We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious way to end our day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Wengener Hof

Hotel Restaurant Wengener Hof
Ranked #16 of 30 Restaurants in Wengen
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: Central European, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Get spoiled by our comfortable and light dining-room. Dinner is served from 6.30Pm to 9pm. Providing guests with an excellent cuisine is a pillar of our business. A tasty, varied 5-course menu with choice of the main courses is served, always with a vegetarian option. On Sunday evening we provide a delicious 6-course Gala Dinner, while we ensure variety by serving a special theme buffet mid-week. On request we are glad to prepare diet/allergic meals
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious way to end our day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Wengener Hof hotel during our trip to Wengen, and decided it would be easiest, at least on our first night, to eat at the hotel. We were impressed by the quality of the food, and there was certainly plenty to fill our stomachs. The wait staff is fluent in English, and was happy to accommodate our needs. Although the dinner is brought to you, there is a salad bar set up on tables in main dining room, and the bread and baskets are located near there, so you have to leave your table for that. Our enjoyed our dinner so well that we decided to eat there again the following night. Our room included breakfast, and we were quite happy to see some traditional German fare, including meat, cheese, and rolls. If you are in the mood for cereals or eggs, they have those as well. There are seats in a portion of the restaurant that have a view. We sat in there for our meals, but I think they are generally reserved for the people who are spending long amounts of time at the hotel. There were a lot of seasonal regulars that all knew each other. We were happy to have a table with a view! All in all, a great experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakegal41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in Terms of All Aspects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Quality food with very reasonable price, in particular for Jungfrau Region. We could even amend the menu of the 5-course dinner without paying extra cost! Restaurant staff was friendly and helpful. Although I ordered the beef main course but they gave me a plate of lamb, however, they rectified the error promptly without any argument.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Review collected in partnership with MyTable.com

Helpful?
Thank Emil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Enzo is the star.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The restaurant in the Hotel Wengenerhof is a delightfully traditional Swiss dining experience. The operation is hosted by the affable Enzo who not only (with his team) provide exceptionally good service but also a relaxed and jovial evening.
The food is too a very high standard, and very well presented. We all enthused about the quality of the food night after night. The only niggles were more often than not down to personal choice and preferences, not the food quality.
If you holiday in Wengen the Wengenerhof Hotel restaurant is well worth a night out to enjoy the excellent cuisine and exceptionally good hospitality.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“stunning food and brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

glorious food and service . we were staying at the hotel so i have no idea hat the cost of our 6 and 7 course dinners would be . simply to say i have no doubt it woud be worth it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank john k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our judgemental waiter offered us beer and left us unattended and hungry whilst he collected guests from the station.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I only wish we'd got as far as the restaurant but alas, we were abandoned on a bar stool by a waiter who's service skills made Manual from Fawlty Towers look like an Oscar winner.

We left after 30 minutes only to be passed by our waiter driving an electric buggy, not unlike that used by the Banana Splits.

I don't think Gruber would have approved of our treatment! La la la la la la la la ..... You know the tune.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Wengener Hof also viewed

Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Wengener Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing