We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week!!!”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

First time in Wengen and it was better than I expected. The whole village was lovely. The hotel was at the same high expectation. It couldn't have been better than this compare to how much it costs for one week...very good for the money. Excellent breakfast and the dinner was at the same very good standard. I mean ....you get a lot of food for a very good price. Very helpful and friendly staff. Otherwise the hotel is very clean and fresh, quiet, perfect to relax after a day on the slopes. Very close to the train station, 5 minutes. I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony have a great view over the Jungfrau. I had that one from my bed when I woke...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octavian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Edelweiss
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 765 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is our third time we come to the Edelweiss Hotel and the dream is still alive. A family welcome in a warm atmosphere facing one of the greatest view of the Jungfrau.The room and the bedding are very comfortable and Daniel will answer any question with a lot of enthousiasm ! Isabelle and Xavier from Paris, France

Stayed: March 2013
Thank isabelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Lovely friendly hotel, comfortable. excellent staff. Real inexpensive for this part of Switzerland and only 5 minutes from the train station and the village.
All booked at the last minute too
The people could not have been more helpful. Thank you

Room Tip: My room looked out on the Jungfrau mountain with a balcony too. I painted the view it was so good.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcjpbds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is nice. Close to the train station. The family running the place is friendly, Daniel was nice, he suggested many things to do & helped us book our helicopter tour. The breakfast is good too.

The only disavantage to the place was when we wanted to travel to other cities, it added about an hour to journey. Given that we had to first go to Lauterbrunnen first & then Intelaken & then eventually take the train further.

Otherwise, a nice place to stay, great views & very relaxing.

Room Tip: If you plan on travelling to other cities, prefer staying elsewhere.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel, located in the heart of one of the most famous mountain resorts of Switzerland gives the opportunity to enjoy a pleasant stay at a convenient price but still with a nice touch of alpine charme. After a ski or mountanerreing session, you can even relax in the private sauna!
The owners and the staff are friendly and welcoming. Meals are excellent and abundant.
Rooms are nicely furnished in classical alpine style and wifi connection is free and fast.
The hote is not far from the town center and offers a pleasant view of the surrounding landscape.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CB50312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is superb and offers excellent value. Daniel creates a very welcoming atmosphere from arrival and his staff are very friendly. The location was great for our ski holiday with lovely views from the balcony. We had dinner in the hotel every evening and the food was excellent. Whilst there was no choice of main course it should suit most tastes.

Whilst it is a short walk uphill each morning, the ski depot at Central Sport meant that this was not a problem.

We found some of the best skiing we have ever experienced in Wengen. Our favourite was the long red run down from Mannlichen to the valley at the Grindelwald gondola. This was half-term week and sometimes we found ourselves alone on the slope beyond the middle gondola station.

We will return - both to Wengen and to Hotel Edelweiss.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The hotel is amazing,we were very satisfied and happy during the days that we stayed there. The hotel is very comfortable, beautiful, organized and the staff very friendly.I do recommend it!!the dinners we had where verry good (compliments to the chef). for this price you cannot find any better in the region.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christophe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wengen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#11 of 20 in Wengen
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
385 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Am Acher 1366A, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range: $152 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edelweiss 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel EdelweissA place which makes you feel most welcome, very well looked after and where you wish to stay on and on and on....Enjoy the magnificient skiing- and hiking area of the famous Jungfrau-Region!Daniel and Susanne Eisenegger will help you to have an outstanding and inspiring experience in the Swiss Alps. Formality is replaced with a warm welcome. The Hotel Edelweiss is your home whilst you are with us; relax, unwind and let us take care of you! We hope that you will join our lifestyle; a lifestyle based on quality time, on fun and laughter and on living life to the full. The opportunities and natural attractions of the Jungfrau Region are hard to top. Explore the various mountains, glaciers, gorges, water falls and the breahtaking scenery by hiking, cable cars, trains, gondolas and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing