We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down, BEST VALUE IN MURREN!!”
Review of Hotel Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alpina
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2010

The Hotel Alpina is the best value in the Swiss Alps. Roger and his family will make you feel instantly at ease when you arrive, and for the duration of your stay. The rooms are exceptionally clean, quiet, well appointed....and the view is unparalleled. A delicious breakfast is included in your room price, and the in-hotel restaurant is available for a top notch dinner. The staff is extremely helpful and willing to share their broad knowledge of the area. The hotel is a short walk to and from the train station, so the Alpina makes a perfect home base for exploring the Swiss Alps. This hotel also offers free wi-fi to it's guests which is a HUGE benefit when travelling.
We stayed at several other hotels in Murren, and continually returned to The Hotel Alpina for it's service, value and location. We look forward to returning and visiting with Roger and his family and staff again soon. Switzerland and the Hotel Alpina captured our hearts!
If you are going to Murren, stay at the hotel with the view: The Hotel Alpina.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outdoorsygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 278 of 368 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2010

Hotel Alpina is located in Murren Switzerland, a small village with many restaurants and dramatic views of the Alps. Our room was on the fourth floor with a balcony that faced the Jungfrau. The room was well appointed and very clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating. A nice breakfast came with the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneNewBern_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights. Had a room with a balcony and fantastic view of the mountain range and Lauterbrennen valley below. Breakfast was good and hotel staff was helpful with direction and information.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug96825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Spent 3 nights here while touring the region. Love the alps, and this hotel doesn't disappoint with views. We had a room with a balcony which provided splendid views of the Jungfrau and other mountains. We were able to sit out one night and read while sun was setting, so peaceful. Even their restaurant had huge windows also overlooking the mountain range, it was wonderful to sit and eat and take in the views.
The rooms are a bit dated. We were in the lower level, and felt it was a bit musty smelling when first walking into the room - but nothing that bothered me for more than 5-10 minutes. There was also a small lounge area near dining area that had couches and books and TV. Again, older furniture, but a nice atmosphere to sit and relax after a day of hiking and read or sip a hot drink. Staff was helpful with providing regional maps and directions. Its a small town, everything is in walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canatrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The location of the hotel is very good but then I think all of Murren is very scenic. Yeah, I didn't get the mountain facing room but as I used to come to room just to sleep, I guess it wouldn't have made much difference.
Hotel is just 5 mins walk from train station and as there are no taxis in Murren, if you have heavy luggage, hotel's proximity to station is a boon. Front desk staff is very friendly and helpful, buffet breakfast in the morning is decent, dinner is served in the same restaurant until 9 pm however it was little expensive and that is the case for all of Murren, in fact, for all of Switzerland. Overall it is a clean, very well kept small property without any bells and whistles but hey when you are in Alps, you don't want to spend your time looking for the facilities inside your hotel.
Book it, there is nothing to go wrong!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishal_Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

This hotel met my expectations when envisioning a trip to the Swiss Alps. It had a rustic, mountain feel to it and the view from the balcony was one of the best views I've ever had in my life. My wife and had many bottles of wine just sitting on the balcony overlooking the beauty of the mountains. The value of the hotel was great too, especially since Switzerland is known to be a really expensive destination. One thing about this hotel that I didn't see in the reviews is how good the food is. My wife and I ate at several different places in Murren, and Alpina by far had the best food in town. I wish we would have eaten all our meals here. This hotel was awesome, and I will definitely be staying here again when I return to Murren.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlondeTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Hotel is located near BLM station, so dragging your luggage is not a problem at all. The mountan view is just amazing and the staff is very friendly and helpful. My room was good with a big balcony. Great location for hikers, skiers or just for the scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mint76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
669 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina

Address: Rauft 1068 | 3825, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#4 Family Hotel in Murren
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
Price Range: $155 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpina 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family-run & owned hotel with a personal atmosphere. Finest location right at the cliff with the most spectacular views to the Eiger, Monch, Jungfrau as well as in to the Lauterbrunnen valley. All rooms & Apartments are are non-smoking with bath/shower/WC or shower/WC, balcony, cable flatscreenTV/radio, minibar and hairdryer. WIFI is free for our guests and is available in the rooms and in the public area. All of our guests have free entrance to the indoor-pool and ice rink (only winter) at the Sport Center Murren. (200M from us) All guests also have reduction to all the facilities at the Alpina Spa Murren and discount for ski rentals. We are looking Forward to Hearing from you. Family Taugwalder with team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing