We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Hotel Restaurant Baeren
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $43
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Regional, seasonal and fresh We will treat you to regional and international delicacies in our Restaurant Baren, Wengen. Our dishes are prepared using fresh and seasonal regional produce. Vegetarians and lovers of fish will also find some dishes here. To accompany your meals, we serve numerous fine speciality wines from Switzerland. A fine meal with friends Celebrate a birthday quietly or in style with many friends. Raise your glasses to a successful business year. Maybe a romantic dinner for two. Our restaurant can accommodate your very personal needs. Mountain air and active living promote a healthy appetite Definitely a case for the Baren kitchen. Our experienced team will solve your case with culinary finesse and quality ingredients. A taste experience for those who delight in variety. The result: Regional and original, a modern interpretation. Wine for every taste In our cellars you will only find fine European wines. We focus on Switzerland, Italy, France and Spain. There is something here for every taste and budget. We are happy to give you a recommendation and all of our wines are also available to take with you.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are staying in Wengen or Lauterbrunnen this restaurant is a must. Great food that did not cost an arm and a leg. So very enjoyable. Would go again when I am next in town.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDetox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    42
    7
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Rooms with a Great View”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I found the hotel to be very pleasant with large, clean rooms overlooking the valley. We were returning from a three day hike when we checked in and the staff had already brought our extra bag up to our room. This was very much appreciated because the thought of more stairs with more weight was very unappealing. We opted for dinner with the room and were impressed one night and slightly disappointed the 2nd night. We stayed near the end of the summmer season and it seemed like the kitchen may have been winding down a bit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Family run Hotel, the husband is the chef, wonderful 4 course set menu for guests or a la carte. The set menu was soup, then a salad, main course, then dessert, coffee or tea. Good selection of wine beer and other drinks. Really delicious food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2gnomesinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

nice rooms,nice view from the balcony,delicious foods,and nice staff

they gave sandwichs and fruits when they knew we will left hotel very early and cannot have breakfast,I never heard any hotel will do this for their guest, it's very nice

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wangvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Wengen”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It was definitely not the first an not the last time we had diner in the Baeren! Always an excellent choice and very friendly staff!

Helpful?
1 Thank advisoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Baeren also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing