We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personable service but outdated for 4 star hotel”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Personable service but outdated for 4 star hotel”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night at the hotel Regina. We chose the hotel because we wanted to stay in Wengen and because the price for the night was in our range (200chf).

The location of the hotel cannot be beat. It's a 2 minute walk up to the hotel and a porter meets you at the train station to drive your luggage up. This was top service! We were warmly greeted at the hotel and personally showed where our ski gear should be kept. We also received a good explanation of what was included at the hotel and we were given many brochures as well.

The room itself (#608) was a disappointment for being a four star hotel. It had old carpeting, a tv from the 90's, a small bathroom, and no lotion in the bathroom. I would classify this hotel as cute, old and charming but not luxurious. It had the basics in the room. The upsides to the room were that it had a great view of the mountains and the glacier from the balcony, the beds were comfortable, and it was clean.

Additionally I enjoyed the pianist that they hire to play in the evenings. There were hardly any guests when we stayed there so we were the only ones listening to him. We ordered dessert while sitting by a beautiful fire they made while listening to the pianist. This was really romantic and we felt that we were attended to really well!

The next morning we were brought breakfast in bed. Apparently the buffet wasn't happening that morning so they asked us to have it in our room. It was a 3 star breakfast. We ordered eggs, croissants, fruit salad, ovalmatine, and coffee. It came on a silver platter and was nicely presented. There was plenty enough or everything they brought so you felt you got enough to eat. Additionally was great quality (especially the fresh crusty croissants!) except for the fruit salad. It was clearly from a can, the kind with maraschino cherries. It looked awful and it's the reason I gave the breakfast 3 stars. The ovalmatine was also a bit cool by the time we received it.

Lastly we really enjoyed Mr.Meyer's dog, Caramel. He was so sweet and we took him out for a walk one morning. Be careful, he tries to walk the guests instead of the other way around.

All in all the Meyers have a charming, old, but clean hotel. Many parts are outdated and could use renovations. All in all I felt we paid a little too much for our stay since it was low season. But the service was truly personable and Mr Meyer has hired a very attentive staff!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nmcotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    56
    25
    17
    22
See reviews for
61
88
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I came here with my dad who had been twice before, last 10 years ago. The food was fantastic, both our rooms were quaint, very clean and recently updated. Both rooms had balconies with fantastic views. The furniture wasn't brand new but fitted in well with the old style of the hotel. The darkness of the rooms didn't really bother me but dad found it difficult to read the paper! Maybe some spot lights as optional extra lighting would be good, but the bathroom was lovely and bright. Mr Meyer was obviously very proud of his hotel and all staff very accommodating, including Caramel the dog who was gorgeous! Everyone went out of their way to help.

All in all a very good hotel. I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Although rating it very good, it is not a hotel we will return to. We chose it as we had been there for a business meeting in the late 1990s, had hazy but OK memories from our stay and it was the only decent hotel open for our trip dates; just before the season started.

The 'Very Good' represents a mixture of both ''Excellent' and 'Pretty Poor' and the former does not outweigh the latter for us. The excellent items are the location, especially if you have a room with a view of the Jungfrau mountain, the high levels of personal service, the quality of the food; for both adults and children and a reasonably priced wine list. In these respects they could not do enough for us. The owner, Mr Meyer, went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay; but for two nights we three seemed to be the only guests.

On the other hand our room (all the rooms??) had not been updated since, we think, the 1960s. Dark gloomy bedroom, with insufficient lights. It was a struggle to find enough electrical sockets to re-charge our various devices, without losing the lights. The bathroom was very small, had dark brown tiles, no extractor fan or radiator. And the main door lock was so temperamental that on one day it wouldn't lock when we left the room and on another the chambermaids' master key wouldn't open it so we had to let them in!!

And in 2013 hotel guests should expect free Wi-Fi throughtout a hotel, not a very intermittent free service in the lobby; only if you stood very close to the router behind the bar! And on the first night, after a long journey from home, it would have been good if the draft beer pump had worked in the bar. But as the owner said, when you are in Wengen getting good service from engineers can be a bit hit and miss due to the relative inaccesibilty of the village!!

We think the owner has chosen the 'style' of the hotel deliberately and that is his choice. But it is a shame that the 'excellent' elements are not matched throughout the whole hotel.

Room Tip: Room 308 is a gloomy one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonBlueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

For travellers looking for common international five-star-standard this might not be the right place. There are many details that dont meet the newest standards. For travellers like me who appreciate individual and historical places it is perfect.

The room we were given must be one of the most beautiful Hotel rooms I ever had and certainly the first one with two balconies, both with absolutely breathtaking views at the Bernese alps. Unlike some other parts of the building our room was also quite recently renovated. The staff was very Kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carignano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for one week in the Hotel Regina while hiking daily in the beautiful surroundings. This is an Old World Hotel with Old World Service. The staff - all of them - were incredibly nice and helpful. The owner and his wife would come by our dinner table every night and made it clear that they would do whatever it took to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Although I agree with a previous reviewer that in some areas the hotel shows its age, I stopped noticing these things after the first day because I was so taken with the ambiance of the whole place, the service and the attitude of all the staff. They really made you feel special. After our week in Wengen, I went to Italy for a business meeting and stayed at what I consider to be the opposite of Hotel Regina - a new resort in Tuscany where the hotel looked flawless but where the service was completely impersonal and many things were automated. I looked back at my time in Wengen and realized why it was so special.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the Jungfrau
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photini17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was our first trip to the Bernese Oberland, and to Wengen. The hotel is stately and grand on many levels (the foyer and dining room) but there is an amount of "faded glory" to it that many travelers may not appreciate if they are looking for perfection. There is charm and grace to this hotel, the lobby, bar area, and dining room are beautiful and relaxing to lounge around in. The owner's dog "Caramel" even warmly greets you upon arrival at the desk! Everyone working at the hotel was very courteous and kind, including the owner Mr. Meyer. The room was nice and clean, with a very large bathroom....we had a room that had a balcony overlooking two sides of the town and Lauterbrunnen valley....simply breathtaking and beautiful! Yes, the room could have been more updated, but it was clean and very spacious (compared to hotels in major European cities) and served all our purposes. We had breakfast on the days we were there, and they had a nice selection of items, all very well prepared. We also had dinner one evening in the restaurant, very pricey (but then again what isn't in Switzerland!) but the food was delicious. There are not too many places to dine in Wengen, so eating at the restaurant was a nice treat.
Overall, I think this hotel is a very nice and was well worth the price. If you want a shiny, new hotel with a modern feel, this is not the place for you. If you appreciate some history and don't need everything to be the latest in fashionable decor, then I think you will enjoy this gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaseA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Regina-Wengen once before, on our first trip to Switzerland. We enjoyed that stay as well as this one. This time, when we checked-in, we were met by Owner-Manager Guido Meyer at the front desk where he informed us, due to the demands of several group bookings, that we were being upgraded to the Magdalena Suite for our six night stay. This was, indeed, a very nice surprise.

Our stay was made special by the attention given to us by the front-desk staff and dining room staff, especially Phillip and Peter.

While an old hotel, our suite was well-appointed, with a very comfortable king bed, a bath with a full-sized walk-in shower with an oversized rain-water showerhead, a large claw-foot tub and tons of towels for our up to two showers per day (we are avid hikers).

Thanks go out to all who made our trip to Wengen/Lauterbrunnen/Jungfrau extra special. Oh! And six days of full sun certainly didn't hurt!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laz1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#7 of 20 in Wengen
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#10 of 20 in Wengen
363 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#8 of 20 in Wengen
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Wengen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Zentrum, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to Hotel Regina in Wengen, situated in our beautiful little country of Switzerland, more specifically in the Bernese Alps. Ever since this splendid building was constructed in 1894, Hotel Regina has welcomed guests from all four corners of the world. It is strategically placed in a dominant position, allowing for spectacular views of the surrounding mountains, most notably the Jungfrau and the Silberhorn, as well as a plunging view of the Lauterbrunnen Valley and its impressive waterfalls. We're very lucky to have the talented head chef Mickaël Cochet (rated 16/20 by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide) on our team. We invite you to discover our beautiful Restaurants 2 gourmet Restaurants 16 Gault & Millau " Chez Meyer's" and "La Bulle" The main restaurant "Jack's Brasserie" along with an excellent wine list.Jack's Brasserie (with an excellent wine list) In 2004, this Victorian-style hotel property was classified and recognised by the Swiss Heritage Fund. The hotel offers rooms with balconies or terraces with unique panoramic views. Furthermore, the Jungfrau-Aletsch region is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, granting us exceptional value. The gentle blend of clean air, fine food and grandeur form the perfect backdrop for summer or winter sports. We are convinced that Hotel Regina is a magnificent place, that cradles you in an atmosphere of tradition and magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing