We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and terrific service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eiger Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eiger Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
291 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great view and terrific service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nites based on reviews in Trip Advisor and were not disappointed.
Rooms are basic but spotless - approx. 15 x 15 ft with king bed and bath in our room with balcony (3rd fl, or 2nd fl for Europeans; no elevator); tv but no phone; good wifi; few amenities (soap in dispenser, no shampoo), chair and small table plus 1/2 couch. Bed comfortable; room plenty warm; no ac or fan if warm. Hotel across street from train (electric) sta, but with doors/windows closed never heard the train. Most rooms face Eiger/Jungfrau - spectacular, tho partially obscured by sta below. Almost no noise from adjacent rooms, but on nites 2 & 3 had much thumping footsteps from top floor room above us. Service excellent and friendly - esp 'Ema', the host - helpful in suggestions for hikes, how to get discount for Schilthorn gondola, etc. Small but adequate European b-fast incl oj, granola, yogurt/milk, breads, variety. of cheese and meat. Believe other hotels in town might have better views from rooms if facing the Jungfrau, but for the view you must pay much more there

Room Tip: Room on 3rd (European 2nd)floor facing Eiger - but may prefer top floor for quiet, tho with no eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    105
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
158
325
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

As some background on us, we are a couple from the US traveling around Europe for 3.5 weeks. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.

So so great. We loved this place. It is located in a small town in the Alps, but still has a small CoOp grocery store within walking distance. Tons of hiking opportunities and the restaurant at the hotel served great food too. The breakfast buffet in the morning included the typical European fare, and tasted great. Staff there is very nice, and there is access to the small sports hall up the road, if you wanted to swim or something. The hotel was also one of the few that had WiFi available to all guests.
We had some reservations about not having a bathroom in our room, but we still had a sink and vanity. Access to the shower and bathroom on the floor were easy, and they were very clean.
I would recommend the day trip to JungFrauLoch, and the Shiltzhorn only if it is not cloudy, otherwise you are wasting your money looking at clouds.
My fiancée and I agreed, that of all the places we have visited this far on the trip (Iceland, France, Switzerland and Italy), this was our FAVORITE stay. ***** We are already thinking about our return trip :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytraveler864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Only downside was no lift, so be ready to carry your luggage depending on what floor you are..

But other than that, happy with everything about this place!!! :)

Staff was friendly and accommodating, our room had wonderful views of the mountain, location just opposite the train station, breakfast was lovely and in a homey setting, the room was comfortable for 3 ppl and Internet was fast!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Eiger Guesthouse is such a great place! It had everything my husband and I needed as a base and was very clean. We shared a bathroom with others on the floor, but it wasn't a big deal to us at all. There is separate bathroom and shower on each floor. We never had to wait for someone to get out of either one and they were always clean. Our room also had an amazing view of the mountains. It's very convenient that it's located across from the train station too. The staff was super helpful and always extremely kind and attentive. The owner, Emma, was wonderful to suggest hiking trails, give us weather reports, and has a way of making you feel special. When we decided to stay in the area for an extra night, she went to the trouble to accommodate us and keep us in the same room even though it was in the middle of the busy season. It's really nice that there is also a restaurant/bar downstairs with great food and games to play when the weather isn't cooperating. So glad we stayed here and will recommend it to all our friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b_tuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

You can probably find hotels with bigger, fancier rooms than the Eiger Guesthouse, but you wont find better service. And that is what I was looking for when I booked our rooms. Emma and the staff made us feel like we were staying with friends while we were there. And that is a part of travel that I appreciate. I don't just want to see places and things, I also want to meet and interact with tbe people who live there. Emma was a huge help for us, especially suggesting the North Face hiking trail above Murren. We enjoyed sharing the details of our outing the next day. She obviously lives the area, and enjoys sharing it with her guests, and enjoys hearing about their outings.

Breakfast was typical European, and we also really enjoyed the dinners, as we optioned for the half board option.

Now to the changes. During the October/November shutdown, they will paint the rooms and the hallway. I do agree that this will give it a fresh look, But the bigger news is that she is hiring an Italian chef and installing a pizza oven. The Eiger Guesthouse restaurant will be turned into a pizzaria/Italian restaurant. So take this into account when considering half board.

Tips:

It is worth getting a room with a view. We had room 4, and had a great view. If you are not able to get a room with a view, there is a terrace on the second floor. Take the stairs to the rooms by the lobby, go up one flight, and turn left.

The rooms do not automatically lock, so you must use the key to lock it, even from the inside of the room.

The bathtub, like many European hotels, is taller than what Americans are used to. Not that it is hard to get in and out, but you need to pay attention, especially stepping out.

If you want to swim, there is a public pool in Murren, and the Guesthouse can get you a pass. There is also a jacuzzi at the pool, though it is not as warm as most. You also will need to bring towels, as they do not provide towels at the pool.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_in_Leavenworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent three nights in Murren at the Guesthouse. The views were amazing and the Guesthouse was a very nice place to call home for those three nights. The staff was very gracious every time we passed through. The room was updated and very clean with remarkable views. We did just the breakfast and it was excellent. The hiking in the area is breathtaking. it will be a place to visit again one day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 4jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Pros:
Location - right next to the cable car/train from Lauterbrunnen
Service - the staff was friendly and helpful
Breakfast - the included breakfast was a step above normal continental breakfasts

The only con was price, but I think that is typical for such a hard to access town in Switzerland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#7 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#8 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiger Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Guesthouse

Property: Eiger Guesthouse
Address: Aegerten 1079C, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#2 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eiger Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed hotel located near the BLM train station with a splendid view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. Offers 12 up-to date rooms with bath/WC or shower/WC, flatscreen-TV and WLAN as well as budget rooms with shared facilities. Family rooms for up to 4 persons. Great restaurant offering italian dishes, swiss dishes and homemade pizza, bar/pub and games room with billiard and dart. The perfect location for winter sports, hiking, mountain biking and all kinds of adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eiger Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Guesthouse Hotel
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing