We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed there three times already in the past 10 years, and will certainly come back!”
Review of Hotel Jungfrau

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jungfrau
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is an emotional review to write, as my husband and I stayed at this hotel seperately before we met (about 10 years ago), as a couple (about 5 years ago) and most recently with our first child just a couple of weeks ago. So all very different requirements. We loved each one of the experiences and our needs were always caterered for. Our rooms were once again the perfect size, perfectly clean and the views were outstanding. We cannot praise the staff and owners/managers highly enough. The food was divine and Murren is simply one of the most beautiful places on earth. If only we can have a holiday like this every year, thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BudgiesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 223 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here last summer and the staff was amazing and very friendly. The food was delicious and healthy. Definitely try the Fondue and Raclette. The rooms were of good size and views of the mountain tops were spectacular. Through out the day, clouds would drift around the hotel and even through the windows, it was like staying in paradise. The only thing I would say is that hallways pick up noise very easily so if you have loud guests, good luck sleeping in! The free passes to the Sport Centre were nice but definitely treat yourself to the Eucalyptus Steam Room there, that alone makes me want to come back. The hiking trails and gondola service make this a great base to hike from.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbird31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The tiny hamlet of Mürren in the Bernese Alps attracts thousands of tourists every year. Nestling in the Alps, the little village is teh ideal starting point for hikes, tours to the Lauterbrunnen valley and to the world famous Schilthorn revolving restaurant. I have stayed several times at the Jungfra hotel in Mürren and each stay makes me want to come even more often to this idyllic place. The Jungfrau Hotel is run by Véronique and Alan Ramsay and they do that extra mile to make your sojourn happy and memorable. The hotel boasts an excellent restaurant, a well equipped bar and facilities for skiers in the winter season. The rooms are cosy, well equipped and warm.

Highly recommended hotel for small and large families.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viswanathansuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

After several days hiking staying dormitories, it was marvelous to check in to a hotel. The rooms (back and front) had great views, either of the Eiger, Monch, Jungfrau etc. or the lovely pastures by the Allmendhubel (cow bells gratis). A newly revamped menu since winter season had lighter fare and more twists on traditional favourites. Best of all, the warm and friendly welcome by Alan and Veronique Ramsay who ensured our stay was stress free. They are superb hosts and add flair and charm. Happy to read in the lounge on a wet afternoon and just enjoy being there!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank Marm0ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for 3 nights. Wonderful view of the mountains. We were part of a tour group so one meal was planned for us here, but we loved the food so much that we chose to eat here again for the next 2 nights. Breakfast was also delicious including homemade breads, lovely fresh fruit & a variety of hot items. The owner/chef served wonderful Scottish salmon one evening, a traditional Raclette on another, & provided a BBQ which, though it had to be moved indoors due to inclement, weather was very tasty. The couple which run this place are very helpful & friendly and seem to want to do their best in providing excellent service from room cleanliness to excellent food service. Would definitely stay here again if ever blessed to be in this beautiful part of the world again.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank luckoda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

-Great kitchen
-Free wi-fi in the lounge, pay wi-fi available in the rooms
-15 Francs for a full bag of laundry
-Incredible views
-the owners and team are top notch
-super thick walls means quiet rooms

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ErikNordheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Jungfrau during a Rick Steves tour. The hotel is usually closed in May, but opened for our group, thus, we had the hotel to ourselves. Allen and his wife were gracious hosts who made our stay very enjoyable. They went out of their way to make sure we were having a good time even helping us to have a potluck dinner one evening in the restaurant. Our view from our balcony was spectacular. We ate dinner in the restaurant, fondue, which was delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#4 of 11 in Murren
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jungfrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jungfrau

Address: Gruebi 1051B, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
#8 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range: $158 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jungfrau 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular 3* hotel is the perfect location for your summer and winter holidays. Built in 1894, it was then extended and renovated several times. The hotel is perfectly situated in the upper village between the local sports centre and the Allmendhubel train, 5-10 min walking distance from both stations. In the winter a real "ski-in ski-out" hotel next to the ski-school piste, the hiking trails start from our door. Enjoy the view to the Jungfrau massif from your balcony or marvel at the skiers on the slopes. All rates include our large hot and cold breakfast buffet (with bacon and eggs, fresh fruits, cereals, ...) and free entrance to the swimming pool at the sports centre and ice rink in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jungfrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungfrau Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing