We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
311
122
23
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
311
122
23
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piz gloria cable car mountain view blue skies the hotel staff excellent view train station ferdinand schilthorn switzerland alps balcony snow luggage sauna alpine cars
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 477 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2017

If you wish to experience true Swiss charm, stay at the Alpenruh. We stayed for two nights in very early May. It was wonderful. This is not a big hotel and that is part of the charm. Be sure to request rooms that has either a terrace or balcony - to se the beautiful mountains across the Lauterbrunnen Valley. It is almost as if you can reach out and touch them. As for the hotel itself, rooms are quaint and very comfortable. Staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. The breakfast was typical Swiss - warm bread, cheeses, meats, jams, muesli, juices, and did I say breads with jams! Way to start a day! Location is so convenient to the Stechelburg/Murren/Schilthorn cable car route. The cable car stop in Murren is literally a 1 minute slow walk from the front door of the this great hotel. Yet you never hear or see any of the foot traffic. A "must stay" treasure. Also, we invited our relatives to dinner one of our evenings and the hotel restaurant made a special fondue for us that was fabulous. The hotel staff again treated us as if we were royalty.

Room tip: Be sure to pay for/request a room overlooking the Lauterbrunnen Valley and the mountains!
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillebrenner, Manager at Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Dear "BRCT",

Thank you very much indeed for taking some of your valuable time, in order to write a review about your stay here with us @ the Hotel Alpenruh in Mürren.

We would like to show our gratitude for choosing the Hotel Alpenruh for your stay here in Mürren, in the heart of the Bernese Oberland Alps !
We would like to express our sincere appreciation for your very positive and acknowledging phrases regarding your stay here, they are fuel for the soul and they confirm that the road we have chosen ist the right one. I will forward your review to the entire staff of our Hotel as they all have an equal share in the services & performances provided.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely

Ferdinand T. Salverda & all the other Alpenruh hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2017

We did not stay in the hotel but stopped for lunch on a very cold day. We enjoyed some beautiful hot soup but there was a wide selection of traditional Swiss dishes. The view from the terrace looking across the Lauterbrunnen valley to the Eiger is awe inspiring
Staff were most friendly and helpful

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Duncan014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillebrenner, Manager at Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Dear "Duncan014",

Thank you very much indeed for taking some of your valuable time, in order to write a review about your stay here with us @ the Restaurant of the Hotel Alpenruh in Mürren, as well would we like to thank you for choosing our Restaurant for your lunch.

We would like to express our sincere appreciation for your very positive and acknowledging phrases regarding your stay here, they are fuel for the soul and they confirm that the road we have chosen ist the right one. I will forward your review to the entire staff of our Hotel as they all have an equal share in the services & performances provided.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely

Ferdinand T. Salverda & all the other Alpenruh hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

We went to Hotel Alpenruh already the second time. The first time was in 2014. Not much changed since then. The service and personnel is great and friendly, food is good and in my opinion there is about no better location possible to put an Hotel in Mürren. In addition they very positively renovated the hotel lobby, which looks much more modern now than before.
Bathroom is clean and there is no carpet in the rooms, which makes it much cleaner and in my opinion is a big advantage from the hygienic point of view compared to many other competitors.

They're putting much effort in being great. Give it a try, you'll not regret!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank michaelv761
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillebrenner, Manager at Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Dear "MichaelV",

Thank you very much indeed for taking some of your valuable time, in order to write a review about your stay here with us @ the Hotel Alpenruh in Mürren, as well for choosing the Hotel Alpenruh for your stay here in Mürren, in the heart of the Bernese Oberland Alps !

It was a great pleasure to welcoming you here again with your family, we higly appreciate your loyalty towards our establishment.

We would like to express our sincere appreciation for your very positive and acknowledging phrases regarding your stay here, they are fuel for the soul and they confirm that the road we have chosen ist the right one. I will forward your review to the entire staff of our Hotel as they all have an equal share in the services & performances provided.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely

Ferdinand T. Salverda & all the other Alpenruh hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Chalet Hotel Alpenruh in Murren, Switzerland for two nights. The traditional Alpine lodge is built of beautiful (pine) wood. The rooms are very comfortable. We ate nearly all our meals at the hotel restaurant, which seemed to be staffed by a gourmet chef. Our stay was enhanced by the personable manner in which the staff served its guests. We felt that the employees, headed by their manager, Ferdinand, made a concerted effort to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. They succeeded, indeed.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Eyeforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillebrenner, Manager at Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Dear "Eyeforu",

Thank you very much indeed for taking some of your valuable time, in order to write a review about your stay here with us @ the Hotel Alpenruh in Mürren, as well for choosing the Hotel Alpenruh for your stay here in Mürren, in the heart of the Bernese Oberland Alps !

We would like to express our sincere appreciation for your very positive and acknowledging phrases regarding your stay here, they are fuel for the soul and they confirm that the road we have chosen ist the right one. I will forward your review to the entire staff of our Hotel as they all have an equal share in the services & performances provided.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely

Ferdinand T. Salverda & all the other Alpenruh hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2017

A lovely hotel perched up in Mürren, the Junfgrau and Schilthorn region. Though not huge it is a very clean, warm and comfortable place to be. The restaurant is top notch, and the service is excellent. Food is delicious, and the desserts to die for. A very comprehensive selection of wines is also readily available.
The rooms though not oversized are cosy and warm, cleanliness is soon apparent! for me an absolute must!!
This is an ideal place to be if you wish to go hiking in summer, or skiing in winter. Even just the trip up to the Schilthorn is a must, see the 007 revolving restaurant.
The newly appointed host originally from Holland is a first class chap, bags of energy and always willing to help you out with any kind of requests or questions concerning the hotel or the area.
I can only recommend this hotel in the highest terms, try to book up a room with the view over the mountains, go try it out!
R.Walton

Room tip: Rooms with mountain views
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waltonenterprises
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillebrenner, Manager at Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Dear "Waltonenterprises",

Thank you very much indeed for taking some of your valuable time, in order to write a review about your stay here with us @ the Hotel Alpenruh in Mürren, as well for choosing the Hotel Alpenruh for your stay here in Mürren, in the heart of the Bernese Oberland Alps !

We would like to express our sincere appreciation for your very positive and acknowledging phrases regarding your stay here, they are fuel for the soul and they confirm that the road we have chosen ist the right one. I will forward your review to the entire staff of our Hotel as they all have an equal share in the services & performances provided.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely

Ferdinand T. Salverda & all the other Alpenruh hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews