We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant restaurant with good food, but limited menu.”

Hotel Restaurant Baeren
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $44
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Regional, seasonal and fresh We will treat you to regional and international delicacies in our Restaurant Baren, Wengen. Our dishes are prepared using fresh and seasonal regional produce. Vegetarians and lovers of fish will also find some dishes here. To accompany your meals, we serve numerous fine speciality wines from Switzerland. A fine meal with friends Celebrate a birthday quietly or in style with many friends. Raise your glasses to a successful business year. Maybe a romantic dinner for two. Our restaurant can accommodate your very personal needs. Mountain air and active living promote a healthy appetite Definitely a case for the Baren kitchen. Our experienced team will solve your case with culinary finesse and quality ingredients. A taste experience for those who delight in variety. The result: Regional and original, a modern interpretation. Wine for every taste In our cellars you will only find fine European wines. We focus on Switzerland, Italy, France and Spain. There is something here for every taste and budget. We are happy to give you a recommendation and all of our wines are also available to take with you.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pleasant restaurant with good food, but limited menu.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went on curry night and of our party did not like curry and the restaurant could not help with an alternative. Otherwise the food was good quality.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    43
    7
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had the set four course meal every night for six days and enjoyed all of the selections. Some of the dishes took me out of my comport zone but what the heck, give it a try. I was not unhappy once. The one thing I was always pleasantly surprised by was how crisp and fresh the salads were everyday.
The staff in the restaurant are very professional and are glad to help with any questions or to give suggestions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ghostkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Probably the Best Restaurant in Wengen”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is the most highly rated restaurant in Wengen and deservedly so. It is an attractive place (when the weather permits you can sit on the patio and look at the Top of Europe) with good, attentive service, but you will pay for what you get.

Four of us ate there and were all satisfied with our entrees. Two had entrecots of veal which they liked a lot. A third--a picky eater--had the sirloin and ate it all. I had sliced lamb, which was nicely cooked and sauced. The rosti that accompanied the lamb was mediocre. One nice thing about this place is that most entrees come in small and large portions. I don't think we could have afforded to eat there more than once, but we were glad we visited that time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plainsrefugee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cangas de Onis, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food in a welcoming environment”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a really enjoyable dinner here ... good, friendly service, very good Swiss wine and a great set menu containing both traditional, local fayre and an interesting and very polished Thai twist to one of the courses! Praising the kitchen on our way out, the waitress rapidly reported our satisfaction to the chef who came out directly to have a chat with us. All in all a very pleasant experience which we will certainly repeat on our next visit to Wengen.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaE388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were expecting great things as we had good recommendations from others but we were slightly disappointed - very busy buzzy place but the food that night was just OK. Staff were very friendly and helpful - maybe we will try again another time - we may have been unlucky in our choices - meat was a bit tough.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glostan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Baeren also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing