We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High in the Swiss Alps”
Review of Eiger Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eiger Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed at the Eiger Guesthouse in Murren two nights in mid-September. We had one of the “budget rooms”, but it had comfortable beds, a large TV, and best of all it had a million-dollar view of the Alps and a small balcony. We used the shared bath, but with a sink in our room, that posed no problem.

The rooms were extremely clean, and the breakfast was excellent. The staff was helpful and gave good suggestions for sightseeing. This guesthouse is easy to locate as it is right across the street from the train station, but there was absolutely no noise at night, and the views were breathtaking.

Murren is an excellent centrally-located site for seeing the Alps with easy connections to the Shilthorn or the Jungfrau. We hiked to the tiny hamlet of Gimmelwald, (where the Mountain Hostel serves a good pizza, if you’re hungry after your hike from Murren), and we rode the funicular to Allmendhubel. Both activities are easy to accomplish from Murren.

Also, there are many wonderful hikes in the area. We particularly liked the “North Face Hike”. One day while we were hiking, we came around a hillside and saw twelve people practicing their alphorns in the meadow below. What a treat! Several hikers had stopped with us to rest a while and listen to the free alphorn concert. That was Switzerland at its best!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out toward the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWB1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Hello to Alabama!

thank you so much for your words describing so good our hotel and our beautifull region in the Alps!

Greetings from Mürren

Ema & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 674 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I along with my parents stayed at Eiger Guesthouse last week. Emma was accomodating and graciously swapped out our down pillows and comforters as my husband is allergic. We had rooms facing the street with a lovely view of the mountains. We ate breakfast both days and dinner one night at the Guesthouse and we were pleased with everything.

The town of Murren is small, but we found things to do both days. We went to Jungfraujoch the first day and Schilthorn the second. We were blessed with incredibly clear weather boht days. I was concerned that my 82 year old father might have issues with the stairs but he negotiated them with no problem and was very impressed with views from the room and small deck.

The gift shop next door had some very good values. I saw a small bag in the shop that was double the price in stores in Zurich and Montreux.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtotrvl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Dear Guests from Philadelphia!

Thank you very much for your beautifull review about the Eiger Guesthouse, Mürren and the Bernese Oberland!

I send you best wishes for you and your father from the Guesthouse team

Ema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We thought we would try a different hotel this time in Murren and thus settled on the Eiger Guesthouse because of its excellent location near the train station. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by Ema Baptista, the manager. She and her staff were most helpful and accommodating above measure! A superb breakfast was included in the fair priced double room. There were 3 couples in our group and each one commented on the fantastic accommodations and food and said that our stay there was the highlight of the 2 week trip. The apple strudel was the tastiest we had on the trip, hands down! The rooms, including the bathrooms, were modern, clean, and well equipped. We stayed 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We used the Sports complex to go swimming--a beautiful pool. Ema gave us personal service on train, hiking, and local cultural info. Our future visits to Murren will base at this hotel.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms had gorgeous vistas. Ask for non-allergenic covers if allergic to feathers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amote2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

A warm hello to the 3 nice couples from the USA! Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with the world! It was a big pleasure to have you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcome you the sooner the better ;-)

Best wishes

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at Alpina Hotel for our first night due to no availability. It was nice, no complaints, but nothing like our wonderful stay at the Eiger Guesthouse. Ema, the manager of the hotel treated us like we were long, lost and favorite cousins. She guided us on hiking trails, helped regarding issues with train tickets and even had a lunch packed for us on our last day, since we left on a very early train. The rest of the staff was equally as friendly, and accommodating. The restaurant is probably one of the best in town. And although it may sound like it would be noisy, it's not, having the train station is right across the street. So for our 6:30 am train, we left 5 minutes prior to departure. And finally the best part of this trip was Murren. Wow! I've traveled the world, but never anywhere as beautiful as Murren.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private bath and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsun5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2011

Dear Guests from Texas!

What a happiness to read such words!!! thank you so much! For me my guests are, most of the times, like family members who come from far away to visit :-)) and with you it was also like that! Also it is such a reward to read that Mürren was the best part of your trip! I thank you for thesse words in the name of all Mürren locals :-)

hoping you will return the sooner the better, I remain with best wishes

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We spent two wonderful nights in Murren and Eiger Guesthouse that were the highlight of our trip to Switzerland. The location right across the street from the train station makes it easy to find. The staff was so welcoming and helpful with suggestions of what to do in the rain and snow! They even help us with train schedules for our continuing trip. The food and service was great. We had not booked the half-board, but I will if we get to return (which I want to). We had the Rick Steves special rate that had the shared bath/shower, which turned out well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanlmarkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2011

Dear Guests,

it is always such a big honour for us to hear that Mürren and the Eiger Guesthouse were the highlight of the swiss holidays! Also, it is always a pleasure to welcome the Rick Steves readers!

Thank you very much for your visit!

We hope you will return soon.

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Murren at the Eiger Guesthouse. Our room was a budget room and had a mountain view with a balcony. When we booked, all of the double rooms with private bathroom were already reserved, so we settled for a room that had bunk beds and a shared bath. The shared bath worked out fine. Staff kept it very clean. My wife and I managed to squeeze into a bunk bed without difficulty. The rooms were very clean and modern. The hotel itself is located on the main street, adjacent to the train station. The hotel has a bar and restaurant. We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was excellent! The staff is also very friendly and are quick to help out with recommended hikes and things to do. The village of Murren is absolutely beautiful and was one of the highlights of our trip through Europe. We were there at the beginning of June and the town seemed mostly empty of tourists.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2011

hello to Canada!!!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice a review!
Thank you also for posting the pictures, so that other potential guests can see, that even a budget room can be very comfortable at the Eiger Guesthouse!

Wishing you all the best, we remain with best regards.

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My husband and I ventured up to Murren after a two night stay in Interlaken on our trip through Switzerland. Our only regret is even stopping in Interlaken - we should have come to Murren right away! I can't say enough about this little mountain town or the Eiger Guesthouse. Although we had to share a shower and bathroom, the shower was immaculate and so clean I couldn't even tell it had ever been used before. The room was clean with SPECTACULAR views of the Jungfrau region. The staff was great at assisting us in choosing hikes, which we did daily. (The hiking around Murren is amazing!) The restaurant had good food for dinner and lunch, and then complimentary breakfast was tasty with warm rolls and croissants. The city was small and quiet and the most beautiful place I have ever been. My parents will be making a trip to Switzerland later this year and I've already told them they can't leave the country without spending four nights at the Eiger Guesthouse. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the mountains. There is a porch off all of those rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eigerguesthouse, Manager at Eiger Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2011

Dear Guests,

"The most beautiful place in the world"... wow! This is a honour for our little sun terrace called Mürren! Thank you so much for telling this to the world! We are looking forward to see you again and to welcome your family & friends; the sooner the better!

warm regards

Ema & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#4 of 11 in Murren
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eiger Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eiger Guesthouse

Address: Aegerten 1079C, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Murren
#2 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range: $145 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eiger Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and relaxed hotel located near the BLM train station with a splendid view of the Eiger, Mönch and Jungfrau mountains. Offers 12 up-to date rooms with bath/WC or shower/WC, flatscreen-TV and WLAN as well as budget rooms with shared facilities. Family rooms for up to 4 persons. Great restaurant offering italian dishes, swiss dishes and homemade pizza, bar/pub and games room with billiard and dart. The perfect location for winter sports, hiking, mountain biking and all kinds of adventure sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eiger Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Guesthouse Hotel
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing