We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good local cuisine in Wengen!”

Hotel Restaurant Baeren
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $43
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant Regional, seasonal and fresh We will treat you to regional and international delicacies in our Restaurant Baren, Wengen. Our dishes are prepared using fresh and seasonal regional produce. Vegetarians and lovers of fish will also find some dishes here. To accompany your meals, we serve numerous fine speciality wines from Switzerland. A fine meal with friends Celebrate a birthday quietly or in style with many friends. Raise your glasses to a successful business year. Maybe a romantic dinner for two. Our restaurant can accommodate your very personal needs. Mountain air and active living promote a healthy appetite Definitely a case for the Baren kitchen. Our experienced team will solve your case with culinary finesse and quality ingredients. A taste experience for those who delight in variety. The result: Regional and original, a modern interpretation. Wine for every taste In our cellars you will only find fine European wines. We focus on Switzerland, Italy, France and Spain. There is something here for every taste and budget. We are happy to give you a recommendation and all of our wines are also available to take with you.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good local cuisine in Wengen!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food at Baren. The staff here is very friendly as well. But best of all, you had a great view of Jungfrau while dining outside on their terrace. We dined here during their celebration of the Orient Express and the set menu featuring swiss specialties was really good, every dish topped the one before it. I would highly recommend this place when dining in Wengen. It does get crowded on some evenings so reservations would be wise.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    42
    7
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I were searching for a restaurant in Wengen, thanks to Tripadvisor mobile we found Zum Baeren. The staff there was kind enough to find a table for us on a busy friday evening and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. My wife had chicken with lavender sauce and I had sauteed lamb with rosti. Both were excellent, but the real surprise was the green salad. It's hard to explain, but the salad with mixed vegetables was truly outstanding, one of the best items I've ever had in any restaurant. Remarkable!

Accompanied by a nice bottle of Swiss red wine and the service was great. We had so much fun we came back the following evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grizfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We went for dinner yesterday. Thanks to the the nice weather and temperature, we could enjoy the Terrace, which is really nice.
We tasted the summer menu and it was really excellent! All courses were delicious, but one especially got our attention: the prawns, served as a starter. You don't imagine such a good prawns in Wengen! The wine list is also high level, complete with a good range between Swiss and International wines. We got an Italian one (Ripassa, strongly suggested), which is high quality for a very interesting price. The ratio price/quality it is unbeatable in Wengen and the service it is the best you can expect, warm, kind and discreet at the same time. Recommended to make your stay in Wengen perfect!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GLM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutschenhausen, DE
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food with much variety”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

In addition to their standard menu, Zum Baeren had a summer menu as well. Both offered a wide variety of dishes, most of which were made with locally grown/raised/made ingredients. My husband had veal with a light garlic sauce and I chose the grilled chicken with lavendar sauce. Both were unique yet very tastey dishes. Outdoor dining was comfortable and service was excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Treva I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanidloes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

having stayed at the baeren 2 years ago & thinking the food was great then we stayed there again in july & if anything the food was even better this time.i have never in twenty five years or more of travelling tasted food as good as willy & team produce.if you are ever in wengen you must try it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraceyLlanidloes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Baeren also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Baeren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing