We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable views!”
Review of Eiger Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eiger Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Eiger Guesthouse in Murren as part of a 15 day trip through Switzerland. Murren was, by far, the place where we enjoyed ourselves the most. The views are breathtaking. And the Eiger Guesthouse proved to be the perfect spot from which to explore the surrounding beauty.

The staff was very friendly, and Emma, especially, made us feel welcomed. Our room was on the 3rd floor -- be warned: no lift/elevator, which made hauling our luggage up a bit of a struggle, mostly because this was our last stop and I was exhausted from having so much fun during our travels through Switzerland! -- but the view was worth the effort. We had full length doors facing the mountains that opened up (not really a balcony but there was a thick railing to keep you from danger) and the ever-changing view of the Black Monk was intoxicating. Our room was clean and comfortable.

The hotel is very conveniently located right across from the very quiet train station, and makes a great home base for exploration in and around Murren or back down into the Lauterbrunnen Valley. Murren is a small, quaint town full of charm and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: A mountain-view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 674 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have been staying at the Eiger Guest House for years past and enjoyed my latest visit shortly before Christmas as much as ever. You can walk a few yards from Mürrren station to the front door, the Guest House is warm, comfortable and friendly, and it's very good value. I dearly love Mürren and strongly recommend the Guest House.

Geoffrey Wheatcroft

Bath, England

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey_WBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We traveled to Murren with a 2 year-old and a 5 month-old, and had a great experience at Eiger Guesthouse. They set out special utensils and a bib for our 2 year-old at breakfast, and entertained her with toys during dinner. The fondue was great, and we loved the little village. The rooms are super clean, and the family room that we had was fine with a baby cot for the four of us. The view of the mountains will blow you away! What really makes this property amazing is the friendliness of the hosts though. It was like staying with extended family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlr5308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The location is great and is right next to the train station. The hosts were wonderful and friendly. They have a great game room where you can spend a cozy evening with a pool table, rack full of board games etc. The room was fantastic with a great view of the mountains and the shower was amazing. Everything was very clean. The restaurant was amazing. Best food on the trip and reasonably priced. The host even gave us some homemade cookies as we left for our journey back to Zurich. Would highly recommend staying at this location if visiting murren!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Eiger Guesthouse is just up the hill from the small train station in town. Normally, you might be concerned about being too close to a train station, but this proximity was no problem. It's a sleepy little station, and there's no noise or anything to worry about. The hostess, Emma, was very gracious and helpful. She pointed us to a great hike on our first day, and was helpful with anything we needed. The room was great. We had a view of the Eiger out of one window and the Jungfrau out of the other. The restaurant was also so good that we ate there twice. The menu featured many fresh game items. As a beer fan, I was also pleased with their tap. The only drawback I would mention, if you have limited mobility, there is no elevator and getting to the rooms involves ascending some stairs.

Room Tip: The premium rooms are the rooms with views. To me it was worth the extra amount for the premium room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Eiger Guesthouse as part of a 3 week vacation. Had I to plan the trip again, we'd spend at least 5 nights there. It was truly the highlight of our trip! Location, location, location! The hotel is right next to the mountain train station (noise was never a problem!) which made coming and going very easy. The view from our balcony was indescribable.....a constantly changing picture of the incredible Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau range. Though we had on and off rain for the first two days of our trip, it didn't stop us from exploring the area. We took the cable car down to Gimmelwald, the train/cable car and second train to Wengen (across the valley) and then on our third (and remarkably clear) day we went up to the Jungfraujoch and later in the day to Schilthorn. The convenient location of the Eiger Guesthouse and the efficiency of the Swiss public transport system made all of these trips easy!

Ema and her staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We had several long, pleasant conversations and by the time we left I felt like we were leaving friends. The food in the hotel's restaurant was excellent. Though we didn't take the meal plan that included dinner, we did eat there two evenings and enjoyed the quality and variety of food. Our room was comfortable, clean and, as mentioned, provided us with a fantastic mountain view. Just a few hotels were open when we traveled in October and Murren wasn't our first choice of places to stay. How fortunate for us that we did wind up there! It turned out to be the perfect village and the Eiger Guesthouse turned out to be the perfect place to stay. I truly hope we can return!

Room Tip: Definitely worth the extra money to have a balcony facing the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our second visit to the Eiger Guesthouse. Service always exceeds expectations - advice on hiking and weather conditions up at Schilthorn, great recommendation for paragliding. Food is excellent and the rooms are spotless.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jd242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiger Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Guesthouse

Address: Aegerten 1079C, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Murren
#2 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range: $145 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eiger Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed hotel located near the BLM train station with a splendid view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. Offers 12 up-to date rooms with bath/WC or shower/WC, flatscreen-TV and WLAN as well as budget rooms with shared facilities. Family rooms for up to 4 persons. Great restaurant offering italian dishes, swiss dishes and homemade pizza, bar/pub and games room with billiard and dart. The perfect location for winter sports, hiking, mountain biking and all kinds of adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Eiger Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Guesthouse Hotel
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing