We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”
Review of Eiger Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eiger Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2012

On arriving in Murren, we were greeted warmly by Ema, the proprietor of the Eiger Guesthouse. Our room was lovely with a reach out and touch view of Jungfrau, Monch, and Eiger. In the afternoons we watched avalanches cascade down the mountain. We only wish we could have stayed longer. Oh, and the food was also good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clayton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you so much for your beautiful words! We also wish you have stayed longer ;-)

We hope you will return!

Best regads from

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 678 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights in Eiger guesthouse and wished we could stay longer. It was so beautiful in Murren, with picture perfect scenes of snow and mountains. Felt so blessed to experience snowfall on 2 of the days we were there, in April! Snow and snowfall are a huge thing to people like us, staying in a tropical country. Murren is a quiet town, both in the day and night, which is great as you can have the entire mountain views to yourself. Strolling in the town and appreciating nature can be so theraputic to one's well being. We are already missing it!

Back to Eiger guesthouse. Excellent hotel, spacious room with double bed, closet, desk, television, balcony and toilet (with bathtube). Wireless connection was available. Breakfast (included) was ample with cereals, cold ham and cheese, bread, hard boiled egges, orange juice, coffee/ tea/ hot chocolate. Staff were friendly thoughout our stay. We had dinners (they called it half board) in the hotel restaurant on 2 nights. CHF 30 per person for a 3 course dinner. Not the cheapest way to have dinner, but worth the splurge every now and then.

Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose rooms with mountain views if you can.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ahmeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Dear Guests from Singapore,

thank you so much for taking your time to write such a fantastic review about our beautiful Mürren and about our small Hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you again.

Best wishes from
Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at the Eiger Guesthouse with our almost 3 year old and my husband's parents. It is a quaint, well run, perfect place to stay. Ema makes everyone feel so welcome. The location is perfect and the food is great! We left my daughter's monogrammed blanket there and Ema mailed it to us within days of our stay. I would definitely go back!!

Jennifer, Switzerland/NYC

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review! It was very nice to have you and your family with us and we hope you will return!

Say hello from me to your little girl :-)

Best wishes

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We hiked the Eiger trail from Grindelwald to Murren with a few train/tram shortcuts - very good hike.

Happily arrived in Murren to Eiger Guesthouse. Great value, clean, centrally located, good food, very very friendly service. Right across from the train station (but the town shuts down by 8pm so very quiet) Would definitely stay there again. We saw a beautiful double rainbow while enjoying a beer and dinner on the front patio.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

A warm hello to Wisconsin,

Thank you very much for your review!

Greetings from Mürren

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a budget room - clean, quiet and cozy. Breakfast was great, and we even had dinner on the premises once too. This inn is probably the best value in Murren.

The part we'll never forget are the breathtaking views of the mountains when we woke up and opened the curtains. Simply jaw dropping. We've recommended the Eiger Guesthouse to others, but in high season they sell out so quickly!! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugauke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you so much for your kind words! Thank you for having chosen the Eiger Guesthouse for your stay in Mürren and thank you for sharing your experience with the world!

We hope to see you again!

best wishes

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

It took exactly 24 hours to get from doorstep to doorstep from our apartment in San Diego to the Eiger Guesthouse. My fiance and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in August 2011. We loved the location. We ate, drank, read, and wrote out on the terrace with views of the peaks. Our room was quiet and comfortable. We had our first Swiss dinner here under the awning with great views and vibes while the clouds rolled in on our first evening. This made it easy to get a good night's sleep (and we needed it). It would be wonderful for the Eiger Guesthouse to offer reduced prices for their meals to guests however. We felt rude leaving the hotel to find less expensive meals.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank spectactic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Dear Guests from San Diego,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post a review on Tripadvisor! We are very happy that you had a great time at the Eiger Guesthouse! We hope to welcome you again!

best regards

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Eiger guesthouse several times, both in the winter and in the summer and it gets better every time we visit. Our most recent stay was this February with our 2 sons and another family. Ema and her staff were all very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us for the whole of our stay. The guesthouse is very conveniently situated opposite the little train station with fantastic views of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. Although the hotel is old the rooms have all been renovated to the highest standard and are all very nicely decorated, extremely clean and really comfortable. We decided to have the half board option which proved to be a wise decision as the meals were fantastic, the guesthouse definitley has the best chef in the village! We spent most of our evenings in the guesthouse, the games room being very popular with our 2 sons who enjoyed playing pool with other guests and the locals. You get free use of the sports centre but we did not make use of it this time. We have stayed in other hotels in Murren but the guesthouse is by far our favourite and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony at the front of the hotel have fantastic views across the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Dear Denise,

Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Eiger Guesthouse! Thanks so much for the excellent review!
We are very proud that you find we have the best Chef in the village, he says: Thank you very, very much!!
We are also very happy to have guests like you, who make our job feels like holiday! And you guys know: You are a part of our Eiger Guesthouse family!!!
We are looking forward to see you again next year.

Greetings to everybody!

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
669 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiger Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Guesthouse

Address: Aegerten 1079C, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Murren
#2 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range: $118 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eiger Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed hotel located near the BLM train station with a splendid view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. Offers 12 up-to date rooms with bath/WC or shower/WC, flatscreen-TV and WLAN as well as budget rooms with shared facilities. Family rooms for up to 4 persons. Great restaurant offering italian dishes, swiss dishes and homemade pizza, bar/pub and games room with billiard and dart. The perfect location for winter sports, hiking, mountain biking and all kinds of adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eiger Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Guesthouse Hotel
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing