We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old European style in a stunning valley”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here three times in 2005 and 2006. The skiing is out of this world. Can ski 8km from Kleine Scheidegg to Grindelwald. Tobogganing world class. The valley is the most beautiful in Europe. Rooms are old but very comfortable. Where else in the world can one wake up and see Silberhorn? Wonderful food for half board, enormous buffet breakfast, top class dinners. Am perplexed by some of the other reviews here. Not modern but brilliant. My only gripe was that internet access was far too expensive.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank mojeevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Regina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 240 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a fine well founded large hotel with tradition and family history. Guido Meyer, his family and staff welcome, serve and guide their guests very well without being intrusive. Our room was large, well furnished although some modern travellers might wish for more mod-cons. Although useful, I am not sure they would enhance the Regina experience. The location, a few minutes from the village and Wengenalp railway station is a great advantage for expeditions. The food is brilliant.

Room Tip: Request a south facing room with balcony as that will have a fabulous view of the mountains
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This large Swiss hotel offered a room with an unbelievable balcony view, a cozy living room lounge with a crackling fireplace, an interesting basement boutique, and the personal touch and service of Guido Meyer and his daughter. They offer helpful advice about where to hike, weather forecasts and train information. We really enjoyed our three days and nights in Wengen and at The Hotel Regina. Breakfast overlooking the Alps was included. If there wasn't so much to do and so much spectacular scenery, I could have curled up with a book and a bottle of wine in front of that fire.

Room Tip: Our corner room on the fourth floor (I think it was Room # 407) had two balconys and offered views o...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is nice, a friend recommended it. I have to admit though, the decor is old fashioned all around the hotel, specifically in the rooms. The food is amazing!!! They really deserve their Michelin star. It is a nice place for couples and families, the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is great!! 10/10 *******WONDERFUL!!

Room Tip: As always, the more you pay the nicer the room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaBella544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We recently attended a friends wedding in Wengen held at the Hotel Regina. The hotel is owned and run by by Guido and his family. We were absolutely mermerised by their hospitality, warmth and attention to detail for the occassion and our stay there. Guido and his family are delightful, charming and welcoming! I travel regularly for business and pleasure, I have to say this is one of the few hotels, were we experienced a warmth like no other! The food in the resturant is excellent and views are truly magnificant! Surrounded by the beautiful scenery, which is a real life postcard coupled with their warmth - it was truly an exceptional experience! Many thanks Guido and family, we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We chose the Regina based on a personal recommendation and we were not disappointed ! The hotel location was ideal for our choice of a walking holiday with luxuries included. We stayed on half board basis, the food was top quality well presented and varied throughout the week. We found all the staff to be friendly and welcoming but the host in particular made sure our stay was enjoyable and also shared his local knowledge to ensure we made the most of our walking trips. The hotel itself is old but has real character and must have one of, if not the best, dining room view in the Alps ! Our room was comfortable, clean and the service was very good. We would definitely recommend the Regina to others.

Room Tip: South and West facing rooms have the best views
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We recently returned to Switerland , bringing our adult son. The Regina was the perfect choice. It is old fashioned, quiet and welcoming. We had adjoining rooms,which were of good size ,nicely decorated and more than sufficient for our needs. Our large rom had much more storage space than most, and sufficient plugs for our many electronics (cameras,cell phones,computers,erc) again,not always the case for older hotels. Our son's room was small but sufficient.
Breakfast was lovely,with a broad selection and eggs cooked to order.
Dinner was a drawn out and formal affair (if that is not to your taste, walk about two minutes and find a quick meal.) The view is god,with the quiet sounds of goat and cowbells if you listen. The small cog rail does run nearby,but it never bothered us and we often had the window open. The halls are dim when the light is out,but it is very easy to put on.
Our hosts were warm and helpful,giving us ideas just off the beaten path that's worked out well.
We recommend Regina to one and all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NE_Scout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wengen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#11 of 20 in Wengen
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#8 of 20 in Wengen
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: Zentrum, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wengen
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Wengen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wengen
Price Range: $300 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to introduce you to Hotel Regina in Wengen, situated in our beautiful little country of Switzerland, more specifically in the Bernese Alps. Ever since this splendid building was constructed in 1894, Hotel Regina has welcomed guests from all four corners of the world. It is strategically placed in a dominant position, allowing for spectacular views of the surrounding mountains, most notably the Jungfrau and the Silberhorn, as well as a plunging view of the Lauterbrunnen Valley and its impressive waterfalls. We're very lucky to have the talented head chef Mickaël Cochet (rated 16/20 by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide) on our team. We invite you to discover our beautiful Restaurants 2 gourmet Restaurants 16 Gault & Millau " Chez Meyer's" and "La Bulle" The main restaurant "Jack's Brasserie" along with an excellent wine list.Jack's Brasserie (with an excellent wine list) In 2004, this Victorian-style hotel property was classified and recognised by the Swiss Heritage Fund. The hotel offers rooms with balconies or terraces with unique panoramic views. Furthermore, the Jungfrau-Aletsch region is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, granting us exceptional value. The gentle blend of clean air, fine food and grandeur form the perfect backdrop for summer or winter sports. We are convinced that Hotel Regina is a magnificent place, that cradles you in an atmosphere of tradition and magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Wengen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing