We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Hotel Jungfrau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Jungfrau
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our stay at the Hotel Jungfrau was perfect! The owners were "over the top" in making sure that we had a pleasant stay. Every time we passed the desk they checked on us and happily addressed our every question. They, and all of the staff, were super friendly and helpful. Our rooms were spotlessly clean The food was fantastic. The location was excellent.

Room Tip: We paid the extra to get rooms with views and it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkm093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    53
    24
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
92
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel staff at Hotel Jungfrau is the absolute best! Although small (maybe 8?), everything was efficiently handled, the rooms were clean, food was good and each and every member of the staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the third floor with a small balcony. I would recommend that as we had a beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I (and our dog) stayed at the Hotel Jungfrau recently during a weekend getaway and really enjoyed it. Every member of the staff was friendly and welcoming.

We opted for a room on the front of the building with a balcony and it was well worth the extra expense. The views are magnificent. The bed was very comfortable and the room was reasonably spacious. The hotel is centrally located (though it is hard to not be central in tiny Murren), not far from the train station and close to restaurants, shops and a grocery store.

Wifi was available free in the lobby. Breakfast was european continental but had the additions of eggs and bacon. There was a pet fee but it wasn't too expensive (10CHF a night).

Staying at Hotel Jungfrau was a great experience and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our balcony which was large enough for a table and chairs was worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel Jungfrau has been a regular winter destination for me some years, benefitting from being easily the best located hotel in the village for skiers of all standards. Under Alan and Veronique Ramsay the hotel has a warm and friendly family feel, but all guests will be at home here whether on their own, with friends or family. Murren has improved significantly as a place with excellent food and the Jungfrau is pushing standards higher and with genuine innovation, whether Perfect pies for snacking or wholesome high end dining.. The staff clearly enjoy being part of the team and every request or enquiry is always dealt with in an easy charming manner... Best tip is to phone the hotel direct to best understand availability of rooms with balconies etc, but the views all around the hotel are very special whether village or mountain views. Coming here for the first time ever in the summer the village is a revelation as the snow gives way to thick lush meadows, hiking opportunities abound and many of the very best in the Bernese Oberland are literally on your doorstep. The connections now to Zurich at 3 hrs15 mean that the access to Murren has improved and the journey is wholly reliable.. But download your options for connections or just call the hotel as this will give you peace of mind.

Room Tip: Best to phone and discuss available rooms as you may prefer mountain or village views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David.Orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel has great views and is in a great location. The rooms are basic but are clean and fairly large by European standards. Alan, the owner, is Scottish, and is extremely warm and friendly and will go out of his way to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel has a large nice common area with comfortable sofas and a piano.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Jun 2012. The title of this review describes it all. Staff and owner (Veronique) very warm, helpful, flexible. View of Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau peaks from our room were excellent. The village (Murren/Muerren) is excellent in general - great place to launch for hikes in the region. Didn't have to wander outside for dinner because this place has excellent options for food including vegetarian, and chef will flex to accommodate any particular needs. Best place to spend time in Switzerland and we will visit again. Only downside are steep prices, but then again this is Switzerland.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the peaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrldtrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Just returned from a two week vacation in Europe, and have to say that our stay at Hotel Jungfrau in Murren was one of the highlights of the vacation. Alan and Veronique (owners) went out of their way to make our stay both memorable and enjoyable. They are both wonderful people who obviously care a great deal about providing top-notch accommodations and service. Also, the food was wonderful and the rooms both clean and with great views. I can't say enough about our experience here, and would highly recommend a stay here for anyone planning on visiting this beautiful village.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleMike72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#9 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jungfrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jungfrau

Property: Hotel Jungfrau
Address: Gruebi 1051B, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
#8 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jungfrau 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular 3* hotel is the perfect location for your summer and winter holidays. Built in 1894, it was then extended and renovated several times. The hotel is perfectly situated in the upper village between the local sports centre and the Allmendhubel train, 5-10 min walking distance from both stations. In the winter a real "ski-in ski-out" hotel next to the ski-school piste, the hiking trails start from our door. Enjoy the view to the Jungfrau massif from your balcony or marvel at the skiers on the slopes. All rates include our large hot and cold breakfast buffet (with bacon and eggs, fresh fruits, cereals, ...) and free entrance to the swimming pool at the sports centre and ice rink in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jungfrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungfrau Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing