We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't get better than this!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blumental Murren
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You can't get better than this!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our stay at Hotel Blumental could not have been more wonderful! We arrived on August 1st, Swiss National Day. We ate at the hotel's restaurant, and while the portions were small, the food was delicious. We highly recommend eating there. Because it was Swiss National Day, a small parade came right by the restaurant/hotel, led by young men swinging traditional bells. It was exactly what you'd want as a tourist staying in a small Swiss town. Then we went up to the Athletic Center where we heard a speech (by the mayor?), a small band performed, and we heard the Swiss national instrument, the alphorn. Again, what an experience! The night ended with a fireworks show and drinks at the bar at Hotel Eiger. We are glad we chose Blumental over Eiger because Blumental is deeper into town, whereas Eiger is directly across from the tram, and saw lots of tourist movement.
The hotel itself was lovely. Ralph was extremely helpful, and advised us on trips and scheduled our breakfast the next morning at the Schilthorn, the "007 breakfast." Take advantage of it, by the way.
Our room had a gorgeous view (albeit between two buildings) of the Alps. Breathtaking view. We had a shared balcony, but this added to the charm, as we were able to meet our neighbors.
Breakfast was included, and it was satisfying.
The hotel was quiet, and the whole town of Murren has a wonderful ambience after the tourists leave for the day. We cannot wait to return, and would definitely be staying here again. Maybe we'll even dare to try paragliding.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a mountain view. Pick the James Bond package if you can--this is a great deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    39
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
98
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I heartily agree with the positive reviews of this magical place. We had a mountain view room in the newer building behind the original hotel. The view was fantastic - even from the bathroom! The staff was welcoming and the breakfast fresh and delicious. We ate at the restaurant one evening, which had traditional Swiss meals and it was great. Murren is a fairy tale town with stunning views and trails up and down the mountains. We took the cable car up to the Schilthorn, which was spectacular. I dream of going back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a mountain view - you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gannilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed two nigths at this small hotel. The staff was friendly and we felt very welcome. The room (familyroom for five) was clean and very quiet. The hotel is a bit dark and traditional in style. Breakfast is over average but unfortunately not served at the outdoor terrasse. The hotel was perfectly located near the cable cars, the shops and restaurants. Murren is wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinN852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed in the Chalet two nights. It was great! The location was perfect, yes it was quaint, beautiful surroundings in the middle of Switzerland views were breathtaking. Simple breakfast, fresh everything, good and simple charm was evident, the BEST the croissants ever! ( I confess had to have two). The food was amazing had the veal dinner, you will not be disappointed. The service was very friendly and kind. We rented bikes right there in the middle of town. It was too late to bring them back no problem Ralph stored them and he returned them in the morning for us as we left early in the the morning for the Jungfrau. I did not want to leave, but I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mily4-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Blumental for 3 nights in July 2012. What a wonderful place in a town straight out of a postcard! Upon check-in, we met Ralph, who walked us up to our room. We opted for a mountain view in the main building. We had two large windows and a door in our bathroom that opened up onto a balcony (shared with two other rooms). Though there's a hotel directly across the street that blocks some of the view (at least from our room, #5), you still get gorgeous views of the mountains so I'm glad we opted for this instead of a standard view. The bathroom was fairly small and basic, but clean and the water pressure was great. The beds were extremely comfortable, with down comforters and pillows; at night we curled up into these lovely cocoons for total relaxation. Co-op grocery store was directly across the street, which is a great option for picnic items and snacks. Meals are fairly expensive in Murren (at least in our opinion), so this grocery saved us a bit of money when we didn't want a big meal. Breakfast at the hotel was nicely presented, with breads/croissants, assorted meats and cheeeses, yogurt, cereal, boiled eggs, butter, jam, coffee, juice, etc. The night before we checked out, we settled our bill at the front desk, and when we said we had to leave around 7:30am, Heidi said she'd set out some breakfast for us. The next morning we came downstairs to a table set for two, with a miniature spread of everything offered at the regular breakfast! Wasn't expecting that, so we thought it was very nice. One note..we discovered that the Euorpean adapter we brought didn't work in Switzerland (it worked just fine in France, Germany, and the Netherlands). So, during our stay at the Blumental, we couldn't charge our camera or smartphones; this didn't turn out to be a huge problem for us, but just some advice to double-check your adapters to make sure they'll be compatible. Also, this hotel does not have free Wi-Fi. If you want Wi-fi, we suggest heading over to the Eiger Guesthouse to enjoy a nice drink while using their free Wi-fi. Be sure to take a trip down to Gimmelwald, very scenic and quaint! Also, we took the funicular up to Allmendhubel and hiked the North Face trail back down into Murren, which was one of the highlights of our entire trip to Europe. The views just kept getting better and better and we had a wonderful close encounter with some cows! Now that our vacation is over, I find myself daydreaming about our time spent in Switzerland. Hotel Blumental is a great home-base for anyone traveling to Murren.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with balcony/mountain view...you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disneyflgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, CA
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Murren is heaven. This is a small family run hotel. It was great! We were in a Chalet in back - It was really nice. Good Bath. OK breakfast.

The staff here really care, and really take care of you. The service level is 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The bed was comfy although the pillows were all down so they shrunk down to nothing. Seems no one in Europe has ever heard of a fiberfill pillow. Otherwise, nice little porch to sit out on and watch sunset over the mountain tops. OK restaurant onsite. Tip: if you plan to leave before 8 a.m., pay in advance and leave the key in the room. You will find NO ONE around until that timeframe. Service though was good when we asked for extra pillows. Largersoaking tub with shower which is a huge bonus to have in Europe. A bit dated but still sufficient for a night. You can tell this is a main stay town for skiers in the winter. Nice little ride up on the cable car and its one of the stopping points on the way up to the Schilthorn. Tip: stay in the cable car area as they don't wait for people when traveling to the top. We missed it by 10 seconds literally and had to wait another 30 minutes until the next car was available.

Room Tip: Pay in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDHSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#5 of 11 in Murren
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#11 of 11 in Murren
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blumental Murren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blumental Murren

Property: Hotel Blumental Murren
Address: Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Murren
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
#7 Romantic Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blumental Murren 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional cosy Swiss hotel with a lot of charm and atmosphere and only 20 meters from the hotel is the new Blumental Chalet. All rooms with shower and WC, cable TV, Radio, safe, hairdryer, free WIFI and sitting Corner. Well known for fine food and excellent wines. Excellent for scenic hikes, walks in floral meadows and excursions to the Schilthorn and Jungfraujoch. The hotel provides free entry to the swimming pool and Jacuzzi in the sports centre. Best rates with a direct booking with the Hotel. Best rates available with direct booking per E-Mail or phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Blumental Murren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blumental Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing