We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are going back for 8th straight winter.”
Review of Hotel Bellevue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Murren
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Bellevue
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Lux
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We are going back for 8th straight winter.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I think the title says it all. view, food, ski, skate, swim, sauna, no car village, half board, James Bond spagetti for lunch, what else can you want. We love this place. skiers from beginers up to pwder maniacs. See u there!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    38
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
59
129
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

First of all, Murren is the best place in earth. My husband a nd I have been traveling there for 10 years now. Separately, as a couple and now with 2 children. Perfect for each stage of life.

We normally stay at Hotel Jungfrau, but when this was booked out, we hesitantly took their recommendation for Hotel Bellevue and set on our adventure. I say hesitantly because we loved Hotel Jungfrau so much and couldn't imagine loving another place.

And boy were we wrong. We loved loved loved Hotel Bellevue for all the reasons that everyone has mentioned. The breakfast. The food - the best in switzerland and I speak from 10 years experience traveling in the region. The views. The friendly Othi and staff. The beautiful clean rooms (obviously it ain't the Ritz, but for what you pay for and for where it is), it is exceptional.

Thank you Hotel Bellevue, Othman (et al.) and Murren for giving us another set of works class experiences and memories that we will always treasure.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank BudgiesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

All the other reviews highlight just how good this hotel is. Ruth and Omar were truly wonderful hosts and did everthing they could to help us enjoy our stay. Any minor problems were rapidly addressed and always with a friendly smile. Our room was spotlessly clean and very tastfully decorated, all the meals were excellent and staff were friendly and always helpful. We stayed in early June just after the hotel had opened for the season in Room 17. Just before we left we noticed that tables were being put out just below our balcony as the bar became busier. This was not a problem for us but might possibly detract from quiet enjoyment of the views after a days walking later in the season? But perhaps staying in a hotel in a busy resort like Murren one should not expect "contemplative solitude", to quote an earlier review. That comes from the wonderful long walks that are literally begin on the doorstep

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very friendly, owners and all staff alike.
Nice, spotless clean (this is Switserland...!), well kept modern room.Great view.Good beds!
Excellent breakfast, delicious bread. Good restaurant. High quality wine list. Some great french wines, large choice in international wines. Try the Swiss ones tough, they are not well known outside Switserland, so there is some excellent surprises.
Truly enjoyed our stay and will go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruno1234Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We also booked Room 23 - it was worth every penny to upgrade to this room. Before we got to switzerland, we were devastated to find out from the internet that it was going to rain during our whole stay at Murren. We contacted the owner of this hotel and she assured us that it would be ok and we should not cancel our trip. It turned out she was right and the weather was perfect! You have to roll your luggage up this steep driveway to get to this hotel...the views are so worth it though. I'm so glad we chose to stay in Murren rather than Wengen or Lauterbrunnen (much thanks to tripadvisor member Melissa5 for her advice to stay here instead). Murren and the Bellevue hotel is one of the few places in the world I don't mind going back to again. That means a lot because usually i'm against the idea of repeating destinations when there are still so many places in the world I want to visit.

Room Tip: Choose room 23 - you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snoweeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The staff and owners at this hotel are so nice that I wanted to give this hotel five stars but it didn't quite meet that criteria and I can only truthfully state that I thought it was very good but not great.

The rooms are spacious, modern, and very comfortable. The mountain view rooms have great views but are somewhat compromised by the large bar/restaurant terrace under them. We also shared our balcony with the room next to us. Still got the great view but not much “contemplative solitude.” I think I would skip the half board and order from the menu. Although we enjoyed the fondue we were given one night, the other meals were not as good as the other similar hotels where we stayed during this trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank accidental_squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We started our Murren vacation at another hotel and moved to the Hotel Bellevue because we liked it so much better. This place is wonderful and even after seven nights we were sorry to leave.

First, of course, are the innkeepers. They are extraordinary people; kind, helpful and informative. If our room weren't so great, I'd hang out in the lobby where there always seemed to be a conversation or something friendly going on. Our spacious room faced the Lauterbrunnen Valley, so we spent our indoor time there. Just looking out the windows gave our hiking vacation a wonderful sense of balance.

The restaurant was still closed during our early-season visit so I can't comment on dinner, but the breakfasts were outstanding. The dining room includes the same wonderful view we enjoyed so much from our room.

The whole place is immaculately clean and the cleaning staff is just as friendly as the innkeepers. The Hotel Bellevue is a real find.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanyTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#3 of 11 in Murren
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#5 of 11 in Murren
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#6 of 11 in Murren
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Blumental Murren
Hotel Blumental Murren
#8 of 11 in Murren
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#11 of 11 in Murren
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue

Property: Hotel Bellevue
Address: Lus 1050A, Murren 3825, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and personaly run Boutique Hotel, located direct at hiking trails and ski slopes. Renovated and comfortable rooms with great views. Cozy Restaurant with swiss and venison specialities. Terrace with lounge & spectacular view ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing