We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Murren!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Murren!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

Arriving in Murren is dramatic: after an easy direct flight from Miami to Zürich, and a beautiful train ride away from the cities, past the lakes, and into the mountainous Bernese Oberland, you transfer to a small train in Interlaken to further travel up between the mountain ranges, then onto a cable car, which rapidly transports you up into the clouds -- and into another world. When you have fresh jet lag, this journey seems particularly surreal!

Although many hotels in Murren have views of the mountains, the Edelweiss is on the edge of the cliff and looks directly down into the valley – the view is incredible, if not a little dizzying. When the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountains in front of us were obscured by the rapidly changing weather, we felt as though we were hanging in the clouds!

Great breakfast, with the same view through the panoramic windows of the breakfast room. We only took advantage of the half-board dinner at their restaurant one night because we didn’t want to be locked into a specific dinner hour – and wish that we had done it more, because it was so good! After trying out the Stagerstubli down the street, where I had possibly the worst fondu ever, and an overpriced mediocre restaurant down in Lauterbrunnen, we realized that being tied to a schedule for dinner was worth it when we had our last dinner at the Edelweiss. We arrived to a reserved table hand-labeled with our name, waitstaff that gave us individual attention, and a delicious three course meal.

Interestingly enough, since our room was directly over the lounge that had the internet access, we could access the wireless signal directly from our room.

The rooms were comfy with modern amenities, with a door to a small balcony roomy enough for a tiny table and chairs. I noticed that the single rooms on the valley side did not have balconies, but they had large windows with the same amazing view. The only complaint I had is that beds were very narrow (two singles were pushed together to make a double as is typically European) and I could feel the springs through the mattress. However, the sheets were very soft with wonderful down pillows and duvets. Very welcome in the cold mountains where even in August it was down in the low 40’s at night.

The weather was not that great when we were there, mostly rainy and cloudy, so we spent a rainy day hiking down to Gimmelwald and taking the cable car down to the Lauterbrunnen valley. The next day we woke to a clear view of mountains in front of us reflecting the rising sun, and when we were at breakfast our hosts advised us not to waste any time getting up to the Schilthorn summit before the weather changed again. During and after an amazing cable car ride, we were rewarded by an incredible and crystal clear panoramic view of the Alps all around us – but it did not last long, and by the time we had decided to start hiking down, it was already snowing heavily (which meant that we had to take the cable car down again). Because of the weather, we decided to cut our trip short by one day, but the hotel staff only charged us half of the rate for our unused day, which we thought was very fair.

Wish we could have lucked out with better weather, as there were so many more hikes we wanted to do. But the Edelweiss was the best place to take full advantage of the unique drop-dead gorgeous views to be had in Murren.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank GreenMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    52
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
50
106
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

We stayed at the Edelweiss for 2 weeks on half board straddling August and September. After a traumatic journey, we arrived late and was maet by the owner who was most welcoming and had a meal prepared for us within minutes. The hotel is about 400metres from the station in a very good, but quiet location. The rooms are of decent size. Book a south facing one for the best views in the world straight accross the valley to the Eiger, Monch & Jungfrau mountains. Straight out of your room (literally) is a 2500 foot vertical drop to the valley floor. The cleaning is of a good standars, but don't leave any plastic bottles about anywhere that you may want to fill with water for a walk, because the maid will remove them.
The breakfasts are standard continental style. There is plenty to eat, but a toaster would have been nice or an egg boiler. Stangely in a hotel of this size there is a large breakfast room and a large dinner room. The waiting staff were very good and helpful. The is a lounge with 6 or so settees and some chairs. There is an internet computer and wifi access.
For those on half board there is no choice of menu, but the food was always excellent and filling.
All in all, this was an excellent stay, but 2 weeks may be a bit long for non walkers or if the weather was poor, but I would certainly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Murren.

  • Liked — Views, kind staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing significant. A more varied breakfast would have been welcome.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank batemansman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

The view is the reason to book this hotel. If you can get a balcony room, the view is unreal. The balconies basically hang off the side of the cliff. The valley, and the mountains on the other side of the valley are in FULL view. It's an amazing view. The hotel is clean, nicely taken care of and the staff is very friendly. If you CAN'T get a balcony room with a view to the valley, the experience I'm sure won't be quite as breathtaking, I would probably try to get another hotel with a view, but still it is a perfectly good hotel if there are no view-rooms available in Murren. The outdoor dining area as well is very nice; right on the cliff, with the same breathtaking views. We had a wonderful time. We will come back to Murren and stay at the Edelweiss. With a balcony room.

  • Liked — The view from the balcony
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EastmanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

After enjoying four weeks exploring beautiful Switzerland, one hotel stands out as the place we would like most to revisit. Hotel Edelweiss is perched on a mountainside in the midst of Alpine Heaven in Murren, which overlooks the Lauterbrunnen Valley and the surrounding high Alps encrusted with heavy snow and glaciers. The gondola whisks you from the valley up to Murren stuck on a mountain ledge.

The hotel is perched on the edge of the cliff with million dollar views from the lanais each room has. The room was beautiful, comfortable and well furnished. Breakfast was included in the price of the room for 160SFR. There is also a fine restaurant within the hotel with an outdoor dining area overlooking the outstanding Alpine view. We will definitely return to this beautiful hotel and its most friendly and helpful staff.

Richard Christie
santaoncall@juno.com

  • Liked — Magnificient view of Alps
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SantaRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

My mother and I have traveled to Switzerland and to Murren every summer for about 14 years. Each year we end our trip at the Edelweiss Hotel. The rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, service is great and the view in unbeatable. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Murren.

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank badgers1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

I wish we'd checked TripAdvisor before we left for our first European vacation and seen the poster that reported rude owners. If we had, we would have cancelled rather than go through what we encountered at this very expensive hotel. Sandra, while cold, was fine overall. Her restaurant manager (tall, dark hair) was abhorrently and vehemently rude to no end. We kindly inquired about using the internet station after a 12 hour train ride to check our bank balances and were told in a raised voice, "you can't wait 10 minutes?! she'll be back in 10 minutes and I don't have the password! it's not my fault you need to use the internet when our receptionist has the day off!" With great disbelief, I reiterated that the hotel brochure said that internet was available until 10 pm and it was only 3pm. It was also okay for nobody to be there but her response was NOT okay. I've never been treated so rudely by someone that I've paid a LOT of money to stay in their hotel. Then, she went into the office, "found" the password and the internet connection didn't even work! We had to go down the street to another hotel. The point is, don't be rude to paying customers, no matter what reason you think they are at fault for. It was none of her business why we needed the internet but when she was SO rude, she lost our business for good.

  • Liked — The only advantage was that the Jungfrau was outside our balcony (but it's outside everyone's balcony and on the street anyway)
  • Disliked — The service and attitude was unforgivable and made the price even more outrageous.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank highplainsdrifter3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

Despite the fact that the "Edelweiss Hotel" has a fabulous view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau, we found that the chilly persona of the owner Sandra clouded an experience that could have otherwise been magnificent. You might think, just ignore her..which is what we wound up doing..BUT that is difficult because she is around ALL THE TIME. We were soo looking forward to our stay at The Edelweiss Hotel in Murren...We traveled an extremely long way and were so excited when we arrived....That feeling of excitement quickly vanished when Sandra blankly stared at us when we checked in...never said hello and then coldy handed us our key....this was her consistent behavior with the rest of our stay for the entire week!!!! Do not stay here if you are looking for a warm welcome or any other kind of hospitality and tranquility! The mood does not match the mountains...

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
18 Thank goldenusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#8 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#9 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The congenial Hotel Edelweiss is conveniently located in the heart of the Bernese Oberland in Murren. It offers breathtaking views of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountain scenery. Guests of our 3-star superior Hotel also appreciate the perfect location close to ski slopes and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing