We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views!”
Review of Hotel Alpina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alpina
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

To start, how can you beat this small town? Everyone at Hotel Alpina was great to work with. The room was nice and clean. We did pay for a room with a view, and the view was amazing! Well worth the extra. The food in the restaurant was great too. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjenngrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 368 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

My son and I spent a week with the Alpina in May 2013. The staff was very helpful, courteous, and always had a happy attitude. The hotel was clean and conveniently located. The view was spectacular, we had a room overlooking the valley. There was a family atmosphere about the hotel. The food was good in the morning and great in the evening. The WiFi worked OK, not great unless you were in the lobby. But if you stayed here for the WiFi or even the room, you came for the wrong reason. Murren is a fantastic place to hike and see nature at its best.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the valley. Ask Roger for the best places to hike or bike. He is very helpful. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a wonderful two night stay at this hotel. It is an excellent family run business, staff very helpful in providing information. Rooms are clean and comfortable and meals are excellent. Breakfast provided is also very good. The views over the swiss alps are outstanding! Staff helped beyond expectations with our lost property.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel has great mountain views across the valley. My room was comfortable and the service was friendly. The restaurant is good too. I re dived a free upgrade to a room with a balcony hanging right above the edge of the gorge.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,454,171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Staff, especially Roger at the desk, were very friendly and helpful. We were just before "season" so a number of places were not yet open in Murren but we still had a great time. Good food available in town too. Convenient to rail station and unbelievable view. WiFi worked well and was free. Definitely recommend Hotel Alpina to those in the area.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are more expensive but we selected "city view" as we did not spend muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tireman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay in Murren at the Hotel Alpina. The hotel's location is really wonderful, just a short walk from the Murren station and on the edge of the cliff affording a incredible view either in your room or at breakfast in their lounge. The rooms are small, but cozy with everything that you need, typical of a Swiss mountain hotel. While there were several other guests nearby, our room was surprisingly quiet.

Breakfast is included, and it's a nice spread of assorted breads and cereal with even some meat and cheese. And, if you're anxious to start hiking early or need to get to a train, you can tell them the night before and instead of breakfast, they'll pack you a lunch. What service. At night, you can get drinks in the lounge as well which they will charge to your room.

Murren is a great location, especially if you like the outdoors and avoiding tour crowds. On a clear day, the view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau are excellent as well as views down the steep valley. In the summer season, you can take the mini funicular partway up and walk along many family-friendly trails such as the mountain flower trail or children's adventure trail. Or, if you want the 007 James Bond view, you can go up to Schilthorn and see the entire valley. Murren's a great base for hiking as well as getting good food at the end of the day. It has more to offer than Gimmelwald, at least in May at the start of the summer season.

Few pro tips:
Consider buying a Swiss half-pass. You have to take a cable car and train up to Murren, and the costs can add up quickly. (Going to Schilthorn alone is 77chf) If you're already taking a train to this area, the price of the card can be worth it.

Note that the the main tourist seasons are Summer (hiking) and Winter (skiing). Often, hotels in the area close between the seasons, so be sure to check. We went the second weekend of May, and it was the first "official" weekend of the summer and there were only a few restaurants and hotels open.

This year (2013) has been a particularly late winter, so there's still quite a bit of snow on the mountain, and the flowers are quite delayed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colliderbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Murren is such a gorgeous place and this hotel is a great place to stay and enjoy the magnificent view! The hotel is so warm and friendly and we were immediately made to feel 100% welcome, and were even upgraded to a corner view room, which by the way, is AMAZING! We arrived late in the evening, so really couldn't get an idea of the location of Hotel Alpina until the next morning. When we woke up, we were greeted with the most spectacular view ( so good it almost seems unreal! ), and enjoyed three days of lovely hospitality and comfort. Unfortunately for us, after the first day of great, clear weather, we lost our view in a cloud that lasted two days..... however, we still really enjoyed our stay and spent the time discovering Murren and some of the surrounding towns. This place is made all the more special because it's just that little bit harder to get to ( via cable car and train), and is super relaxing and friendly. We will be back one day for sure.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get a corner room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzie-errol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
678 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina

Address: Rauft 1068 | 3825, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Murren
#4 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
Price Range: $155 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alpina 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family-run & owned hotel with a personal atmosphere. Finest location right at the cliff with the most spectacular views to the Eiger, Monch, Jungfrau as well as in to the Lauterbrunnen valley. All rooms & Apartments are are non-smoking with bath/shower/WC or shower/WC, balcony, cable flatscreenTV/radio, minibar and hairdryer. WIFI is free for our guests and is available in the rooms and in the public area. All of our guests have free entrance to the indoor-pool and ice rink (only winter) at the Sport Center Murren. (200M from us) All guests also have reduction to all the facilities at the Alpina Spa Murren and discount for ski rentals. We are looking Forward to Hearing from you. Family Taugwalder with team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing