We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alpina
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alpenruh(Murren)(Great Value!)
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Edelweiss(Murren)(Great Value!)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eiger(Murren)
$699
$545
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Regina(Murren)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eiger Guesthouse(Murren)(Great Value!)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alpenblick Murren(Murren)(Great Value!)
$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Jungfrau(Murren)(Great Value!)
$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
243
94
25
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
94
25
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslauterbrunnen valleythe cliffmountain viewbig balconycorner roomcable caramazing viewstrain stationrecommend hotelfourth floorvalley floorsingle roomfamily roombreadyogurtrick stevesroom was clean and comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 376 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We're just wrapping-up our third visit to the Alpina, and I have to say that the hotel just keeps getting better. The Taugwalder family (hotel owners) couldn't possibly be nicer or more accommodating. Quite simply, they're as warm and friendly and welcoming as anyone could be. And their hotel is absolutely terrific. It's fairly priced, the food is authentic and delicious, the rooms are spacious, clean and modern, it's centrally located and the views of the Lauterbrunnen Valley are priceless. It's become obvious that many people visit the Alpina year after year - for good reason. We'll definitely be back next year for our fourth visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a valley view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have spent 4 nights at Hotel Alpina in October 2012. We booked a standard room and requested for one with mountain view, but was advised to take up a (slightly more expensive) "corner" room instead -- which we never regretted at all. The balcony was huge, the view of Jungfrau, Eiger, Monch and other mountains were stunning.

The owners and staff of the hotel were really friendly, we felt very welcomed. The room size was decent, with a tiny refrigerator in the wardrobe -- which was a pleasant surprise. We were told that the corner rooms were newly renovated. The bathroom has dark coloured tiles, which makes it feel slightly dated. Everything else looks pretty new. There were 2 or 3 English channels on the TV, including CNN and BBC World.

The breakfast was included in the room rate and was decent - typical continental breakfast I guess. We liked the strawberry yogurt very much. The view from the breakfast room was definitely breathtaking. Although we had similar view from our room (our room was literally above the breakfast room), having breakfast with that view was a different experience.

The hotel restaurant was closed when we were there, but Roger recommended us a local restaurant nearby, which was very good.

All in all, we thought that the hotel offers great value for money. We loved Murren and Hotel Alpina and would definitely return. Well deserved 5 stars.

Pros: View, Staff, Breakfast (View), Murren in general (peaceful and quiet little village)
Cons: Bathroom could be brighter but I'm just nitpicking

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Alpina for 4 days during our stay in Berner Oberland. The hotel has the most coveted location perched atop a cliff. We booked a room with the view of the mountains and WHAT SPECTACULAR VIEWS you get from your room! Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau stand tall in front of you and you can see the magical alpine glow from just outside your window during susets. The room as such is compact, cozy yet very very clean. It has everything you made need for a comfortable stay (nothing luxurious) - a clean bed, clean and well equipped bathroom, a TV. The hotel has a nice dining room at the ground level and they serve a good warm breakfast. Dinner is served too but we preferred dining at a few other restaurants around Murren. The hotel is also a easy walk from the train station but a slightly longer walk from the funicular. It is not exactly cheap, but nothing in Switzerland is- overall we enjoyed our stay at hotel Alpina and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: • Ask for a room with the mountain view. • Get a Rick Steves book discount
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poonamoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This a great hotel with its best feature being the amazing views of the mountains. Its simple and basic but clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is very close the train station and also within walking distance to the cable car. Breakfast is included in the already low price. The only issue I had was my room was on the second floor and there is no elevator so it was a little hard to getting my luggage up there. I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DivyaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel was situated in a very central location with in murren. It is minutes to the nearest supermarket, resturants and cable car. The staff were extremely friendly and made you feel that you were speaking with just the hotel staff, but with your new friends. Our hotel room had an amazing view which was viewable from our bed and the bathtub. I highly reccomended this hotel and i plan on staying here the next time i stay in Murren!

Room Tip: room 24 which was center room facing the view is one of the better rooms. It has a bigger balcony and the bathroom had a window that opened up the mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfredtsui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews