We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swiss Lodge experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eiger
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
584 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
“Swiss Lodge experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel exemplifies why the Swiss are the best hoteliers in the world. The hotel has 4 star service but the physical facilities are more of a rustic mountain lodge rather than the typical 4 star city hotel in North America.

We stayed for 2 days during the hottest and sunniest conditions during 2013 and found the room to be somewhat hot at night even with the windows open. The hotel is not air-conditioned and they did not provide fans. In fairness, the weather conditions were very unusual and I am sure we would have been very comfortable in average temperatures. On the positive side we enjoyed two glorious hikes in shirtsleeves and were able to sit out on the patio for dinner at 8 pm!

The restaurant serves an excellent 3 course fixed price menu for 61 Franc and the service is impeccable. There is an extensive wine list. They also have an open bottle house selections at reasonable prices. The breakfast was included with the room rate and was the best that we had in 4 weeks traveling in Europe!

The room had a spectacular view of the valley and Jungfrau mountains, it seemed that you could reach out and touch them. The TV had 4 English channels and was the first hotel that we stayed in that offered drama shows in addition to the doom and gloom of BBC and CNN news.

The hotel is located across from the train station but if you call on arrival they will send an electric cart to collect your luggage at the rail station or the Schilhorn Gondola located at the other end of town.

Highly recommended - just look past the rustic physical facilities

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for mountain view, higher floors are better, less street noise if you sleep wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    69
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
179
294
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CHARLESTON,SC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently spent 4 wonderful days in this hotel in Murren. I have travelled through Europe several times and have rarely run across a hotel as fabulous as this one. Our family suite Edleweiss # 617 faced the Eiger and Jungfrau Mountains. It has 2 bedrooms and 2 baths upstairs and a sitting room downstairs. The hotel staff are as friendly and nice as can be. They had a courtesy porter waiting at the train station (across the street and up several flights of stairs) to collect our bags upon arrival. While we did not eat dinner there, breakfast was very nice with a full selection including bacon and eggs every day in addition to the typical European fair. The beautiful indoor pool and sauna facility also faces the Eiger and was a great place to relax after hiking.
We hope to return before too long or before everyone else discovers this gem of the Swiss Alps.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view and upgrade to a family suite if you can. While the shoulder seasons could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ackCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I'm struggling to find words to describe how wonderful this hotel is. My husband and I booked to stay at The Eiger Hotel, Murren directly with the hotel and immediately it was apparent from our communications with the owners, that this was no ordinary hotel experience. We drove to Murren from Lincolnshire in the UK on Good Friday, arriving in Lauterbrunnen at just after 8.30pm. We had missed the last cable car to Murren, but we rang the hotel and they gave us exact instructions about what to do. Upon arrival in Murren, we were met by the owner who took us directly to the hotel. The chef had finished for the evening, but that wasn't a problem - we were offered hot toasted sandwiches ad a complimentary drink in the lounge/bar area.
The hotel is immaculate. The staff are attentive and nothing is too much trouble. We took advantage of the half board menu on both evenings of our stay, which comprised of 5 course, delicious, fresh and beautifully presented meals. The maitre 'd, Franz, is an expert at his job and when out walking on our second day, we passed him in the street. He recognised us and greeted us as if we had known him for years! Amazing!
The hotel has fantastic facilities, stunning views, a wonderful bar area with a live DJ and a quieter lounge area with sumptuous leather sofas and plenty of reading material. We didn't take advantage of the swimming pool, but it looked equally high quality.
Breakfast was buffet-style, with plenty of options, including champagne and smoked salmon!
We had to leave very early, before breakfast on our last day, but the owners prepared us a packed breakfast to see us on our trip.
This hotel is quite simply the BEST we have ever stayed in .... and we intend to go back!
Murren itself is divine ..... we didn't ski, and there was still plenty to do and see. The snow was crisp and atmosphere calm and relaxing. Not crowded, but beautifully serene.
Our 4 day trip to The Eiger Hotel, Murren was an amazing experience. Murren itself is a delightful gem, nestling in the Swiss Alps, but this trip was made particularly special by the owners and staff at the hotel, who should all run masterclasses in customer service - it was exemplary.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We did a summer trip to the alps. Nestled in an Alpine valley is the village of Lauterbrunnen Switzerland. From this village you take the gondola up several thousand feet in elevation to the small gauge railroad that winds several miles, overlooking the valley to Murren and the Eiger Hotel.
On this sunny day we sat on the porch of the Hotel and had lunch. At our feet the view dropped thousands of feet to the green valley below and up 14000 feet to the glacier capped peaks of the Eiger, the Jungfrau and the Monch. These peaks are known as the "Top of Europe". The Eiger Hotel does justice to the wonder of the location. Great service from a charming staff and fewer people in the summer than the ski times of the year make this is must stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my second time staying in this hotel. It absolutely gets the basics right: with nice, spotless rooms, friendly service and very good food - especially in the Stubli restaurant. The views from the picture windows in the dining room (across to the Eiger, Munch and Jungfrau) are dramatic.
Accessibility is excellent: as you come out of the Muerren BLM mountain railway station, there it is in front of you.
The village is very quaint and nice; and the skiing - though limited in kilometers - is varied and enjoyable. My wife (who doesn't ski) found the small pool delightful, and would actually like to come back again.
The downsides:
It's eyewateringly expensive. I was here on the company dolar for a meeting, but the walk-up price is nearly double what I've paid anywhere in the Alps in 30 years' skiing. Similarly, quality comes at a price in the Stubli restaurant. However, that's Switzerland for you.
It's also about as far from the skiing as it's possible to be in this small village. However, I never regretted the 10 minute stroll through the nice village to get to the lifts; it's truly relaxing, and puts you in a good frame of mind for the day's activities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiggerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a fantastic family-run hotel. It's more like a second home to me. Nothing is too much trouble - even when they're frantically busy. It's conveniently situated next to the Murren railway station and not far from the ski lifts. The hotel is always being upgraded and the improvements are always for the better. Staying at the Eiger Hotel is always the highlight of my year. I never want to leave!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the mountains - breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinneS513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We are a couple from Ottawa Ontario Canada in our mid 50's and love to travel. Initially we had planned this trip 20 some years ago but for bringing up 3 kids it was put on hold. Getting there for us required 2 plane rides and 3 trains up those glorious Swiss mountains. It was worth every mile and then some. Prior to our arrival I had communications about how to get there. All staff members were very helpful with the train timetables. I would suggest that you rent skis and poles bringing only your boots and helmets. Now for the best part, the Hotel Eiger. Susanna and Adrian keep things fresh, happy friendly and ever so homey. Adrian has been born to that hotel and is 2nd generation. They have not missed a detail from breakfast until bedtime. There are 3 places to eat. We preferred the main dining room for our buffet pre ski breakfast. Perfect. Apres ski ~ cocktails in the lounge, with its comfy love seats and great space for small or large group chatter. We also had cocktails in the bar, with its Swiss decor right out of a Heidi movie! For dinner we ate one evening in the large main dining room but preferred the cosy intimate atmosphere in the quiant restaurant downstairs. Soft lighting, tablecloths, candles and flowers on all tables. Maria and Joseph have been there for 25+ years. They know their craft. Food, well I am sure that we tasted everything on the menu as we were there for 7 nights. OUTstanding. The choices duck, veal, lamb and on and on. Everything was presented, cooked and served to perfection. We really had NO complaints. We visited the other hotels that we almost stayed at.....we dodged disaster...for us Hotel Regina~reminded me of my youth staying in a hostel with little toddlers everywhere! Jungfrau~stark not cosy and looked like Ikea. Staying at the Hotel Eiger, the skiing with perfect conditions, and the weather +1C in full sun all combined made this our best trip EVER!

Room Tip: Every room has an excellent view of either pristine white snow and spectacular mountains~ those are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danield761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murren
0.0 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#8 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger

Property: Hotel Eiger
Address: Aegerten 1079c, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#1 Family Hotel in Murren
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eiger in car free Murren - the perfect hideaway for some days in the mountains situated on a sunny plateau underneath the Schilthorn (James Bond location). Only 1 1/2 hours from Bern-Belp and 2 1/2 hours from Zuerich and in the middle of the Swiss Alps. We offer charming rooms, an indoor pool with sauna and massage, panoramic restaurant with tasty options, free WLAN and conference room for you next summit meeting. The Hotel Eiger is owned and personally managed by the young Staehli family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing