We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, wonderful service and staff”
Review of Hotel Bellevue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Northville, MI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stunning views, wonderful service and staff”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We traveled for three weeks through Europe and our two night stay at the Hotel Bellevue was one of our favorites. We stayed in one of the beautifully updated rooms that faces the mountains and the only word we could use to describe the view was spectacular. It rained late one evening during our stay and we awoke to the most beautiful snow covered peaks. Breakfast was well presented with many great choices, including fresh baked rolls and bread and homemade jams. If you preferred "American-style" coffee with warm milk, Ruth was more than happy to provide you with your own pitcher. She also was very accommodating when we had to leave early our last morning to catch a train in Lauterbrunen and we were welcomed to have our breakfast early before we left. We also enjoyed a nice dinner in the restaurant. They have a very nice menu and the views are beautiful. We also enjoyed the lounge area to just sit and relax in the evening. There is also a self-service laundry facility next-door that is very handy for travelers who need to wash clothes before they move on to the rest of their trip. Just be prepared that it takes longer than usual to wash and dry a load of clothes. Wonderful stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NVilleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    38
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
57
127
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Not sure whether to call this a hotel or a B&B. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the guests all hang out in the common area/lobby having drinks, talking and watching NFL football, of all things.

The rooms were larger than I expected, with decor on a par with the exterior of the hotel. We received a room with an excellent view (so we were told) of the mountains. Unfortunately for us it was so foggy we couldn't see 20 feet. The dinners were fine, if pricey, and the included breakfast was great.

It's a bit of a hike from the train station, with luggage, some of it uphill. We were told to have the stationmaster call the hotel to pick us up, but there was no stationmaster when we arrived, so something to be considered. There are also no lifts in the hotel, but the staff offered to take luggage up if you need it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A very simple 3star hotel or rather bed&breakfast; welcome was efficient, room very kitschy and not very interesting, no ventilation in windowless bath. Room service very moderate (but clean), breakfast ok, but no broiled eggs or anything hot. Saturday night until 12 loud music; after calling reception: No noise reduction. So do not go there to get to bed early. The price is not acceptable for a low-medium 3star hotel: 280 CHF per night off season for a so called junior suite (not much larger than a regular double room). It is time that these hotels in Switzerland are sorted out by the economic crisis. May be, people will wake up and try to provide appropriate service for price.

DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL! Go to a more reasonable hotel! It will not be much worse!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lux
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I think the title says it all. view, food, ski, skate, swim, sauna, no car village, half board, James Bond spagetti for lunch, what else can you want. We love this place. skiers from beginers up to pwder maniacs. See u there!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

First of all, Murren is the best place in earth. My husband a nd I have been traveling there for 10 years now. Separately, as a couple and now with 2 children. Perfect for each stage of life.

We normally stay at Hotel Jungfrau, but when this was booked out, we hesitantly took their recommendation for Hotel Bellevue and set on our adventure. I say hesitantly because we loved Hotel Jungfrau so much and couldn't imagine loving another place.

And boy were we wrong. We loved loved loved Hotel Bellevue for all the reasons that everyone has mentioned. The breakfast. The food - the best in switzerland and I speak from 10 years experience traveling in the region. The views. The friendly Othi and staff. The beautiful clean rooms (obviously it ain't the Ritz, but for what you pay for and for where it is), it is exceptional.

Thank you Hotel Bellevue, Othman (et al.) and Murren for giving us another set of works class experiences and memories that we will always treasure.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BudgiesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

All the other reviews highlight just how good this hotel is. Ruth and Omar were truly wonderful hosts and did everthing they could to help us enjoy our stay. Any minor problems were rapidly addressed and always with a friendly smile. Our room was spotlessly clean and very tastfully decorated, all the meals were excellent and staff were friendly and always helpful. We stayed in early June just after the hotel had opened for the season in Room 17. Just before we left we noticed that tables were being put out just below our balcony as the bar became busier. This was not a problem for us but might possibly detract from quiet enjoyment of the views after a days walking later in the season? But perhaps staying in a hotel in a busy resort like Murren one should not expect "contemplative solitude", to quote an earlier review. That comes from the wonderful long walks that are literally begin on the doorstep

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very friendly, owners and all staff alike.
Nice, spotless clean (this is Switserland...!), well kept modern room.Great view.Good beds!
Excellent breakfast, delicious bread. Good restaurant. High quality wine list. Some great french wines, large choice in international wines. Try the Swiss ones tough, they are not well known outside Switserland, so there is some excellent surprises.
Truly enjoyed our stay and will go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruno1234Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#4 of 11 in Murren
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Property: Hotel Bellevue
Address: Lus 1050A, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and personaly run Boutique Hotel, located direct at hiking trails and ski slopes. Renovated and comfortable rooms with great views. Cozy Restaurant with swiss and venison specialities. Terrace with lounge & spectacular view ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing