We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“James Bond 007”
Review of Schilthorn

Schilthorn
Book In Advance
More Info
$180.12*
and up
Paragliding Over the Swiss Alps from Lauterbrunnen
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: It takes you just 32 minutes by Cable car to reach the summit of the 2970 m high Schilthorn. Enjoy the beautiful view of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau (UNESCO World Heritage) and on more than 200 other summits.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“James Bond 007”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Yes,it was shot here in 1929 too.It has great views and quite nice to be there.007 museum is nicely done with a cinema too inside.Possibility of hiking and it was a lovely sunny day when I was there.Cable car or hike, you may choose.Worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vishokeenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,178
    329
    80
    19
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best view of my lifetime so far!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time in the area and I went up Jungfrau last time.

If you are looking for an amazing view, some souvenirs this is the mountain for you. The trip up by cable car gives a far better view then the railway, and the town halfway up has a great grocery store for budget travel.

At half the cost of Jungfrau this is the much better day trip if you have touched snow before.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cefm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“On the 007 trail..”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We drove to Lauterbrunnen, took a cable car the cable car to Grutschalp, then a train to Murren. We spent some time strolling through the picturesque Murren, admiring the views before finally taking the cable car to the top. It took about an hour to get to the top.

It was cloudy and not much could be seen, but loved the fresh alpine air and the summer chill. We visited the James Bond gallery and theatre - was a fun experience, bond enthusiasts will agree!

It was lunch time, we had a delightful experience at the solar powered revolving restaurant Piz Gloria.

Overall, a great experience - much less crowded compared to Jungfrau. Take your time, walk through Murren, don't be in a hurry to reach the top. We even saw some deers in the valley below :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Indygo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Mass
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Views and Hiking”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Half the fun is getting to the top from Interlaken. Take a short train ride, transfer to a funicular, back to the train, take a walk through Murren (gift shops and restraunts, grocery) to the Gondola to the top - or if you want Hike to the top (save lots of $$) but need to be in good shape. Or ride to the top and hike down from the top or from Murren down to one of the other villages instead of taking the train all the way back. The top has great views of the "Top of Europe" (Jungfrau, Eiger and Monich and is a lot cheaper than going to the top of Jungfrau. If cloudy probably best not to go due the mountains being in the clouds. From the viliage of Murren there are great views of all of the mountains, and no need to go to the top.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Labgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We took the gondola up to Birg as the top of the mountain was fully cloudy and no visibility. After getting off the gondola we hiked down to Murren via a series of trails (none of which were the most direct route!). This was about a 3000 foot descent over five plus miles, but was truly amazing hike! Our knees and legs paid for this the next day, but the views during the hike were great. Between the alpine lakes, the waterfalls, the ridgeline and views on either side of the hiking path, the cows and bells along the way, etc., this was a great afternoon. The next day we went to the Jungfrau side and would agree with one of the reviewers on that site - skip the Jungfrau and spend your time in Murren and on the Schilthorn.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schilthorn also viewed

Grindelwald, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Bernese Oberland, Canton of Bern
 

Been to Schilthorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing