
If I had one gripe it would be that the ski boot room is small and difficult to navigate in the morning rush but I find this a problem in many ski resort hotels.
Overall a perfect family choice in a beautiful part of the world. We have booked for a third year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidKlammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Same week, same hotel, year after year! We love coming to sunstar wengen - the warm welcome, comfortable beds, excellent food, good facilities après ski (sauna, steam, pool). Friendly, engaged staff - great team spirit. Proximity to skiing is great - lift within 3 minute walk. We look forward to same time next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 21 in Wengen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schoenegg
Hotel Schoenegg
#5 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Address: Dorfstrasse | 3823 Wengen, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing