We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for skiing, romance, accessing the Jungfrau ski region.”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place by accident, however it was the highlight of our trip. Situated at 4200ft close to Jungfrau ski region it is close to worlds best skiing and all sorts of sports.
The rooms are clean with a beautiful view, the staff helpfully with advice, tips, as well as friendly.
Food in house was delicious (Awesome fondu) Would Definately go back!
We were provided with weather tips as well as best place to hire ski gear and discount info.

Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickdav76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Edelweiss
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 765 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the Christmas holidays. Daniel, the manager and Martin, the owner are sincere, helpful, enthusiastic, genuine people who made us feel at home. The hotel is as pleasant and charming as you can imagine - having every desired comfort (24 hour coffee, lovely breakfast, delicious dinner, sauna, comfortable beds, etc) without ever feeling stuffy or over the top. We loved the two sitting rooms. Both were comfortable and welcoming. Hotel Edelweiss was a welcome retreat after a day in the snow. It was a wonderful part of our experience and not just a place to sleep. We cannot say enough good things about our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the1unoriginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family and I spent a week in Wengen over Christmas. Daniel and the rest of the staff were fantastic hosts who couldn't do enough to ensure we had a great stay. The rooms were comfortable, and the food was delicious. Our children also loved making use of the playroom and music room. If we return to Switzerland we would definitely revisit Wengen and Hotel Edelweiss!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katielowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've had the priviledge to visit this lovely hotel in the heart of the Alps in Wengen recently. The owner and host were really welcoming and made me feel at home from the moment I've arrived. He is also very helpful and recommended a lovely itinerary for my stay. The 4 course dinner at the hotel was also very delicious and the view from my room was absolutely breathtaking! I would most definitely like to visit again some day and would recommend this lovely home away from home to anyone looking for a remarkable experience!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Liezl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wengen is a car-free village so after taking the train up with two big luggages, we appreciate how easy it is to walk to Hotel Edelweiss from the train station. Don't follow the road signs though, it got us lost for a while. Follow the instructions given by the hotel and you'll get there in about 5 minutes.

Location
The hotel is not only conveniently situated, it offers an excellent view of the mountains as well as some of the valley. Looking out of our balcony (of room 303) in the evening, we are charmed by the warm lights of the snow-draped chalets on the slope, leading our eyes upwards to the imposing and magnificent mountains.

Rooms
The room was great! we had stayed in 3 other hotels of similar budget and star rating in various parts of Switzerland on this trip before Wengen, and this was the best. The size was just right for both of us plus our luggages, and the bathroom though slightly small, was very clean, modern and comfortable. Balcony is shared with 3 other rooms, and as mentioned above, excellent views. Bed was comfortable, and soundproofing good so we were not disturbed at all at night.

Food
Breakfast is standard fare with ample variety. delicious. what i liked was the self-cook eggs (time it yourself for the doneness you like) and muesli grinder (can't get any fresher!). We took the half board option which is pretty good value, given that it is a 4-course dinner, very yummy, and also balanced and healthy! Their wine recommendations are always spot on. now i have a slight regret not buying some bottles back.

There's a Coop next to the train station for other food/snack needs. Otherwise, eating out is going to be generally expensive.

Service
Daniel and Martin are the best hosts you can find. Always with a welcoming smile and ever ready to help whether it is suggestions for activities or just a chat. Would also like to add that their Christian faith and testimony was an encouragement to me. The rest of the hotel staff also carry the same warmth and hospitality and helpfulness.

Free wifi too, which is useful.

Overall, it was a perfect stay, and we couldn't have asked for more. In fact, we seriously considered extending this leg of our trip, but the hotel was already fully booked. I highly recommend staying at Hotel Edelweiss if you visit Wengen (which i recommend visiting. and Murren too).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littleclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Gday, my partner and I have recently finished a stay at this hotel.

The new manager Daniel is brilliant, a bundle of energy that couldnt help us enough, he is fluent in a few languages also which really helps!

The hotel itself is a typical Chalet type, comfortable and clean. The breakfast is a typical continental type but includes self-cook eggs also. The half-board dinners are excelelnt value, and the chef is really good. The food every time we ate was absolutely delicious and we left very full every night!

I can´t say enough good things about the place, highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a great view of Jungfrau!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daniel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

great location.....fabulous view......very delicious evening meals .including special vegetarian delights for my son ....ample , healthy breakfasts.....charming ,helpful staff .......very good value.
Highly recommended...
Also noticed that the rooms seemed well sound-proofed which was a pleasant surprise for a 2 star establishment.

Room Tip: Book thru the hotels own website and specify south facing room with balcony......
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susyquirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wengen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#11 of 20 in Wengen
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoria-Lauberhorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#3 of 20 in Wengen
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
Hotel Alpenrose Wengen
#7 of 20 in Wengen
385 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Am Acher 1366A, Wengen 3823, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Wengen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wengen
Price Range: $152 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Edelweiss 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel EdelweissA place which makes you feel most welcome, very well looked after and where you wish to stay on and on and on....Enjoy the magnificient skiing- and hiking area of the famous Jungfrau-Region!Daniel and Susanne Eisenegger will help you to have an outstanding and inspiring experience in the Swiss Alps. Formality is replaced with a warm welcome. The Hotel Edelweiss is your home whilst you are with us; relax, unwind and let us take care of you! We hope that you will join our lifestyle; a lifestyle based on quality time, on fun and laughter and on living life to the full. The opportunities and natural attractions of the Jungfrau Region are hard to top. Explore the various mountains, glaciers, gorges, water falls and the breahtaking scenery by hiking, cable cars, trains, gondolas and so on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing