We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eiger Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eiger Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Place is great! Ema and her entire staff couldn't be nicer. The rooms are fine, and clean and comfortable. The location right across from the train station is very convenient. And the food in the restaurant is very good! And a nice breakfast is included. The Eiger has free wifi which is a wonderful perk!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WSWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    105
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
158
325
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dijon, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having stayed here in May this year we returned for a stay in September. It's always a risk trying to replicate the magic, but Ema and her team did this and with style! It's now like coming back to see old friends. The food is as good as ever, the rooms clean and well-appointed, and every single member of staff is the perfect ambassador for the Eiger Guesthouse. Thank you to you all and we look forward to seeing you again soon...

Room Tip: Great views of the Eiger from the front, but No 11 is nice. On the top floor with a semi-view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Eiger Guesthouse for 3 nights. Ema and her staff are kind, warm, fun, and knowledgeable. The Guesthouse is literally across the street from the train station, a happy location after a long day of travel. It is also within walking distance of everything Mürren has to offer including the post office, the CoOp grocery store, and of course many, many hikes! The staff at the Guesthouse can offer guests great advice about where to hike, special things to see and do, and highlights of non-touristy areas that are "off the beaten track".

The rooms in the Guesthouse are basic, comfortable, and clean. Between the rooms, the location, the staff, and the food in the restaurant, you get a great value for the money. Switzerland is very expensive, and we were pleased with the amenities and value we received at the Eiger Guesthouse. And don't forget about the views- the VIEWS! Sitting outside at the restaurant you feel like you can reach out and touch the mountains- a perfect place to enjoy delicious food and take in amazing sights.

We would absolutely recommend the Eiger Guesthouse to people staying in Mürren and we plan to return there ourselves on our next Swiss adventure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndpndntjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We arrived at the Eiger Guesthouse after a long train ride from Venice. We were greeted with a smile and check-in was quick and easy. Our room was basic (with bathroom / shower) and at the back of the building. We didn't care to pay extra for a room at the front with a view because we figured we will be out exploring most of the time anyway. The room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. We also had a small balcony with a partial mountain view.

An excellent Internet connection is very important for us to check in with our business as we travel. Eiger Guesthouse offered 2 strong wi-fi connections throughout the hotel. We had no problem at all connecting and working when needed.

Eiger Guesthouse is perfectly situated in beautiful Murren right next to the small train station. This was perfect for us as most days we would leave early in the morning to jump on a train and then get back late in the day. So convenient just been able to walk (or stagger) to the room from the train in about 30 seconds!

The continental style breakfast every morning was really nice and very much appreciated. We loaded up on cereal, cheese, salami, eggs, croissants every day so that we would be fuelled up ready to tackle the amazing hikes. Food is SO expensive in Switzerland, especially in Murren, so it was nice to have breakfast provided with the room.

We had to leave super early on our check-out day and Eiger Gueshouse made us a pack-up the night before to take with us.

Overall, we had an outstanding visit and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank santafedre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed here, twice in the past three years. New renovations are great keeping the charm of a small mountain hotel. Service is top notch and the food is very good. This hotel has a great price point that is very appealing for us. We do not like to spend a lot of money for a stuffy high end hotel just to sleep. If you are looking for a hotel that is clean, comfortable, charming, and you feel like you matter this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the front have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingBill24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
291 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nites based on reviews in Trip Advisor and were not disappointed.
Rooms are basic but spotless - approx. 15 x 15 ft with king bed and bath in our room with balcony (3rd fl, or 2nd fl for Europeans; no elevator); tv but no phone; good wifi; few amenities (soap in dispenser, no shampoo), chair and small table plus 1/2 couch. Bed comfortable; room plenty warm; no ac or fan if warm. Hotel across street from train (electric) sta, but with doors/windows closed never heard the train. Most rooms face Eiger/Jungfrau - spectacular, tho partially obscured by sta below. Almost no noise from adjacent rooms, but on nites 2 & 3 had much thumping footsteps from top floor room above us. Service excellent and friendly - esp 'Ema', the host - helpful in suggestions for hikes, how to get discount for Schilthorn gondola, etc. Small but adequate European b-fast incl oj, granola, yogurt/milk, breads, variety. of cheese and meat. Believe other hotels in town might have better views from rooms if facing the Jungfrau, but for the view you must pay much more there

Room Tip: Room on 3rd (European 2nd)floor facing Eiger - but may prefer top floor for quiet, tho with no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

As some background on us, we are a couple from the US traveling around Europe for 3.5 weeks. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.

So so great. We loved this place. It is located in a small town in the Alps, but still has a small CoOp grocery store within walking distance. Tons of hiking opportunities and the restaurant at the hotel served great food too. The breakfast buffet in the morning included the typical European fare, and tasted great. Staff there is very nice, and there is access to the small sports hall up the road, if you wanted to swim or something. The hotel was also one of the few that had WiFi available to all guests.
We had some reservations about not having a bathroom in our room, but we still had a sink and vanity. Access to the shower and bathroom on the floor were easy, and they were very clean.
I would recommend the day trip to JungFrauLoch, and the Shiltzhorn only if it is not cloudy, otherwise you are wasting your money looking at clouds.
My fiancée and I agreed, that of all the places we have visited this far on the trip (Iceland, France, Switzerland and Italy), this was our FAVORITE stay. ***** We are already thinking about our return trip :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveler864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#7 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiger Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Guesthouse

Property: Eiger Guesthouse
Address: Aegerten 1079C, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#2 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eiger Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed hotel located near the BLM train station with a splendid view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. Offers 12 up-to date rooms with bath/WC or shower/WC, flatscreen-TV and WLAN as well as budget rooms with shared facilities. Family rooms for up to 4 persons. Great restaurant offering italian dishes, swiss dishes and homemade pizza, bar/pub and games room with billiard and dart. The perfect location for winter sports, hiking, mountain biking and all kinds of adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eiger Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Guesthouse Hotel
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing