We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at hotel”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

excellent service in this hotel. We stayed one week as a family of four and we really enjoyed the food, the service and the friendliness of the whole hotel team. We definitely recommend this hotel. It was much offered for the price it has.

Room Tip: rooms on the side of the entrance of the hotel are sunnier and with a beautiful view of the Jungfrau...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (769)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Edelweiss
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 769 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Outstanding hotel. We stayed three nights in August 2013, and it was one of the absolute highlights of our week-long trip to Switzerland.

First of all, Wengen is a great base for exploring the Bernesse Oberland. It is much less crowded than Grindelwald (which is VERY crowded) or even Lauterbrunnen - the other similar option would be Murren, however, that is then an extra cable car or train ride from the majority of the hiking trails. We ate at the hotel one night and then explored restaurants in town the other nights (there are about 10-20 restaurants to choose from, plus a town square with minigolf and tennis courts)

The hotel itself is a short walk (< 5 min) downhill from the train station and the main downtown area. There are a few other hotels in the immediate area.

Daniel was an outstanding host, very friendly and helpful on suggestions for things to do in the area.

The rooms themselves are basic and comfortable. We had two rooms, each of which had balconies overlooking the Jungfrau Glacier. It was no problem to add a third bed in one room; the other room had two. The bathrooms are average sized for Switzerland though a little small by American standards.

Our kids (aged 9, 11, and 15) were pleasantly surprised by the 'extras' - ping-pong and foosball (aka table football) inside and a minigolf hole and bocce court outside.

Room Tip: Ask if a balcony room is available
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlueScotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in the lovely hotel Edelweiss,the host is very welcome,kindly suggest us tourist info around Jungfrau, the dinner is dilicious,rooms are very clean with really reasonable price,we can see the Mountain from our balcony.We will stay in Edweiss again if we came back wengen.
酒店所在的小镇环境很好 老板很热情 仔细介绍了酒店的设施 包括自助饮料吧和桑拿浴 房间的阳台可以直接看到雪山,特别推荐的是酒店的晚餐 25法郎一位 味道不错 性价比很高

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The owner, Martin and the manager, Daniel were just great in answering our questions and making suggestions for activities. They were very concerned that we were happy being there.


  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank FLMom961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel was very nice. We had a very spacious room with a great view. We arrived about an hour before dinner and even though you need to reserve a spot for dinner by 10 AM they were very helpful and managed to make us a fantastic 4 course dinner. The breakfast is buffet style and we were always full afterwards. The best part about the hotel is the owner, Daniel and his wife. They were so friendly and helpful! We managed to have the only rainy day on our trip while in Wengen, we had no clue what to do with such poor weather, but Daniel recommended we go to visit Bond World, the new James Bond exhibit that was opening that day at the top of the Schilthorn. Very good trip, awesome recommendation that we would not have known about otherwise. I will definitely go stay there again.

Room Tip: book in advance and ask for a glacier view room!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mocha930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's a short way from the train station.It's located near the small squre of the town. Our room has a balcony where can see the Jungfrau.There are many beautiful flowers in the yard. Boss is very nice and friendly.The room is clean but made me feel homy.But the breakfast is not very rich.

Room Tip: choose a room with balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xinlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

During the travel,although I went to Grindelwald, Grindelwald was constructing and a crowd. I thought that it was good to able to stay in this hotel. I could see the beautiful Jungfrau, and the waterfall of Lauterbrunnen from Wengen.
The All Hotel staff was also very kind and warm.
The boss lend me a cell phone pleasantly, and had my pinch saved. The boss was very warm .Thank you for helping ! Ahh Boss !
Outside the hotel, edelweiss is also in bloom.wonderful!
The moon of toward morning was also good.
The hike from Kleine Scheidegg to Wengen was also good, and I walked to the hotel repeatedly in the evening.
It stayed at this hotel and became the highest travel to the Jungfrau.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerigeeBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wengen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#9 of 20 in Wengen
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#8 of 20 in Wengen
386 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Am Acher 1366A, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range: $153 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edelweiss 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel EdelweissA place which makes you feel most welcome, very well looked after and where you wish to stay on and on and on....Enjoy the magnificient skiing- and hiking area of the famous Jungfrau-Region!Daniel and Susanne Eisenegger will help you to have an outstanding and inspiring experience in the Swiss Alps. Formality is replaced with a warm welcome. The Hotel Edelweiss is your home whilst you are with us; relax, unwind and let us take care of you! We hope that you will join our lifestyle; a lifestyle based on quality time, on fun and laughter and on living life to the full. The opportunities and natural attractions of the Jungfrau Region are hard to top. Explore the various mountains, glaciers, gorges, water falls and the breahtaking scenery by hiking, cable cars, trains, gondolas and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing