We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a proper German Austrian spa - beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a proper German Austrian spa - beware”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Sunstar several times a few years ago, with pleasure. In January 2011 we returned with two grandchildren. We found the hotel had abandoned its once very good spa and converted it into a steam bath full of English adolescents in swimming costumes who used the swimming pool as their plunge bath. It was both unhygenic and unpleasant. In the past, the hotel made it clear to guests that, for reasons of hygiene, they could not use the spa wearing swimming costumes. This has been abandoned. Despite the hotel's other strengths, we will not return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CEvans451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    106
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
197
211
45
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We had a wonderful time in Wengen, and the Sunstar hotel had much to do with that. The service here is outstanding, exceeding what I would expect at a 5-star establishment. The owner introduces himself to all the guests, and went out of his way on trying to help us plan our excursions. My daughter is allergic to dairy and could only drink soymilk, so the waitstaff immediately promised to go out and buy some specifically for her. When talking with another waitstaff member about hiking with our 3-year old, she offered lending us her own jogging stroller that she uses for her little one! The exceedingly friendly and helpful staff cannot be beat. The facilities are also comprehensive and perfect for families - a playroom for kids, an outdoor trampoline, lots of DVDs for movie nights, and an indoor heated swimming pool. Inclusive breakfast and optional dinners made life so easy. The only challenge we had were that the rooms were a bit small for a family of five (we stayed in a duplex) and because it was so warm and there was no air conditioning, our room on the top level of the hotel stayed pretty warm. This is a great value gem for families visiting during the non-peak ski season!

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the clock tower - it rings every 15 minutes even in the middle of the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacDonaldE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

First of all, Wengen is an absolute must if travelling in this area. If you go, the Sunstar is a very nice option. The service/staff are very friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel is perfect, on the main street, two minutes from the train station.

The rooms are "okay" although the bathrooms are quite small. If you can get a room facing the mountains, you won't be disappointed. The balconies in the rooms overlook a truly sensational landscape.

The other key thing in this hotel is the pool, quite a large one in fact. It is ideal for swimming after a long day of hiking or walking. The pool, like the rest of the hotel is clean and well maintained.

The food at the restaurant is good, not great, but certainly good. The breakfasts are excellent, and the dinners adequate. However, the restaurant is still one of the best in the town, so there aren't many options for truly "fine dining."

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Visited the Sunstar in February with my family for a weeks skiing. We frequently travel throughout Europe and stay in hotels ranging from budget airport hotels to 5 star establishments and generally you know from the price you pay the level of quality you expect as a return. Unfortunately the Sunstar has left us all feeling let down.

Positives:
1. location is very good, opposite the mannlichen cable car and a few mins walk from the train station.
2. Staff were generally friendly
3. Beds comfortable

Negatives:
1. We paid for a superior duplex room, valley/south facing. Furnishings were very basic, nothing matched. Pull out sofa beds were worn and indeed ripped on the corners when used as a sofa. As a contrast we have stayed in a 3 star hotel in interlaken for considerably less money but far better furnished.
Room temperature was borderline and altering temperature dials on radiators had no effect.
2. Noise. Sound carries through the corridors very easily. We visited during term time so the amount of children in the resort was far lower
than during half term, however we seemed to have our fair share of noisy families on our floor which could make for a restless night after a long day skiing.
3. Meals. Whilst the quality of food in general was good both the level of service and imagination in the menu most evenings left us feeling short.our party was placed in a side room which was once again generally cold and service some evenings was poor. The childrens buffet was pretty much the same offering night in night out. Breakfast was probably the least impressive meal where the variety was lacking. It also tended to feature some leftover fruit cocktail from the previous evening.
4. The whole hotel feels like it had the accountant go in. Main lounge/ bar area yes features a nice log fire (which is good because once again radiators were cold) but furnishings are out of place (whicker style conservatory furniture) and the whole area feels spartan, not cosy and inviting. It also acts as a thoroughfare for the childrens play area which when live music is being performed in the evening is a totally unrealistic combination; that of screaming kids running around whilst somebody tries to perform. On this note this happened every evening and no member of staff even made an attempt to control the situation, in the end my family (including my 6 year old daughter who knew how to behave and try and enjoy the music) would go up to our rooms earlier than planned.
5. Swimming pool. Yes I agree with earlier reviews about the water temperature not being adequate.

To sum up. We were definitely charged 4 star prices but the standard of finish and what is offered just doesn't warrant it in my opinion. Rooms definitely need a ref-fit. It feels also like they play the 'green', 'Eco-friendly' angle a little too much. For a four star hotel I expect at the very least to be warm or have the ability to make the room warmer.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Uktravelcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

A week's early spring walking holiday at the very comfortable Sunstar, right in the centre of Wengen. Spotlessly clean, food excellent with good choice available and always very nicely presented - the breakfast buffet was particularly good. A welcoming gluwhein during check-in, 6 bottles of soft drinks and a beer in the free minibar (single room) were replenished every day, as were the coffee and tea facilities in the room. A large bowl of fruit was available in the foyer, as was free internet access and a 'Welcome Drink' in the bar whilst the wide programme of activities (mostly free) during the week were outlined. The bedroom was very clean and comfortable, with a large balcony with table and chairs - the bathroom was large, modern and well stocked, with towels changed frequently. A choice of 6 pillows was available and everything had been thought of - safe, blackout blinds, shoehorn, umbrella, weather forecast for next day left on your pillow with a sweet - even your own rubber duck on a nest made from a face cloth ! A bathrobe was provided which was very useful when going to use the excellent pool, which has mountain views - cool when you first get in, because the pool area, with sun loungers, is quite warm but you soon acclimatise when swimming - with steam room, sunbed and massage available and loads of fluffy towels. All the staff were so nice and helpful - nothing too much trouble. There were a number of families with young children / babies who were also well catered for with high chairs and baby listening service and a play room / videos for the older children. An excellent holiday and I will definitely be staying here again. Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amarillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We visited for a week of skiing in mid March 2011 - the snow wasn't great, but our stay at the Sunstar Wengen more than made up for it.

Unusually for a hotel, there was little to complain about! The service, in particular, stood out for me - the owner / GM made a tremendous effort to engage the guests and this came across in the excellent service delivered by his team. The hotel had a full programme of events, from a night out in a mountain hut (with raclette and schnapps) to a guided tour of the Lauberhorn ski run. We didn't take much advantage of the event programme, other than a very entertaining authentic Swiss band playing bells and a broomstick with spoons! There was live music in the bar every night and a nice log fire.

The room was great - pretty modern, with a TV, sofa, complimentary mini-bar, bathroom, balcony, kettle, etc - very comfortable and very quiet at night (Wengen is quiet anyway, but the valley view rooms are very peaceful).

We opted for the half board option - we had the same table assigned in the restaurant each night. The restaurant atmosphere was fine, the food was excellent, even for a fuss pot like me, and the service was superb. Definitely worth it, particularly as restaurant options in Wengen are somewhat limited.

The steam room and pool are good quality and modern and not full of screaming kids - very welcome after a hard day's skiing.

Location is very close (1 minute walk) to the main cable car to the slopes, which is handy, and not far away from Wengen station (3 minute walk) which provides alternative access to the slopes (included in lift pass) and also to Lauterbrunnen station (the way home).

You really won't be disappointed with this place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSurbitonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

A great hotel in the mountains! The staff was incredibly welcoming and the manager made an extraordinary effort to welcome all guests. They operate as a resort of sorts for many visitors. I met several people during my 5 night stay who come back every year. The breakfast is delicious and extensive and the half board program is well worthwhile with what I would consider fine dining. It's not the Ritz but delectable alpine food and a variety of dishes. There is a wonderful pool (while many reviewers complain about the "cold" temps, it is actually a very good lap pool for fitness enthusiasts. The pool is just the right temperature for swimming. If you want to bath, find a hot tub.) The pool is about 18m long and great for laps. The free internet terminal in the lobby is much appreciated and if you have a laptop they didn't seem to mind plugging into the Ethernet connection.

The mini bar contents are free and restocked every day.

The best lemon-lime sorbet, made fresh in the kitchen, that I have ever tasted. The Wednesday night Swiss- food buffet and native music is a fun excuse to stay indoors and experience some local history and culture.

The only issue I would say I found the elevator to be outdated and noisy, and the hotel walls are perhaps not insulated against noise as much as they could be. Therefore it was somewhat noisy at night and I would strongly suggest trying to get a room as far away from the elevator as possible.

This is a great hotel and I will return there the next time I visit Wengen next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon_the_Traveller_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 20 in Wengen
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#6 of 20 in Wengen
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Address: Dorfstrasse, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#3 Family Hotel in Wengen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional Sunstar Hotel Wengen**** is in a central location in this car-free resort, just opposite the Mannlichen cable-car. The rooms, decorated with light-coloured wood, have beautiful views either of the mountains and down the valley towards the south or of the village and the Mannlichen. Families like the duplex rooms on two floors. Rooms in certain categories have a balcony. The lavish breakfast and all the delicacies on the 4-course dinner menu can be enjoyed in the "La Residence" restaurant. The lounge with its open fire and the bar are inviting places to chat and relax. When you want to unwind, there's an indoor pool with steam bath and sauna. The quiet, car-free resort of Wengen, with its typical wooden houses and lovingly preserved traditional features, is situated on a sunny and sheltered mountain terrace - an idyllic holiday paradise for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wengen Sunstar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing