We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Restaurant Caprice

Restaurant Caprice
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Swiss, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our fine-dining gourmet restaurant overlooking the Jungfrau massif is a warmly lit room, fitted with plush banquettes and discrete seating arrangements. Most tables have wonderful views of the Jungfrau and surrounding mountains, with their ever changing scenery. Our large south-facing sun terrace offers stupendous views of the Jungfrau mountain and the valley below. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We also serve lunch (and in summer also dinner) on the terrace during the many fine weather days. The dinner menus change daily, and offer great gourmet delights. Our Executive Chef, Floris van der Spek, and his team are looking forward to preparing you a delightful dinner.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had dinner twice at the Caprice restaurant mainly because we liked it a lot the first night.
The food was very good and the service was excellent! Definitely good value for money considering Switzerland is expensive!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yaniglez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    14
    3
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Restaurant Review Hotel Caprice”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had wanted to try the restaurant during our stay in Wengen in early August. We were not staying at the hotel but in a nearby chalet. Unfortunately the restaurant only serves a set menu and only 5 courses. It caters to meat eaters predominantly. There was a vegetarian option but no fish on the days we were in Wengen (not just one day but I checked on several). However I see today it actually has a meat, fish and vegetarian option - maybe in response to customers. What the restaurant clearly fails to realise is that not everyone wants numerous courses or has a huge appetite. No a la carte was available and the waitress/manager on duty when we visited believes all hotels in the SLH group only offer set menus. (She was rather rude in her delivery of this message, even after we had left the hotel chasing us down the road). Her statement was incorrect and even on SLH website it is quoted that Restaurant Caprice "offers a la carte". So with a price tag of CHF70 (GBP50/US$76) for someone wanting and only able to eat one course this is expensive. Thus we went else where to a highly recommended restaurant in Hotel Baeren, only a few minutes walk from Caprice. Not cheap but Baeren staff plus food were excellent and we could have what we wanted and not what the restaurant wanted to serve en mass to clients.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajnmail, Owner at Restaurant Caprice, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Juliet_Dubai,
Thank you very much for your review of Restaurant Caprice, which gave me a lot of concern. So much so that I have changed the entire Kitchen Team, and I am thrilled to announce that we have 2 new Chefs, the Executive Chef having been Sous Chef at 2 Michelin Star restaurants. Initial response from our clients has been that the food is now outstanding, and one customer texted me yesterday to say "The fillet of beef with truffle jus was truly sensational!"
I know that you are a fish eater, and I am very pleased to announce that from this weekend we have introduced an a la Carte menu, which features 2 fish starters and at least 1 fish main course.
We are also serving a 3 course Menu, which changes every day, at the very competitive price of 39 Francs ($43.50) for Hotel Residents. I would be delighted if you would come back and try our lovely restaurant again, and I would guarantee that you will be amazed by the food that we are now serving. Alan J Norris. - Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rudeness and bad food”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I guess food quality is relative to expectations, experience and personal palate. But there are basic service requirements that waiters in a restaurant of a well-regarded hotel of a well-regarded Alpine resort should meet: they should dont accuse their guests of not finishing their meal, and they should not refuse to check with the kitchen whether individual changes to the menu can be accomodated.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marrakech12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“School dinners”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The soup was coloured with food colouring and the main course was covered with a packet sauce. Not good value for money.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiago
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“one of the best meals in Wengen, but not cheap”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The food was wonderful, the view is absolutely spectacular and the service was great as well. It was a fixed menu and you were given the option of how many courses, we chose 3 and they bought the fourth by mistake, which the waiter promptly recognized as his mistake but told us to enjoy it. We were actually so full that it was hard to enjoy, but not often do you get that level of service!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank juancit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Caprice also viewed

Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Restaurant Caprice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing