We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
688 reviews
315 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Views”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in mid June. Rooms were large, clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good. Bread and rolls from the local bakery. meat from the local butcher. Great views of the mountains from the balcony and the restaurant. This is a very good place to stay if you are in Murren.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    71
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
42
110
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I really miss Murren and Alpenruh. The views from our balcony was one of life's most memorable moments. The owners were really nice and the half board was really delicious and of good portion. We also enjoyed the hot sauna after the very cold and windy day in Murren and up in Schiltorn. We did not go up to Jungfrau as Schiltorn offers incredible views with a fraction of the cost. Murren is our family's favorite place during our 10 days travel in Switzerland. We would definitely stay in Alpenruh again for our next visit to Murren :)

Room Tip: Choose a room with Balcony and views to the mountains! The mountains are standing right in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to this hotel. The front desk was nice, happy, and a joy to speak to. Dinner was good. Priced right. Breakfast was standard for switlherland. I mentioned to the owner that a few sweets would have made a better time for me but I did say that this to more of my taste rather than his style. He did listen to me and for that this the place to stay in Murren.

Rooms were clean , new, and quiet. This was off season. Anther large hotel recommended this hotel because they were closed. That speaks well.

PS. THE VIEW is 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited at the end of May when Muerren was experiencing snow over the weekend. Staff extremely friendly and helpful both in reception and in restaurant and rooms clean and in typical Swiss style! Location is perfect for taking the cable car up from Stechelberg... the hotel is literally the next building to the Muerren cable car building. Breakfast deal at the top of Schilthorn was recommended to us for Monday morning and what a fantastic judgement call that turned out to be - blue skies and fantastic views. and taking the early morning first cable car felt almost like having the mountain to yourself and the buffet was great. We took all our meals at the hotel on an a la Carte basis... yes this is Switzerland therefore prices are higher than elsewhere in Europe but quality, taste and service are great and the atmosphere cosy! Will use this hotel next time!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TrudiFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent three nights at the Alpenruh in early May. Our room for three was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the owner spent a lot of time answering my many questions about the area. Breakfast was extensive and served in a lovely, light-filled, painted panel breakfast room with stunning views. Overall the hotel has a warm, cozy feel to it. We became friendly with a number of other people staying there. The outdoor terrace is pretty spectacular - I had tea there two afternoons. We had dinner two nights in the hotel dining room and I was very impressed with the quality of the food - fresh, seasonal ingredients such as asparagus and local morels, and the sauces were well made - clearly the cook knows what he/she is doing. Vegetarian options. The restaurant seemed like a place where locals congregate - always a good sign. Prices in the restaurant were relatively expensive but the equivalent to prices in the area and, indeed, Switzerland in general. I thought the daily rate for our room, given the size, was very reasonable - our room was on the "village rooftop" side, for which you pay less, but has its own charm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marianne123-_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UBrotschi, Manager at Chalet Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Marianne
Thank you very much for recommending our hotel and kitchen on TripAdvisor.
Your feedback gives us the chance to improve our service continuously and to fulfil the wishes of our guests.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The room at the Hotel Alpenruh was ok, but overpriced. The primary reason we would not return is based on the attitude of the staff. The members of the hotel staff do not make any concerted effort to make guests feel welcome. They seem to be somewhat paranoid and untrusting of the guests. When I returned a couple of coffee cups to the breakfast area and picked up two clean glasses, the manager came rushing in and inquired as to what I was doing.

We had one dinner at the restaurant in the hotel. The quality of the food and distant attitude of the wait staff was such that we chose not to return for another meal.

We asked if we could take our wine glasses and sit on the hotel deck and were told that the deck is for paying customers at the restaurant only, which, at the time, there were none.

The lack of "hospitality" at this hotel is a problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFT814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UBrotschi, Manager at Chalet Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Mr CFT814
Thank you for your review.
We regret sincerely that you took less memorable moments of your last stay in Murren.
Our hotel maintains a familiar atmosphere and welcomes every guest equally. Of course, our guests can enjoy their drinks and enjoy their food in the rooms and on the balconies.
Our restaurants are known and popular as well to the locals to the opening times and offer authentic Suisse alpine cuisine.
We look forward to another opportunity to convince you as well of our quality and services
Until we meet again
Warm greetings from Murren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Yes- as reviewer have mentioned it was right next to the Gondola (not the train station) so since we had a rental car we had parked a the bottom and rode up - it was a good location for getting luggage in and out.
Clean room - mattress is not great but it is Europe... They were very friendly and yes the 1 breakfast at the Piz Gloria was very nice ( the lift/ gondola up is v expensive thou..) We caught it just as the clouds were rolling in so - glad we saw some of the amazing views. (Heard that there was a 40% off gondola coupon - we did not get that - only the 20% off early a.m. but still $$)
What I did not realize is that MAY is "shoulder season" and much was closed. This hotel and the guest house across from the train were the only 2 open! We ate dinner at the guest house - it wa good- they were a lively place but I think our rooms (Mountain side balony) were better -

Room Tip: Mountain view nice - They have a sauna that you sign up for to use - that was nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3tothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UBrotschi, Manager at Chalet Hotel Alpenruh, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear 3tothebeach

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor and that you have taken the time to describe your impressions.

Your feedback gives us the chance to improve our service continuously and to fulfil the wishes of our guests.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and our services and hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Your hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#4 of 11 in Murren
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#8 of 11 in Murren
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Alpenruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Alpenruh

Property: Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Address: Eggli 954B | Schilthornbahn AG, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel Alpenruh 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet-style holiday hotel with comfortable rooms, stylish restaurant and large sun terrace. Arrival by car via Interlaken and Lauterbrunnen to Stechelberg (big parking area). Then take the cable car to Murren (Schilthornbahn). Arrival by train via Interlaken Ost to Lauterbrunnen and there by post bus to Stechelberg's cable car Station (Schilthornbahn). Then take the cable car to Murren. The Hotel Alpenruh is located only one minute walking distance form the cable car staion Murren. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chalet Hotel Alpenruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing