We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the view”
Review of Hotel Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eiger
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We did our research on Tripadvisor and looked at hundreds of personal reviews and photos before landing on the Hotel Eiger for our stay in Murren Switzerland. The Hotel Eigher is not one of the most 'higher end' hotels you'll ever stay in, however, I would say that for the town/region of Murren it is a very good choice. First, the view. While it sits just above the rail station, which is not so 'pretty', it has a comanding view of the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau peaks which are STUNNING. We were delighted to sit on our balcony in the late afternoon/early evening and admire the great view of the mountains. The price is high (but isn't all of Switzerland?). You pay for the view and location - just go with it.

The rooms are ok, nothing you'll be drooling over. But we found our Superior Double with Balcony to be clean and comfortable, and the balcony overlooking the mountains was great. The one drawback is that the hotel has no A/C, and the rooms get stuffy at night. You can open up the window and/or door (which we did), but there are no screens and we did spot a couple of flys and bees in our room during our stay. We were there in the latter part of September, so I would suspect that in the summer months it might not be very pleasant sleeping if you're used to a cool room. You might also want to request an extra pillow. They only provide one per person and they're a bit thin. We slept much better the second night with an extra pillow.

The restaurant and bar were closed to general guests the first night we were there as they were hosting some large group for cocktails and dinner. This was a little dissappointing, but we made do by going to the small restaurant next door. We did have dinner in the hotel the following night and the food was good for basic local fare (try the wild game). Service was friendly but could have been a little faster. No deal breaker, just an observation. The breakfast buffet is typical European hotel fare: cold cuts, cheese, yogart, canned fruit, scrambled eggs, etc. But the guests are seated in the front of the serving area with a great view of the mountains.

The staff was friendly and helpful at all times from check in to check out. We called for room service a couple times and it was prompt and curteous. They are very knowledgable of the region and will cheerfully help you plan an itenerary.

Getting to Murren is a treat in itself. You will feel like you've gone to the end of the world. It's a very quiet, pleasant town with stunning views. Ditch the car in Lauterbrunnen at the train station and take the lift, and then train up to Murren. It's a beautiful (car free) town and Hotel Eiger is a good, comfortable base from which to explore.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a balcony with a view.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank td193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eiger
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 642 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

Simply put: Stunning.
The location is spectacular and as the weather during our trip was a bit unusual (rain one day, snow the next then blue skies and 30°C) we got to see Jungfrau region in all its glory.
Murren is well connected through cablecars and trains to the entire region, all run with meticulous Swiss efficiency so getting one of the passes is worth the money.
Would recommend going half board as the 5 course meals are lovely after a long day out and a relax in the hotel swimming pool and sauna.
The staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming with plenty of advice to offer on things to do irrespective of the weather.
Would also recommend a trip up to Jungfraujoch and a walk up to Birg/Schilthorn. Exhausting but a great sense of achievement once you get your breath back, the ice cream in the piz gloria revolving restaurant helped too.

Room Tip: Next time we'd pay extra for a balcony room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We upgraded to a room with a balcony facing the Eiger/Moch/Jungfrau -- was worth every Franc! It was great being able to sit on the balcony and take in the sweeping views. The room itself was ok (read: practical), but nothing special. That said, it was clean, comfortable and big. The indoor pool was a nice treat after a long day of hiking. Having stayed in other hotels in Murren, I would recommend the Eiger and hope we will return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DC_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Fantastic location opposite the railway station. Great staff, food and rooms that have everything you could want. Worth paying the extra for a superior room with views of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau. We went with Ingham (which I highly recommend) and had a great half board package that included a free pack lunch each day. Worth getting a Jungfraubahnen rail pass if you plan on travelling around the Jungfrau area as it makes it much cheaper.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a superior room to get a stunning view of the Eiger.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Figtree14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel, right opposite the lift/train from Lauterbraunen is always welcoming, always clean, always classy, and with one of the best views in Switzerland. (From the pool, too!) Wonderful breakfasts (with champagne if you want it) and so quiet at night. Love it.

Room Tip: They are all built with a view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WildernessBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This family run hotel is simply one of the best in the world. The service is superb, the food is excellent, and the views from most rooms are among the most stunning you will ever see!!

It is worth noting that you travel to, and park below Murren in Lauterbrunnen and take a cable car and small train into "carless" Murren...amazing views!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blueweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We had a gorgeous view of the Eiger mountain!
The front desk people were very helpful and the apples were DELICIOUS!!!
Loved the breakfast buffet. Really enjoyed the pool and the sauna! Bathrobes and slippers were a nice touch, too!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DakotaMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murren
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#3 of 11 in Murren
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
639 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Wengen
765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#7 of 11 in Murren
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger

Address: Aegerten 1079c, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Murren
#1 Family Hotel in Murren
Price Range: $275 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eiger in car free Murren - the perfect hideaway for some days in the mountains situated on a sunny plateau underneath the Schilthorn (James Bond location). Only 1 1/2 hours from Bern-Belp and 2 1/2 hours from Zuerich and in the middle of the Swiss Alps. We offer charming rooms, an indoor pool with sauna and massage, panoramic restaurant with tasty options, free WLAN and conference room for you next summit meeting. The Hotel Eiger is owned and personally managed by the young Staehli family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eiger Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing