We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eiger Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eiger Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights here with our two kids. Ema gave us great advice on hiking. We loved the difficult hike to Hotel OBersteinberg and the challenging hike up Schilthorn (we hiked up and down with our kids). Don't eat at the restaurant at Schilthorn if you can eat somewhere else it's probably better. The rosti with chicken and mushrooms at the guesthouse was amazing. The best food we had on our trip. It actually got my two mushroom adverse kids to like mushrooms! We had an amazing time in Murren. I highly recommend it for people who love hiking. The whole experience (good food, excellent hiking, great views, clean rooms, pleasant and helpful staff) at the guesthouse makes it such a recommended place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank belinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    101
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
154
322
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston area
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in a balcony room facing the train station for 8 nights in July, and it was lovely! Highly recommend getting a balcony room if you come here, it was so much fun to sit and watch all the hikers returning from their travels at the end of the day.

Ema gave us a discount on the room for staying so many nights, too.

This was a very good base location for all our Switzerland activities: hiking near Murren, visiting the Schilthorn, renting bikes to explore the Lauterbrunnen valley, paragliding in Interlaken (SkyWings!), and even visiting the Jungfrau -- everything was easy to access with the fantastic train system. We used a SwissPass, and almost all our travels were included.

Our room had comfortable beds, good water pressure in the shower, ample shelf space in the bathroom, and cozy linens. Ema even suggested a hike for us one day, which turned out to be WAY better than the one we were planning to do! All the hotel staff we encountered were very nice, too.

The only drawback we encountered was that we got rather tired of the same breakfast items by about day five of our trip. That was remedied with a trip to the Piz Gloria for the breakfast buffet on Day Six, but it would be lovely if the Guesthouse could have the cook come for breakfast just a couple days per week, and make some bacon and eggs for the hotel guests. But the lack of hot breakfast is certainly not a deal breaker here, with everything else this place is doing right.

I'd highly recommend making Eiger Guesthouse your base for a nice Swiss summer vacation!

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room facing the train station. The trains don't run from 10:00pm till 7:00am, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ethansmom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here in July. Everything was fantastic, as the other reviews indicate. Murren is abit away from it all in an otherwise realtively touristy Bernese Oberland area, so is quieter and more laid back. There is some day traffic but at night things really quiet down. The Eiger Guesthouse is right by the small railway station but contrary to being a disadvantage is actually nice -- the sound of the two car cog train was actually pleasant and calming, watching the visitors disembark and getting oriented was fun, and after 7 or so things were totally peaceful. The changing views of the big 3 - Eiger, Monch, Jungfrau -- from the room balconies any time of day or night were incredible.

The hotel is great -- comfortable, great service, good food. No doubt would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickytraveler904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in June-July and based ourselves in Murren. The Guesthouse was well located near the railway station and is an easy walk to the cable car station to the Schilthorn. Our room was small and comfortable with a half sloping ceiling (the building is a chalet style) and we had an en suite which was fine. The food was excellent, we had dinner and breakfast and the servings were generous.

We were unlucky with the weather so we went down the mountain one afternoon and walked to the Traumalbach falls, and on another afternoon we went back to Interlarken and thence to Bern for the afternoon.

Room Tip: There is no lift so you may reserve a room on the first floor and not the 3rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Undercliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights while in Murren and it was great! We upgraded our room to the superior room because I wanted a view if I was coming all the way to see the Swiss Alps. The view was stunning! Although the room was a bit pricey, you will find that everywhere in Switzerland is expensive, so by Switzerland standards, I dont think we could have found a better room with a better view for a better deal. There is a little balcony you can walk out on (it is long and skinny and runs along the front of the building, so you share it with the other rooms that have a view) but there was never anyone else out there when we went out to enjoy a glass of wine one evening. Everyone was very nice and helpful. When we told them we would not be eating breakfast there the second morning due to an early train we had to catch, they packed us a big breakfast to take with us! The building is also directly across from the small train station, which is very convenient. The bathroom was also nice. The shower had shower doors instead of a curtain *(unlike many places we stayed) which was nice because it didnt keep bowling in and getting stuck to you! We would go back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ema and the entire staff at the Guesthouse were wonderful. Ema made our stay comfortable, relaxed and humorous! We enjoyed the bar/restaurant with GREAT food, good wine selection, nice Port and Scotch choices, and a fantastic Ema-made caipirinha!
Our room (#9) was spacious with an unbelievable view of the Eiger and a robust shower. Aaah!

Room Tip: The rooms which face the front of the inn also face the street and the train station so may be a tad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were very pleased with all aspects of this hotel;our room with a balcony and beautiful views was spacious enough and very clean.We had all of our meals at the hotel and food was excellent.
Ema was particularly helpful friendly and caring making sure that we should be happy and made very welcome suggestions for our outings.
The other members of staff very very pleasant and courteous.
We definitely would stay again at Eiger Guesthouse and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank herta1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for recommending the Eiger Guesthouse to the other TripAdvisor users.
It was a big pleasure and a big honour to welcome you on your 50th wedding anniversary. Also ist was a big pleasure Meeting you!
we hope to welcome you again.

Best wishes

Ema & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murren
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 21 in Wengen
5.0 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiger Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Guesthouse

Property: Eiger Guesthouse
Address: Aegerten 1079C, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#2 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eiger Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed hotel located near the BLM train station with a splendid view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. Offers 12 up-to date rooms with bath/WC or shower/WC, flatscreen-TV and WLAN as well as budget rooms with shared facilities. Family rooms for up to 4 persons. Great restaurant offering swiss dishes and pizza, bar/pub and games room with billiard and dart. The perfect location for winter sports, hiking, mountain biking and all kinds of adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Eiger Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Guesthouse Hotel
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing