We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Schilthorn
from $67.11
More Info
from $541.10
More Info
Reviews (2,333)
Filter reviews
2,333 results
Traveler rating
1,674
465
117
32
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,674
465
117
32
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews revolving restaurant james bond piz gloria secret service cable car amazing views swiss pass mont blanc her majesty half price swiss alps lauterbrunnen valley train station cars weather movie switzerland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,404 - 1,409 of 2,333 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time in the area and I went up Jungfrau last time.

If you are looking for an amazing view, some souvenirs this is the mountain for you. The trip up by cable car gives a far better view then the railway, and the town halfway up has a great grocery store for budget travel.

At half the cost of Jungfrau this is the much better day trip if you have touched snow before.

Date of experience: May 2013
2  Thank cefm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We drove to Lauterbrunnen, took a cable car the cable car to Grutschalp, then a train to Murren. We spent some time strolling through the picturesque Murren, admiring the views before finally taking the cable car to the top. It took about an hour to get to the top.

It was cloudy and not much could be seen, but loved the fresh alpine air and the summer chill. We visited the James Bond gallery and theatre - was a fun experience, bond enthusiasts will agree!

It was lunch time, we had a delightful experience at the solar powered revolving restaurant Piz Gloria.

Overall, a great experience - much less crowded compared to Jungfrau. Take your time, walk through Murren, don't be in a hurry to reach the top. We even saw some deers in the valley below :)

Date of experience: August 2013
1  Thank Indygo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Half the fun is getting to the top from Interlaken. Take a short train ride, transfer to a funicular, back to the train, take a walk through Murren (gift shops and restraunts, grocery) to the Gondola to the top - or if you want Hike to the top (save lots of $$) but need to be in good shape. Or ride to the top and hike down from the top or from Murren down to one of the other villages instead of taking the train all the way back. The top has great views of the "Top of Europe" (Jungfrau, Eiger and Monich and is a lot cheaper than going to the top of Jungfrau. If cloudy probably best not to go due the mountains being in the clouds. From the viliage of Murren there are great views of all of the mountains, and no need to go to the top.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank Labgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We took the gondola up to Birg as the top of the mountain was fully cloudy and no visibility. After getting off the gondola we hiked down to Murren via a series of trails (none of which were the most direct route!). This was about a 3000 foot descent over five plus miles, but was truly amazing hike! Our knees and legs paid for this the next day, but the views during the hike were great. Between the alpine lakes, the waterfalls, the ridgeline and views on either side of the hiking path, the cows and bells along the way, etc., this was a great afternoon. The next day we went to the Jungfrau side and would agree with one of the reviewers on that site - skip the Jungfrau and spend your time in Murren and on the Schilthorn.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Unfortunately due to low cloud we were unable to visit Schilthorn however decided to stop halfway at the mountain village of Murren.

A great decision! The village is unique as it is only accessible by cable car and as a result, it has a character all its own.

Extremely beautiful, compact, and with great views of the valleys and mountains.

At the base where the cable car runs from, there is also a lovely stream/river.

Highly recommended and good value.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank EnigmaticProdigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews