We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay!”
Review of Eiger Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eiger Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a great experience at the Eiger Guest House in Murren! First, you can't beat the location by the train station, especially when you're toting a toddler, stroller, and all the luggage that goes with all that. And we never heard the train, even with an open window facing the station. The views of the Eiger, Monk and Jungfrau from our balcony were incredible and constantly changing with the clouds. The room was clean, comfortable and just right for our needs. The best part for parents - our first floor location allowed us to eat and drink in the restaurant/pub just below and use a baby monitor to listen for our son during naps and after his bedtime. Freedom! The food is really good as well.

We were a 5-minute walk from the local grocery store and other restaurants. As for the staff, they made our stay even better. The restaurant staff made sure we had what we needed for the baby, including a cute frog bib and bowl. They also gave us ice on request to keep milk and yogurt cold in our room. Ema, the owner, stopped by our table a few times at dinner and breakfast, asking about our plans and making suggestions, offering the use of their umbrellas. Hikes and trams were just 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel. This was really the next best thing to staying with friends! Highly recommended.

Oh, and as for the question about staying in Murren or Gimmelwald (as Rick Steves recommends), we were super happy with our choice of Murren. We visited Gimmelwald and it was way too sleepy for us. We enjoyed having a decent grocery store, restaurants and some shops to browse in Murren.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! If you're a parent, bring your baby monitor, stay on the first floor, an...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chibbard72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for Eiger Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 665 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I have been traveling in Europe for over two months and found the Eiger Guesthouse to be one of the BEST stays. The accommodations were just right and the staff absolutely fantastic! Ema provided so much extra. (Schedules, swim passes, trail maps and great advice on hikes and sites) the food at the Guesthouse is excellent with good variety. An outstanding value!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rkenrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and despite being cloudy/foggy much of the time was still an amazing place to visit. As this was our first stop of the trip loved the location of guesthouse being directly in front of the train station. Also very easy walk to other end of town for the cable car up to the Schilthorn. Booked the half board option and food was very good. My husband said the sausage rosti was one of his most memorable meals of the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear guests from Tennessee,

thank you so much for your visit and for this beautiful review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our food.

We hope you will return

Kind regards

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a fabulous time. The Eiger Guesthouse was conveniently located. The rooms were very nice, clean, very updated with incredible views. The staff were just the nicest people while supplying excellent service. They made some excursion suggestions, which we did and totally enjoyed. The food at the Eiger Guesthouse Restaurant was so delicious. We had to check out early on the day we left (before breakfast was served) and they packed a "to go" breakfast for us to take with us and we really appreciated that "over and above" act of kindness! Try it! You will LOVE it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Dorene,

I am sorry for my late answer to your wonderful review! Thank you so much for your kind words! We hope to welcome you again - the sooner the better ;-)

Kind regards

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were at the Eiger Guesthouse for 5 days / 4 nights in the last week of September. It was a fantastic choice - cozy, friendly, comfortable, quiet, in a great location, and with a great view. Ema and the employees were warm, caring, and helpful, and really made the difference for our trip. We'll never forget it, and the next time we're back, we know where we'll be staying!

Room Tip: Small rooms, but comfortable; no elevator; patio off the side of the 1st floor, so that may be noisy...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Nathan,

thank you so much for the title of your review! I love it - so welcoming and peaceful - this describes exactly the feeling we want our guests to have - to feel welcome and to feel peace. It was also for us very pleasant to have you here, and we hope to welcome you again!

Best wishes

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We so enjoyed our trip to Murren and the Eiger Guesthouse. Ema and her staff went out of their way to make sure we had the best experience possible. We loved every minute! The staff was friendly, the rooms were comfortable, and the setting was breath taking. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Ronna,

thank you so much for your beautiful review and for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor readers. We hope to welcome you again - the sooner the better ;-)

Best wishes from

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've stayed in many hotels in Europe, but the warmth, kindness, and helpfulness of Ema and her staff make this a very special place. I injured my back while in Murren, and the help that I received, and the concern that was shown, from Ema and staff was truly overwhelming. Eiger Guesthouse will always have a special place in my memory and I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel for visitors to Murren. The hotel is very clean, and the rooms are perfect. The food is their restaurant is also excellent.
Ema, if the world was full of people like you, it would be a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Glenn,

Sorry that I took so long to answer to your review full of kind words - thank you very much! It was very nice having you with us at the Guesthouse, only very sad that you had that injurance. I hope you are well again.

I hope to have you back another time. Until than I wish you all the best!

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#11 of 11 in Murren
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiger Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Guesthouse

Address: Aegerten 1079C, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Murren
#2 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range: $150 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eiger Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed hotel located near the BLM train station with a splendid view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. Offers 12 up-to date rooms with bath/WC or shower/WC, flatscreen-TV and WLAN as well as budget rooms with shared facilities. Family rooms for up to 4 persons. Great restaurant offering italian dishes, swiss dishes and homemade pizza, bar/pub and games room with billiard and dart. The perfect location for winter sports, hiking, mountain biking and all kinds of adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eiger Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Guesthouse Hotel
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing